Life on Mars (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists

Community images

Life on Mars (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists

1 CD(s) - TV - Label: Sony BMG - Distributor: Plastic Head, Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 09/06/2007 - 886971138528

> Show product information

80% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Life on Mars (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists"

published 28/01/2009 | MI9to5
Member since : 08/02/2008
Reviews : 285
Members who trust : 44
About me :
Super
Pro Some brilliant tracks
Cons Could have down with more dialogue tracks
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"A Hit CD for a Hit Show"

The Life on Mars Cast

The Life on Mars Cast

I loved Life on Mars from the second it hit our TV screens, the plots were intriguing and the 1970's perfectly reconstructed. One of the most important parts of the show however was the music, as it was this that really kept the series grounded in the era it was portraying. For this reason, and a general love for 70's music I decided that I would purchase the Life on Mars Original Soundtrack.

The Soundtrack itself contains 23 tracks, which includes 3 tracks of dialogue from the shows first series. The rest of the tracks are all ones that have featured in one episode or another of the series even though you may not have noticed them.

The track listing for the series is as follows:
1. Dialogue: King of the Jungle
2. Life on Mars? - DAVID BOWIE
3. Street Life - ROXY MUSIC
4. Live and Let Die - PAUL MCCARTNEY AND WINGS
5. 10538 Overture - ELECTRIC LIGHTS ORCHESTRA
6. Tokoloshe Man - JOHN KONGOS
7. Devil's Answer - ATOMIC ROOSTER
8. Rock On -T. REX
9. Little Bit of Love - FREE
10. Jungle Lion - LEE 'SCRATCH' PERRY AND THE UPSETTERS
11. Dialogue: Armed B*******
12. Blockbuster - SWEET
13. Cindy Incidentally - FACES
14. Snow Flower - ANANDA SHANKAR
15. Coz I Love You - SLADE
16. One of the Boys - MOTT THE HOOPLE
17. Meet Me on the Corner - LINDISFARNE
18. I Can't Change It - FRANKIE MILLER
19. Whiskey in the Jar - THINK LIZZY
20. I had a Dream - AUDIENCE
21. Traveller In Time - URIAH HEEP
22. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free - NINA SIMONE
23. Dialogue: I Want To Go Home

As you can see from the track listing there is a wide variety of tracks contained on this CD and you are certain to find something that will suit your music taste. I personally was born in the 1990's yet I have a strong fondness for a great number of the tracks on the CD.

Because of the number of tracks I am just going to tell you about a few of my favourite ones in order to give you a taste for what you are in store for should you purchase this soundtrack.

The first track that immediately springs to mind is track number 2, Life on Mars? by David Bowie. This is the title track to the series and is also my favourite on the CD. Before the show began I'm not sure I had heard this track that often but it is now a definite classic in my opinion. The track is quite a slow ballad type tune but picks up pace and tempo as it progresses. The lyrics are obscure but suit the show perfectly as if it were written for it; the lyrics also suit the style of singing down to the ground.

Track 4, Live and Let Die, is the next track that really captures my eye. The track was of course written for the James Bond film with the same name and has a very catchy tune that is certain to stick in your head from the very first listen. The lyrics are again a little odd at times yet they do gel together well and are sung exceptionally.

Track 9, Little Bit of Love, has always been a song that I have enjoyed listening to and it certainly makes a great addition to this album. The pace is steady and the beat strong and clear from the beginning but it definitely has a sound that someone just seems to stick in your mind. The repetition in the song certainly makes it memorable and the general feel is certainly one that encourages you to sing along - well it does me anyway.

Track 12 'Blockbuster' is the next track that really sparks my attention. It has a fast pace and an exceptionally catchy beat as well as intriguing and contagious lyrics that really suit the overall feel of the song.

Track 20, I had a dream, is also another song I am quite fond of. The song has an odd sound at times and is a relatively slow ballad yet because it is so different to a lot of the other tracks on the album it really does stand out from the crowd.

Track 21, Traveller in Time, is the last rack I am going to mention. This track has a very heavy beat from the beginning and has a strong rock feel. The lyrics of the song are quite interesting and quite catchy after a couple of listens. The overall feel of the song suits the rest of the album and I can definitely see why it was chosen for the show.

Like I said earlier I'm not going to dissect all the track son the album so I hope the small discussions of the above 6 tracks have given you a taste for the overall content of the album.

Before I conclude this review I would just like to say a little something about the Dialogue tracks on this CD. The dialogue tracks break up the music brilliantly and give the listener a real feel for the Life on Mars show. I however would have liked to have seen a couple more dialogue tracks as in my opinion just three wasn't enough for this soundtrack. Apart from this however I did really enjoy listening to this CD. I agree that there are a couple of weak tracks on the album but overall the standard is top-class and a must for any Life on Mars fan.

Community evaluation

This review was read 784 times and was rated at
97% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • redeyes22 published 29/01/2009
    great review aggy xxx
  • lazza123 published 29/01/2009
    Great review, a great series, and the music - well I have most of on vinyl when it first came out!! Larry
  • sunmeilan published 28/01/2009
    I'd love this. Hope the fact you liked Life on Mars will encourage you to listen to more Bowie - my favourite artist ever.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Life on Mars (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - TV - Label: Sony BMG - Distributor: Plastic Head, Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 09/06/2007 - 886971138528

Product Details

EAN: 886971138528

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011