Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional

Community images

Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional

Built on NT technology, Windows 2000 Professional offers rock-solid reliability and improved manageability that simplify desktop management. And its i...

> Show product information

75% positive

27 reviews from the community

Review of "Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional"

published 06/05/2002 | djohan
Member since : 01/08/2001
Reviews : 137
Members who trust : 142
About me :
Sometimes the measure of friendship isn't your ability to not harm but your capacity to forgive the things done to you and ask forgiveness for your own mistakes. Randy K. Milholland, Something Positive Comic, 11-07-05
Excellent
Pro Described in Opinion
Cons Described in Opinion
very helpful
Instructions / Help
Ease of use
Ease of Installation
Reliability
Range of extra features / functions

"Stay Tune With your 486DX4"

These days I am really busy managing my new local area networks and the integrated applications (for processing the administrative works on Palm Oil Plantation and Factories / Mills) installed on the servers with Windows 2000 Server edition as the operating system (OS).

Based on my latest experience and observation on Windows 2000 Server edition, here I would like to share it with you, especially its outstanding feature that makes your old PCs work well and as if you were working on the server.

Backgrounds

Formerly my applications were designed using CLIPPER 5.3. They ran under Microsoft Drive Operating System (DOS 6.22) as the OS and Novel 4.11 was installed on the servers. Seeing the need to make changes on the previous applications, we have finished designed and programmed the new applications using Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 and now is managing the implementation of the new applications at the headquarter office and site offices.

Considering that MS Visual Basic 6.0 is from Microsoft, we think that using the operating systems from Microsoft is the best option among the other available operating systems. In a discussion we agreed to use Microsoft Windows 2000 Server edition as the OS to be installed on the servers. Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 95 are determined to be the OS on the workstations.


Why Windows 2000 Server

In the discussion we see one outstanding feature from this OS. Windows 2000 Server edition offers an excellent feature that a server can share its hardware resources. It means that the old personal computers (PCs) connected to the server can run well in the accordance with the server’s resources.

Just for an illustration, if you are working on a workstation which comes with a 486DX4 processor and connected to a standard server, the workstation runs as if you were working on the server.


Terminal Service Client

Terminal Service Client (TSC) is the excellent feature offered by Windows 2000 Server edition. Installing the TSC utility on each workstation makes the old PCs as the workstations run well.

Here are some additional notes. Running TSC on a workstation requires at least 16 MB for better performance. And the condition of a processor does not effect much the speed of the data processing time.

One weakness of TSC is that the PCs connected to a server cannot have a good display resolution although the server or workstation is installed with a high-resolution graphic card. The workstation just has the ability to deliver a 256-colors display.


Conclusion

It is advisable for us to make the use of the feature from Windows 2000 Server edition – Terminal Service Client – that we still can use the old PCs that come with old processors. In brief we do not have to spend more money to buy new PCs for your workstations.

Before installing a network, try to learn the manual from Windows 2000 Server edition. If you have learned the manual, I am sure it help much for you to install the network. And the built-in help from this OS may be very helpful though there are many technical terms found.

Finally, this OS is recommended for building or establishing a network and not for a stand alone PC.


Community evaluation

This review was read 1122 times and was rated at
94% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • ucup33 published 29/07/2002
    good choice of title :-)
  • SDM-Mike published 05/07/2002
    Great opinion, I have Windows 2k profesionelle on my personal computer. It works better than windows 98, greetz Mike :-)
  • aaron published 14/06/2002
    I was not even aware of this TSC feature. I cant see there being much problems with the 256 colour display as most monitors that were supplied with the old 486's that use the TSC feature would not really be able for much more. Very helpful opinion. Thanks.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional

Manufacturer's product description

Built on NT technology, Windows 2000 Professional offers rock-solid reliability and improved manageability that simplify desktop management. And its integrated Web capabilities and broad support for mobile computers and hardware devices make it easy for business users to connect to the Internet and work anywhere, anytime. Windows 2000 Professional is built upon the rock-solid reliability of Windows NT technology, which makes it significantly more reliable than either Windows 95 or Windows 98 technology. Reliability improvements in Windows 2000 Professional make it even more stable than Windows NT Workstation. Windows 2000 Professional offers high system uptime, dynamic system configuration and resilience to application failures. The support for standards-based security in Windows 2000 Professional protects corporate data in stand-alone and networked environments. Windows 2000 Professional offers a set of built-in tools that make it easier to deploy and manage. In addition, Windows 2000 Professional offers an intelligent user interface that adapts to the way users work thereby making the users more efficient. Windows 2000 Professional extends the capability of notebooks through support for Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI), Smart Battery and Advanced Virtual Private Network (VPN). It enables users to work anywhere, anytime through support for offline folders and files. The improved hardware support in Windows 2000 Professional includes support for the latest hardware standards, including Universal Serial Bus (USB), Infrared Data Association (IrDA), and IEEE 1394. Windows 2000 Professional is designed to make it easier for organizations to embrace the Internet. The built-in Internet Explorer (IE), a tightly integrated browser, provides users with a faster and richer Internet experience. With support for Dynamic HTML (DHTML) and Extensible Markup Language (XML), it offers a powerful platform for developers to create highly scalable end-to-end e-commerce and line-of-business web applications.

Product Details

Product Description: Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional - media, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional - ( v. 2000 ) - complete package, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional w/SP4 - media, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional w/SP4 - license and media, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional w/SP3 - media, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional w/SP3 - complete package, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Service Pack - ( v. 4 ) - media

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional SP4, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional SP3

License Type: Media, Complete package, License and media

Language(s): English, Multilingual, English, French, Dutch

Media: CD-ROM and 3.5" Floppy, CD-ROM

License Pricing: OEM, Volume, Standard

Licensing Program: Microsoft Select

Localisation: United Kingdom

Version: 2000, 4

License Qty: 1 user, 2 processors

General

MPN: B23-00096, B23-01052, AA366AV, B23-03850, B23-02146, A9336AV#AK6, DD815AV#ABU, A9336AV#ABU, B23-00807, B23-03757, B23-00481, B23-01401, B23-03950, B23-03877, B23-03747, B23-03624, B23-03628, B23-03951

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional SP4, Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional SP3

Language(s): English, Multilingual, English, French, Dutch

Localisation: United Kingdom

Version: 2000, 4

Operating System

License Type: Media, Complete package, License and media

Media: CD-ROM and 3.5" Floppy, CD-ROM

License Pricing: OEM, Volume, Standard

Licensing Program: Microsoft Select

License Qty: 1 user, 2 processors

System Requirements

Min Processor Type: Intel Pentium - 133 MHz

Min RAM Size: 64 MB

Min Hard Drive Space: 650 MB, 2 GB

Peripheral / Interface Devices: Mouse or compatible device, CD-ROM, Mouse or compatible device, CD-ROM, VGA monitor, CD-ROM, VGA monitor, CD-ROM

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 02/06/2004