Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists

Community images

Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists

2 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: Ministry of Sound - Distributor: Ministry of Sound/Sony DADC, Ministry Of Sound/Universal Music - Released: 27/02/2006 -...

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists"

published 23/12/2014 | danielclark691
Member since : 27/02/2011
Reviews : 2286
Members who trust : 202
About me :
The game is over. Time to move onwards and upwards. Feel free to have a cursory glance at my reviews. The rates, comments and competition wins are appreciated, as are the friendships formed because of the site.
Good
Pro Very cheap, familiar tracks.
Cons Not easy listening! Won't suit all tastes.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Mash Up Mix 2006"

Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists

Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists

First impressions

I would say that the album cover is fairly typical of a compilation CD. The double disc case is presented in a cardboard sleeve, and the graphics are pretty eye-catching and electric! This suits the type of album this is, and we can see that it is 'The Mash Up Mix' by Ministry of Sound and it is mixed by the Cut Up Boys.

Ministry of Sound is such a well-known brand and it gives you confidence that you are buying a well made album when you see this on the front cover. The cover of the album itself is the same, and the disc graphics are similar in design. I think that overall first impressions are very positive, and to the rear of the album cover we have a track list which states the name of the track, the original artist and the details of who 'cut' the track up.

My experience

The first thing I noticed when looking at the track list was that the first disc contains 18 tracks and the second disc has just 14 tracks on it. Often you get a balance of tracks across the discs, though I can understand why there is such a variation here. When tracks are mixed and matched up it is very difficult to find ways to blend certain tracks. It is therefore best to have two discs of different length than have mis-matched tracks towards the end of one disc.

If you like a bit of electronic then I would definitely have thought you would recognise at least some of the tracks on this album. I wouldn't say I am familiar with all of them, though many of them ring a bell. many of the tracks are what you would expect to hear in a nightclub, though with the added electronic mix twist. It is a rather interesting sound and often you will find that tracks you recognised on the track list are almost unrecognisable due to the remix.

'The Mash Up Mix' is a very different sound to what a lot of people would hope to hear. I am very sure it will not appeal to the masses, though that is often the attraction for some people. You will sometimes find that certain artists don't want to be associated with 'pop' music for the very reason that they don't want to be 'mainstream' - that is the aim here I believe. I find it much more attractive to listen to music that isn't out there all the time. I am sure we all want to be part of something that we can share with others, though I also find it nice to listen to some types of music that not everyone enjoys and I think it gives you a sense of exclusivity.

'The Mash Up Mix 2006' is certainly exclusive. It won't be welcome at something like a family get together or on a peaceful Sunday afternoon. Where it will be welcome is on a night out in certain nightclubs and in the company of a younger generation, in my opinion. I have included a track list. I am sure you will recognise a few of the tracks on paper, though when listening to the album itself they might be quite different!


Disc 1;

1. Last Night a D.J. Saved My Life - Indeep, Last Night A DJ Saved My Life - Indeep
2. Bare as She Dare - Cecile
3. Know How /The Music in Me /Who Am I (What' - Snoop Dogg, Know How/Music In Me - Young MC/Boogie Pimps
4. Voodoo Ray /Drop the Pressure - Mylo, Voodoo Ray/Drop The Pressure - Guy Called Gerald/Boogie Pimps
5. Time 2 Turn Around - Denis the Menace
6. Dancin /Let the Music Play - Luvli
7. Feel Like Making Love - Future Funk, Feel Like Making Love (Wildberry Tracks) - Future Funk
8. SOS /Pump Up the Jam - Technotronic, SOS/Pump Up the Jam - A'Studio & Polina/D.O.N.S. & Technotronik
9. Feel the Vibe (Til the Morning Comes) - Axwell
10. Jacques Your Body (Make Me Sweat) - Rythmes Digitales, Jacques Your Body (Make Me Sweat) (club mix) - Les Rythmes Digitales
11. Love on My Mind /Rapture - Iio, Love On My Mind/Rapture - Freemasons/Iio
12. Passion /Sexuel /Young and Beautiful ..., Passion/Sexual/Young And Beautiful - Gat Decor/Amber/Young Punx
13. Make a Move on Me /I See Girls (Crazy) - Studio B, Make A Move On Me/I See Girls (Crazy) - Joey Negro/Studio B
14. Electro Shock 2005 /Make a Move on Me - Negro, Joey
15. Let Me Love You for Tonight /Your Body - Kariya, Let Me Love You For Tonight/Your Body - Kariya/Tom Novy & Michael Marshall
16. Say Say Say (Waiting 4 U) - Hi Track, Say Say Say (Waiting 4 U) - Hi Tack
17. One Fine Day/Let Me Love You for Tonight - Kariya, One Fine Day/Let Me Love You For Tonight - Jakatta/Kariya
18. Watchin' - Sayer, Leo

Disc 2;

1. Let Me Be Your Fantasy /Do You Remember House? ... - Blaze
2. Hurt You So /The Power (Of Bhangra) - Motivo, Hurt You So/Power (Of Bhangra) - Jonny L/Snap & Motivo
3. LFO /Music Power /Move Any Mountain ... - LFO, LFO/Music Power/Move Any Mountain - LFO/Porno/Shamen
4. Gamemaster /Everywhere I Go - Space Brothers, Gamesmaster/Everywhere I Go - Lost Tribe/Space Brothers
5. Carte Blance /Feel the Vibe (Til the Morning Comes) ... - Axwell, Carte Blanche/Feel The Vibe (Til The Morning Comes) - Veracocha/Axwell
6. Strange World /Raindrops - Stunt, Strange World/Raindrops - Push/Stunt
7. The Beauty of Silence /Must Be the Music - Svenson & Gielen, Beauty Of Silence/Must Be The Music - Svenson & Gielen/Harley & Muscle/Gerideau
8. Revolution /We Want Your Soul /Skydive (I ...) - Freeland, Revolution/We Want Your Soul/Skydive (I Feel Wonderful) - BK/Freeland/Freefall
9. Superstring (Instrumental) - Cyngus X, Superstring - Cygnus X
10. Seven Cities /Speechless /Silence - Solar Stone
11. Born Slippy (Nuxx) - Underworld
12. Hands Up /Rock Da Funky Beats - Trevor & Simon, Hands Up/Rock Da Funky Beats - Trevor & Simon/Public Domain & Chuck D.
13. Operation Blade /Hype! Hype! - SLK, Operation Blade/Hype Hype - Public Domain/SLK
14. Listen to Your Heart - DHT

Price and availability

This album was priced up at £15.99 back in 2006 when I bought it. As this is a fairly old album now it can be bought for just a couple of pounds on sites such as Amazon and eBay, though you should not expect to get a brand new copy for that price. It may be a difficult album to track down because it is quite old and fairly obscure.

Final thoughts

I can completely understand that this wasn't a particularly popular album back when it was released. Nothing is going to change after all these years, though that is just the type of album this is. It won't appeal to the masses, but I would say that pop music is the only type of music that has universal appeal.

If you do enjoy this type of music (electronic) then it could be a worthwhile purchase, though personally I would stick to something more up to date because you have a lot of choice and this isn't exactly anything special. If you are not a fan of electronic then perhaps it would be safe to say that it won't be to your liking. It could be, but I am sure you would know by now if you are a fan or not, and most people are not.

Community evaluation

This review was read 404 times and was rated at
85% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Mistee-Dreamz published 30/12/2014
    E!
  • Pointress published 29/12/2014
    VH
  • alliewallie published 28/12/2014
    Great review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mash Up Mix 2006 (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

2 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: Ministry of Sound - Distributor: Ministry of Sound/Sony DADC, Ministry Of Sound/Universal Music - Released: 27/02/2006 - 5026535516026

Product Details

EAN: 5026535516026

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011

This page moved permanently here: http://cd.ciao.co.uk/Mash_Up_Mix_2006_Parental_Advisory_PA_Various_Artists__Review_6137340