Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 Tire

Community images

Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 Tire

Car Tyre - Performance Tyre

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 Tire"

published 23/03/2008 | almarsden
Member since : 15/03/2008
Reviews : 18
Members who trust : 5
About me :
Good
Pro Cheap and excellent grip when new
Cons Grip isn't as good when the tyres are older
helpful
Value for Money
Durability
Performance
Road Handling

"Michelin Paylot for poor quality"

I bough a new Clio over a year ago and the Micheling Energy tyres that were on it were just about dead, so after a few reccomendations I decided to get some Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 tyres fitted to it.

They were only £60 a tyre fitted (195/50/15) was very happy with the price.

At first summer) the tyres were absolutely fantastic, had bags full of grip and when they did let go you could feel it slowly and control it.

As winter approached late last year the grip of the tyres didn't feel as good as it used to, even on warm days it wasn't the same, it felt like as the tyres were getting older the compound in them was degrading, and they weren't as good.

Up untill that point I would definately have bought them again, but wouldn't now.

When I had the tyres put on the car it had done 42k and when I sold the car with 62k on (11 months later) the tyres still had about 3-4mm tread left so the wear rate was very good.

It may be that these tyres are meant for summer only despite michelin saying they are an all round tyre.

As a performance tyre I wouldn't buy them again i'd go for some Eagle F1's instead.

I hope this review is of some help to people looking for these tyres.

Al.

Community evaluation

This review was read 4204 times and was rated at
57% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • yassarikhan786 published 10/04/2008
    Good review :o)
  • weebill published 02/04/2008
    Michelin tyres have never been good in the wet, its nothing to do with degrading compounds or anything like that it is simply that the tyres are road tested in france and spain where they perform very well then shipped to climates like ours where they fail badly. they will outlast most other brands but you have to be prepared to sacrifice that wet road gripping. Take it from me a michelin tyre technician of 23 years standing, 1970 - 1993. Bill
  • jesi published 01/04/2008
    l was struggling to get my mind around a new Clio with worn out tires until l read the bit where you said it had done 42,000 when you bought it ~~ which probably meant that it was second-hand ~ just new to you . . . . ~ ! ♥♥ ! ~ ........................................................... ~ jes ~ ! ♥♥ !
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 Tire

Manufacturer's product description

Car Tyre - Performance Tyre

Product Details

Type: Car Tyre

Genre: Performance Tyre

Long Name: Pilot Exalto PE2 Tire

Series: Pilot

Manufacturer: Michelin

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 09/11/2006