Lily Beach Resort

Community images

Lily Beach Resort

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "Lily Beach Resort"

published 20/01/2007 | adictivepie
Member since : 21/01/2006
Reviews : 13
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Excellent
Pro Medium Size, Pool, Good Staff, Trips, Beach
Cons Sea Wall, Rough Sand, Green/Green Decor
very helpful
Value for Money
Sightseeing
Shopping
Nightlife
Ease of getting around

"Lily Beach Island Resort Maldives"

This review is based purely on our holiday to Lily Beach Island Resort in February 2005. We were a bit unsure about this holiday whether we were going or not due to the Tsunami 26th Dec 2004. I would like you to spare a thought for those who lost their lives in such a tragic event and those who lost everything they owned.

There are many different islands offering many different holidays. For a impartial view on all holidays I suggest you buy RESORTS oF THE MALDIVES by Adrian Neville

Tour Operator
Hayes and Jarvis
Price
£1620 Each 14 days Feb 2006
Room Beach Villa

Flight Operator
First Choice Airlines
Star Class (cattle class to you and me) Upgrade to Premium Star Class is about £295
Flight FCA046 Outbound FCA047 Inbound but these have since changed
Flight time Outbound 10.5 to 11hours Inbound 12 to 12.5 hours
Flight type Direct nonstop
Airport UK London Gatwick LGW
Airport Maldives Male MLE

Currency
Maldivian Rufiyaa but US Dollars and Major Credit Cards accepted. Our advise is take dollars for tips Roomboys, waiter bar staff and beach boys etc and use credit card to settle bill and at the airport as you get the international exchange rate which will be better than the £/$ exchange rate on the day

Island
Lily Beach a small island to the South-West of the capital Male on the South Ari atoll. Apart from the two Male atols this atoll would appear to house the next highest concentration of holiday islands.
Lily beach is approximately 550m x 150m
Approximately 45 minutes by seaplane and a 5 minute boat ride to the island from the airport
There are about 95 rooms on the island including Water Bungalows which at low tide are completely on dry land
There are 3 room grades
Beach Villa 78
Water Bunglow 16
1 Presidential Suite which is offered to you as an upgrade on the island

The inner path ways are lined with vegetation bushes flowers and trees, they are well maintained and very attractive to look at however the sand is a bit rough in places.
The beach for the majority is soft sand and the no shoes rule goes. The island has a coral sea defence wall around it so it does suffer in the aesthetics department, but the payoff is you still have a wide beach unlike neighbouring Vilamendoo which has the same orientation and narrow beach, you tend to look at the wall in the beginning but after a while you ignore it and it runs for about 3/4's of the island. The best part of the beach is kept for repeat guests and is past the watersports centre south side down towards the western end of the island.
The staff are well trained and efficient, the front of house manager was really helpful as we booked the "love on the sand bank " excursion where you basically get dumped on a small sand bar in the ocean, well story goes the water sports man was hoisting the sail on the catermeran and the rope snapped, a phone call was made, some people cam along to help and so did the manager, he chatted to us appologised etc and passed the time with us, after 10minutes we were off.

Internet Cafe
There is internet access in a room near to the main reception area .I did not use this but it is payable locally

Games Room
The is a Billiard table available for use and also next to it is a tv and video with a few chairs if you can not bear being away from the t.v.

Music
The island offers a free loan service on many cd's for use during your stay

Shop
There was a shop on the island and as with all maldive islands it was very expensive compared to the airport but it sold suncreams if you run out and the usual cups, t-shirts, fridge magnets etc I rated shopping as average but it is the maldives what do you expect on an island

Accomodation:
We stayed in the standard Beach Villa. The rooms are made out of concrete blocks and rendered white tiled floors and a slate tile roof, they are joined in pairs and single storey. Inside there is a large bed queen size I think bed side tables table chairs and a sony cd stereo there is and open wardrobe which houses the minibar and a dressing table with huge mirror, There was no kettle but we were close to the pool bar so could get drinks from there.
The bathrooms have his and hers sinks a large mirror toilet shaver point and shower with outside drying area for clothes

Food and Drink
The Island for the British is All Inclusive I would like to point out that this holiday was ALL INCLUSIVE and included asmuch water a day as you liked but things like baileys etc have to be paid for
The food was varied and of a high quality. Outside the restaurant there is the menu board which displayed the current meal there are 2 similar serving area both servng the same food. This is the only restaurant on the island but there was bar be ques on the deck
Each evening there were 2 or 3 chefs cooking meals to order from steak to fish. There was enough variety to keep us happy for 2 weeks.
There were set tables meaning you sat at the same table every night. unless you opted for the romantic meal on the beach which is highly recommended.
Please note that you may be expected to share a table with other people but we asked to be moved to our own table and we were.

Romantic Meal
Yes it is an extra expense as you have already paid for all inclusive but boy was it worth it. I think it was about $42.00 each maybe $48.00
Choose which meal you like out of the menu speak to reception or you waiter to book it. Then sit back relax and enjoy the open air and fantastic food.
Our meal took place between the pool bar and the water bungalows on the soft sand on the North-East side of the island.
You get a candle lit table under the stars
You go to the pool bar for the booked time and when you table is ready you are called to your table by your designated waiter (not your normal everyday waiter).
Our waiter for this meal was the grumpy one so we thought but his service could not be faulted in anyway what so ever. Very discrete. The meal was 5 courses and it must have been one of the best meals I have ever had. Being 2 years ago i can not remember all the detials but Strated with Soup then starters were King prawns or smoked salmon, followed by sorbet then I had Fillet steak cooked to perfection (rare) and tender, Jen had Tuna, I would highly recommend this meal and if your meal is half as good as ours then it will still be superb


The bar was fairly quiet and there was little entertainment. Again all inclusive guests could drink local brands of drinks for free but watch out as international brands are not included also the Bloody Mary is not included but have a Vodka and tomato juice and it is on the all inclusive. Prices for non included items are reasonabe until you get into even the wine and champagne were on par with the uk a bottle of Lasnon Black Label was about $63.00 or £38.00
The bar staff were very good and normally the same barman will serve drinks to you all holiday.

Snacks
The pool bar doubled up twice a day as a snacks area serving tea coffee and an assortment of sandwiches snacky things and sweets and it was all you can eat, the sun makes me so hungry.
You could also purchase icecreams if you wanted to.

Activities:
-Trips
Since we go on holiday to get away from our busy lives we love the smaller islands, but there is more than enough to keep you occupied on this medium size island
There are various activities to join in if you wish. There are surprisingly a large amount of trips offered by such a small island and the participation is poor so you get small groups
There is island hopping and big game fishing both these were free once on the AI and a dolphin watch cruise Love on the sand bank but you have to pay for these. There is a board in the main reception you put your name down on and just turn up.
There maybe more on offer now as the Front of house manager was asking how could he improve the trips and evening entertainment as take up was not that good
-Diving
There is a very good dive centre on Lily Beach run by Ocean Pro who have loads of sites around the maldives Veligandu, velavaru, Merrufenfushi, Helengeli, Coco Palm and Lily Beach
Although I didnt dive as I only passed my Padi OW and AOW in the june 2005.
There were a team of divers from S.W.A.T out there possibly looking at the aftermath of the Tsunami. As always in the maldives, Nitrox is in at this resort.
I can not comment on the dive sites as I did not dive but from reading book the South Ari Atoll is one of the best
-Watersports
There is a water sports centre on the island they offer Windsurfers from beginner to intermediate and you can windsurf in the lagoon at high tide at low tide you really need to go into the open ocean as the lagoon is too shallow. getting out to the ocean is easy as you just sail straigh out. The tuition should be charged for but some shouts for the shore and a little help from the watersports staff wont cost anything
There are also canoes and kayacks to use aswell
-Pool
At the East side of the island there is a nice swimming pool with sunbeads and seating all around

Beauty Spa
There is a spa called Duniye Spa it is situated next to the pool on the island but my partner did not go to it to try it out. But there are many different treatments you can have varying in cost from $35.00 each upwards. Make sure you dont miss an appointment as you will be charged if you dont turn up.

Sea Life:
Whilst we were on holiday the island was releasing turtle in to the wild from the hatchery they have. Each room was able to release a turtle into the wild which was a great opportuinty
The fish are varied and the snorkelling is average on Komandoo
The best areas are infront of the watersports centre. There are cutouts around the island with marker poles to show the entry/exit point to the reef edge so you dont get stuck on the coral and damage it
Please be aware there is a very strong current traveling length ways along the island and you should not attempt to snorkel alone or without flippers/fins.

Weather:
There are 2 distinct monsoons North-East December to April and South-West May to November the latter has the wetter windy weather
Temperature usually 26-30 'c
Suncream should always be worn even on a cloudy day
The best months are January to March giving the least rainfall
We had a few rainy days in February 2005 but mainly in the evening

Airport and Duty Free
Male International airport is a small airport built in the sea just off the main island Male
It has a few shops
The Last time we went Feb 2006 200 Cigerettes were about $18.00 but there are multibuys but no Malbro Lights. Rolling Tabacco $16.50 for 5 x 50gm these prices were up on feb 2005 and nov 2002-03. I think they are cottoning on to the prices
The Spirits are cheap and usually these is an offer on Gordons Gin Smirnoff Vodka and Teachers Wiskey buy 2 get 1 free works out abour £6.50 per litre with the free bottle
a perfume shop but small and not always got what you want so try gatwick instead on outbound flight to save disappointment
There is a watch shop where you can buy Rado, Gucci etc at good prices I got a watch worth £1400 in the UK for £850 you need to haggle hard and keep to your guns
Siffani Jewelery Shop which has ties in Sri Lanka are good but the guys do a hard sell
There is a snacky shop crisps drinks etc
A book shop selling books amd posters on the maldives
An electrical shop selling diving watches/computers, dvd players
There is also a cafe if you feel peckish before your flight and a shop selling belts ties a bit like tierack


Website
www.lilybeachmaldives.com has all the info on the island pictures and there is a guest book to so you can ready what a fabulous island it really is

Look Out For
Be sure to look out for my reviews of Paradise Island, Komandoo, Meedhuparu and Vakarufalhi all coming soon the last will be Vakaru as we are off there soon

Note
i have tried to keep the information impartial and as correct as possible

Community evaluation

This review was read 4080 times and was rated at
88% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • RichPrice published 07/02/2007
    A great Review of what sounds like a fab holiday
  • MALDIVEDIVER published 21/01/2007
    You have to have an E for this excellent review, ( not that I am basis) I think you covered just about everything. Looking forward to your other reviews--Cheers Mary
  • gizmogizmo published 21/01/2007
    A great review!! I visited Kuredu in September last year and had a wonderful time and it's nice to read other peoples impressions of the Maldives. Linz
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Product Information : Lily Beach Resort

Manufacturer's product description

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 20/01/2007