Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor

Community images

Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor

Non-Fiction - Reference - ISBN: 184708253X

> Show product information

90% positive

2 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor"

published 17/02/2016 | morticiaaddams
Member since : 25/03/2009
Reviews : 198
Members who trust : 69
About me :
I am from Germany but come to the Uk frequently - my reviews might provide you with an interesting view on everything British ;) I always review back!
Excellent
Pro entertaining, unusual, "inside" stories, touching, page-turner, very 'real'
Cons none
very helpful
Degree of Information
How easy was it to read / get information from
How interesting was the book?
How useful was it?
Would you read it again?

"Londoners"

Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor

Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor

Today I am reviewing the book "Londoners - The Days and Nights of London Now - As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for it" by Craigh Taylor!

Reader's appeal

Fittingly, I bought this book at a book store in London a bit over a year ago! On my holidays in London I love to check out the really big book shops and dig for interesting new reads. This particular book was presented on a special table or shelf and caught my attention straight away, since the cover has the colours of the London Underground tube map. I picked into the book quickly and already knew this would be a great read for me! The book was also quite affordable, so nothing spoke against buying it!

What is it about?

"Londoners" tells an exciting variety of many different stories of the inhabitants of Englan's capital! Author Craig Taylor has met up with many people and has carefully selected to write down the stories of those who love the city, are barely surviving in it, are getting used to it or want to leave it.
What makes this book a unique and unusual composition is the choice of people and how the author has not simply interviewed them with prepared questions, but instead allows them to tell their stories. The people speak of whatever maters to them and what makes up life in London for them. They speak of how it is to come to London from elsewhere - may it be another part of Britain, another part of Europe, or a country far away. For some it is their job that they relate most to London and presents the thing they talk about, for others it is their lifestyle, religion, sexual orientation or community life.
People of many professions are interviewed - a taxi driver, an actor, a TfL lost&found clerk, a teacher, a pilot, a rickshaw, an American tourist, a refugee, a barkeeper, a dominatrix, a nurce, a plumber, a chef, a rapper, a nightclub door attendant, a grief counsellor and many more. There is a huge variety in jobs, ethnicities and lifestyles among the story tellers, and the author has created an interesting, thrillingly honest and touching time-capsule of what London represents and has represented to people in the present and the last thirty years or so.

My impressions

I greatly enjoyed this piece of wrting and was very glad that my intuition about buying it proved me right.
I think this book is an amazing read for many people. Primarily, those who have lived in London, lived near it or visit the city often will enjoy this and surely find themselves in one or the other narrator. I lived in London for just under a year and felt a lot of the desolation and hate-love a lot of people describe in this book. Yet I also could identify with many of the reasons for London-love that these people name. This novel also would appear to lovers of short stories - reading a series of short biographical narratives that pretty much only have the place of setting in common is unusual and exciting in that context!
I really enjoyed that the author took care to reflect the peoples personalities. He offers short descriptions of theregarding person and the setting in which he meets up with them, but other than that he has stayed true to their way of spea
I also greatly enjoyed that "Londoners" does not concentrate on professionals, or even just on professions - there are also people who are more identified with their lifestyle, who speak about LGBTQ topics, about religion and about community topics. Through that, the book is nicely versatile and offers insight into a lot of lives, a lot ways of living and, of course, into different angles from which you can see life in London. Troublesome as well as enjoyable topics are tackled and the reader picks up so interesting bits and pieces - including knowledge about lost&found procedures, when undertakers have their busiest times in London and how they adapt to cultural changes or even what being homeless in London is like.
I recommend this book to adult readers and, obviously, the London and city life lovers among them!

The price

This novel is available for £9.98 on amazon.co.uk.

Conclusion

I greatly recommend "Londoners" and have already purchased another copy as a gift for a fellow London-lover. This book is entertaining yet deep, a page-turner and yet something to dwell on - I could go on! It really is something different and every bit as interesting as you imagine it!

Community evaluation

This review was read 546 times and was rated at
87% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • dangaroo published 31/03/2016
    Nice review
  • jb0077 published 26/03/2016
    vh
  • 1st2thebar published 18/03/2016
    Requires an edit. I'd say some examples of personal dialogues is necessary here. I've the book and there's 80 contributors - you've barely touched the surface.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It - Craig Taylor

Manufacturer's product description

Non-Fiction - Reference - ISBN: 184708253X

Product Details

ISBN: 184708253X

EAN: 9781847082534

Type: Non-Fiction

Genre: Reference

Title: Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now, As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It and Long for It

Author: Craig Taylor

Release Date: 03.11.2011

Publisher: Granta Books

Edition: Hardcover

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 22/12/2011