benno1 3

benno1

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:20.11.2003

Reviews:2

Quote-start

love it / hate it

Quote-end
20.11.2003

Advantages:
style, performance, practicality (for a 2 seat convertible)

Disadvantages:
unreliable, very poor build quality, thirsty

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

7 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (9%):
  1. sparkydog
helpful by (64%):
  1. Springbok
  2. edlloyd01
  3. the_mad_cabbie
and 4 other members
somewhat helpful by (27%):
  1. Badger_Boy
  2. mizzameII
  3. manunas22

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I bought this car brand new in May 2000, picked up from the factory in Bremen (but bought through an official UK Mercedes dealer). On the day we picked it up the roof went down and back up but the driver's door window wouldn't go back up, and the car had to go back into the workshops. This set the tone for the car - it has been horrendously unreliable, more so than a 14 year old MG Midget I once owned. It has needed a new rear shock absorber, a new air conditioning unit, a new "valve" for the fuel tank (also faulty on the first day out of the factory), a new gearbox sensor, a new exhaust, a new battery and a gap kept appearing between the driver's door window and the frame. Every time I push the boot release catch it is so flimsy it feels like it is going to snap off in my hand. The bonnet has needed respraying twice - the paint is so soft I have never had a car with such horrendous stonechips. The ride is awful unless you are on a billiard table smooth road (there aren't many of those in the UK!) - if you crash into a pothole the rear suspension smashes onto the bumpstops which is really uncomfortable. It is very thirsty - I have never achieved more than 285 miles on one tank of fuel. One thing about this car really, really irritates me - it sounds like a diesel - Mercedes Benz cannot make 4 cylinder engines.

Having said all that the interior is quite spacious for a two seater (and I'm 6'1" tall!) and the boot is huge with the roof up, and bigger than you expect with the roof down.

The handling isn't bad (although a Ford Focus is better), and it is really quite rapid in a straight line (0 - 60 in 7.1 sec, 149 mph flat out).
Whenever I drive it I am always aware of the looks the car gets - it really is a thing of beauty - one of the most stylish cars on the road (if only they built it as well as they designed it). You could probably sell tickets to people to watch the roof going up and down!

However, my wife's BMW 323Ci is a much nicer car to spend time in so I drive that and she drives the SLK. Oh yes - and Mercedes dealers charge ú85 an hour for labour - at least Dick Turpin had the decency to wear a mask!

DON'T BUY AN SLK - buy a Boxster / Z4 / TT instead - you will not regret it.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this reviewĺs content

Comments about this review »

edlloyd01 03.03.2005 15:58

Good review mate! My dad owns one. Wouldn't say it was poor build quality, but the interior is quite plasticy

ampuk2000 08.01.2004 14:03

I think you have got a poor car here. Build quality is clearly not up to scratch. Although I would never buy a convertible from Mercedes - they are much better at the Saloons and Estates.

Sweary 21.11.2003 13:43

Well, that's a bit of a change from the Maestros isn't it! I can really sympathise, I made the same kind of leap, from a Triumph Spitfire to a sporty modern thing, and I can imagine that if your dream car is a lemon it must be pretty disappointing. I never thought I'd see the day when a Mercedes compared unfavourably with a Lotus for reliability. I'm fairly gobsmacked!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

á Post comment

Similar offers for Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá »

1 to 3 out of 3 similar offers for Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá
ATEC Alternator 90A MERCEDES-BENZ CLK C280 230 KOMPRESSOR 1997-00 + CONVERTIBLE 1998-00; MERCEDES-BENZ E-CLASS W210 E200 KOMPRESSOR 1997-00 + ESTATE S210 E200 T KOMPRESSOR 1997-03; MERCEDES-BENZ SLK R170 230 KOMPRESSOR,200 KOMPRESSOR 1996-04

ATEC Alternator 90A MERCEDES-BENZ CLK C280 230 KOMPRESSOR 1997-00 + CONVERTIBLE 1998-00; MERCEDES-BENZ E-CLASS W210 E200 KOMPRESSOR 1997-00 + ESTATE S210 E200 T KOMPRESSOR 1997-03; MERCEDES-BENZ SLK R170 230 KOMPRESSOR,200 KOMPRESSOR 1996-04

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order.Buy two or more items - SAVE
on shipping costs!

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC Discos de frenos ventilados ě288mm + Pastillas de freno eje delantero MERCEDES-BENZ CLASE C W202 C 200 KOMPRESSOR, C 230 KOMPRESSOR, C 240, C 250 TUBRO-D,280 1993-00 + FAMILIAR S202 1996-01; MERCEDES-BENZ CLK C208 200 KOMPRESSOR, 230 KOMPRESSOR 1997-02 + CABRIOLET A208; MERCEDES-BENZ CLASE E W210 E 200,E 220 D/CDI,E 220 D/CDI,E 230,E 240,E 250 D,E 290,E 300 D TURBO-D 1995-02 + FAMILIAR S210 1996-03; MERCEDES-BENZ SLK R170 200,230 KOMPRESSOR 1996-04

ATEC Discos de frenos ventilados ě288mm + Pastillas de freno eje delantero MERCEDES-BENZ CLASE C W202 C 200 KOMPRESSOR, C 230 KOMPRESSOR, C 240, C 250 TUBRO-D,280 1993-00 + FAMILIAR S202 1996-01; MERCEDES-BENZ CLK C208 200 KOMPRESSOR, 230 KOMPRESSOR 1997-02 + CABRIOLET A208; MERCEDES-BENZ CLASE E W210 E 200,E 220 D/CDI,E 220 D/CDI,E 230,E 240,E 250 D,E 290,E 300 D TURBO-D 1995-02 + FAMILIAR S210 1996-03; MERCEDES-BENZ SLK R170 200,230 KOMPRESSOR 1996-04

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!PLEASE NOTE: WITHIN THE EU BRAKE PADS MUST
HAVE A VALID ECE/90R CERTIFICATION. WE ONLY SELL
APPROVED AND APPROPRIATELY CERTIFICATED BRAKE
PADS.Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order. Buy two or more items - save
on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC Brake caliper front left MERCEDES-BENZ C-CLASS W203 C180, C200, C220, C230, C320 2000-07 + ESTATE 2001-07 + SPORTCOUPE CL203 C160, C180, C200, C220, C230 2001-08; CLC-CLASS CLC 180, CLC 200 FROM 2008; CLK C209 200 FROM 2002 + CONVERTIBLE A209 200 FROM 2003; SLK R171 200 KOMPRESSOR FROM 2004

ATEC Brake caliper front left MERCEDES-BENZ C-CLASS W203 C180, C200, C220, C230, C320 2000-07 + ESTATE 2001-07 + SPORTCOUPE CL203 C160, C180, C200, C220, C230 2001-08; CLC-CLASS CLC 180, CLC 200 FROM 2008; CLK C209 200 FROM 2002 + CONVERTIBLE A209 200 FROM 2003; SLK R171 200 KOMPRESSOR FROM 2004

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!BRAND NEW, no replacement costs, NO NEED to
return your old part.Remember: You will only be
charged shipping costs once per order. Buy two or
more items - save on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information ╗

Product details

Body Type Convertible
Fuel Type Petrol
Range Mercedes SLK-Class
Manufacturer Mercedes

Show all Product Information

More reviews ╗

Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá - review by AdonisC

Quote-start Benz slk Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá - review by jbilal

Quote-start SLK's from Germany Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá - review by dplimos.com

Quote-start second hand value Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá - review by HARRYGRAFTON

Quote-start SLK 230 KOMPRESSOR Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Review Ratings ╗

This review of Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá has been rated:

"very helpful" by (9%):

  1. sparkydog

"somewhat helpful" by (27%):

  1. Badger_Boy
  2. mizzameII
  3. manunas22

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Mercedes SLK 200 Kompressor

Mercedes SLK 200 Kompressor

Mercedes SLK-Class - Convertible - Rear (RWD) - 5 Speed Automatic, 6 Speed Manual, 6 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto) - 1796 cc - Max Speed: 147, 143 mph - 184, 163 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (3)

Buy Now

Mercedes SLK 280

Mercedes SLK 280

Mercedes SLK-Class - Convertible - Rear (RWD) - 6 Speed - (Man) / 7 Speed - (Auto) - 2996 cc - Max Speed: 155 mph - 231 bhp - Petrol

Rate it now

Buy Now

Mercedes SLK 350

Mercedes SLK 350

Mercedes SLK-Class - Convertible - Rear (RWD) - 7 Speed Automatic, 6 Speed Manual, 6 Speed - (Man) / 7 Speed - (Auto) - 3498 cc - Max Speed: 155 mph - 305, 272 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (4)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Mercedes SLK 230 Kompressorá? Click here