Dominic.D... 2

Dominic.Dinardo

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:14.08.2000

Reviews:1

Quote-start

Poor Quality, Reliability and Residual Value

Quote-end
14.08.2000

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

1 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (83%):
  1. phoenix072124
  2. Beefy
  3. drummingbunny
and 2 other members
helpful by (17%):
  1. mario1000

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Hello,

Please see attached a letter I have just sent to Mercedes - does anyone
else have similar experiences ?

______________________________________

Customer Services,
Mercedes Benz,
DaimlerChrysler UK Ltd
Tongwell,
Milton Keynes,
Buckinghamshire
MK15 8BA

9 August, 2000

Dear Sir,

RE: C180 Elegance - registration S393EGC

I am writing to express my concern and disappointment with my Mercedes
C180 Elegance that I purchased from Geyfords (Tooting, London) in
November 1998. I purchased my car for £26,521 in good faith based on
the quality, reliability and residual value offered by Mercedes.

I am afraid that I must write to you to detail the unmitigated failure
of your company to meet my expectations on all counts:

1. Week 1: Front grill misplaced and required refitting.
2. Rear passenger window jammed open and required new electric
motor. This entailed a call to Mercedes Emergency Assistance.
3. Sunroof jammed open. This was dealt with by a visit to the
dealership.
4. Woking motors whilst valuing our car comment on Geyford's
dealership "they have reputation for misleading clients" and showed us
a list containing names purporting to be other disgruntled customers.
5. Whilst on route to Geyfords to contemplate changing the C180,
the car breaks down with an electrical failure. My wife and two babies
are left stranded on a very busy road for 3 hours only 1 mile from the
dealership. When the car is finally attended to the battery is
replaced. This takes place on Tuesday 25.7.2000.
6. We visit Geyfords on the 29.7.2000 to discuss the problems the
C180 has had and to see if an upgrade to an E280 would help. Geyfords
offered us approximately £13,000 for the car. A depreciation of 50% in
20 months. The Geyfords sales manager did not seem surprised that I was
not willing to commit a further £23,000 to Mercedes Benz. In fact, one
of the "off the cuff" remarks he made was that he'd think twice about
buying another new one too.
7. On the 1.8.2000, whilst on route to a very important business
meeting the C180 experiences a complete electrical failure. One and
half hours after calling in the fault I am given a replacement hire car
and the C180 is taken in to "Tony Purslow Ltd" for the alternator to be
replaced.
8. Finally, on the 5.8.2000 we have to call the Mercedes Emergency
Assistance line again. Now the rear passenger window on the other side
has jammed open with a complete motor failure. I am writing this letter
as I await the emergency technician.

- Quality ? Numerous minor electrical and fitting problems. Your
dealerships continually bad mouth each other.this is just "tacky".

- Reliability ? I have lost count of the number of phone calls
made to Mercedes Emergency Assistance.

- Residual value ? It has depreciated more than any other car I
have ever owned.

In short, I feel that you must agree that Mercedes has failed me as a
customer thus far. PLEASE persuade me otherwise if you disagree.
As you might guess, I would quite like to terminate my relationship
with your company, can I suggest the following ways you might do this
in an amicable fashion:

a) Buy back my car at a morally correct price.
b) Suggest some compensatory action.

I look forward to reading your response.

Sincerely,
Dominic Dinardo


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

kaleem28 03.12.2004 23:04

Hey hey!! So what happened? Did you get a reply? I'm very interested in knowing how MB responded to this letter. I think its a very thorough letter for the experiences your had. Pls reply!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Mercedes C 180 »

1 to 3 out of 50 similar offers for Mercedes C 180 Show all similar offers
First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 202 Series 1.8 93>00

First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 202 Series 1.8 93>00

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 203 Series 1.8 02>on

First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 203 Series 1.8 02>on

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 203 Series 2.0 00>02

First Line Brake Cable Front - Mercedes C180 203 Series 2.0 00>02

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Body Type Saloon
Fuel Type Petrol
Range Mercedes C-Class
Manufacturer Mercedes

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Mercedes C 180 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (83%):

  1. phoenix072124
  2. Beefy
  3. drummingbunny

and 2 other members

"helpful" by (17%):

  1. mario1000

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Mercedes C 220 CDI

Mercedes C 220 CDI

Mercedes C-Class - Saloon - Rear (RWD) - 6 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto) - 2148 cc - Max Speed: 139 mph - 150 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: Elegance, Avantgarde SE, SE, Sport, Classic, Classic SE

User reviews (11)

Buy Now

Mercedes C 220 CDI Sportcoupe

Mercedes C 220 CDI Sportcoupe

Mercedes C-Class - Coupe - Rear (RWD) - 6 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto) - 2148 cc - Max Speed: 139 mph - 150 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: SE

User reviews (4)

Buy Now

Mercedes C 180 Kompressor

Mercedes C 180 Kompressor

Mercedes C-Class - Saloon - Rear (RWD) - 6 Speed Manual, 5 Speed Automatic, 6 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto) - 1796 cc - Max Speed: 138, 139 mph - 156, 143 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: Avantgarde SE, Classic, Classic SE, Elegance, SE, Sport

User reviews (7)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Mercedes C 180? Click here