Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr

Community images

Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr

The house is full of strange bustling, there are new noises and new smells, and where is that tree going? Disconcerted by all the unusual activities, ...

> Show product information

95% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr"

published 10/11/2009 | oldchem
Member since : 30/05/2009
Reviews : 410
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro A fantastic little book that is beautifuuly written and illustrated.
Cons None at all
very helpful
Would you read it again?
Story
Characters
Readability
How does it compare to similar books?

"A cat with attitude, Christmas attitude that is."

Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr

Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr

MOG’S CHRISTMAS


JUDITH KERR

This year will be my 37th year of having a child in the house for Christmas.
Each and every one of those Christmas’s has seen me buying Christmas books for the children in my life, my own children and now my grandchildren.
The books have always been bought as an early Christmas present that the elves bring on Christmas Eve to see if the child has gone to bed, we then open the book and read it before the little one (hopefully) goes to sleep.

One series of books that my children have grown up with are the ‘Mog’ series by Judith Kerr.
My eldest daughter was born in 1972 and the first Mog book, ‘Mog the Forgetful Cat ‘ was released in 1970.
There were seventeen books in the Mog series, and what is unusual about children’s books, the last book, written in 2002, ‘Goodbye Mog’sees Mog dying.

‘Mog’s Christmas’ was released in 1976, my fourth daughter was treated to this book for her second Christmas, this year her three year old niece will be having it left on her pillow by the Christmas elves.

Mog, born 1970, died October 2002.

Mog was one of the best-known cats of her generation and lived with a family called the Thomas’s.

It’s nearly Christmas and the Thomas family are busy.
Mog is not a happy cat, strange things are happening at her house, and she doesn't like it one bit. Everyone is running about the house, hanging up mistletoe and decorations, blowing up balloons, baking loads of food and wait what’s this -
"It was a tree, a tree walking!"
What Mog hadn’t seen was that it was Mr. Thomas carrying the family Christmas tree inside the house. ]
Mog is very disconcerted by the bustle, the new smells and noises so much so that she escapes to the roof.
There is no way the family can tempt Mog down from the roof.

That is until suddenly she finds herself in the house again, with everyone wishing her a happy Christmas

I think that this is such a lovely little Christmas book, and just a little different from the norm. Judith Kerr has created a really lovely little children's book that demonstrates well how a cat reacts to changes in their lives.

As with all of Ms Kerr’s books, the illustrations are absolutely lovely, and will quickly make Mog’s Christmas a firm Christmas time favourite.

OPTIONS AND PRICES

The book is available in hardback, paperback, paperback with CD and a mini edition
HARDBACK DETAILS

· Hardcover: 32 pages
· Publisher: Putnam Pub Group (T) (Dec 1977)
· Language English
· ISBN-10: 0529053764
· ISBN-13: 978-0529053763
RRP £12.95
Available on Amazon from 1p

PAPERBACK

· Paperback: 32 pages
· Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books; (1 Nov 2004)
· Language English
· ISBN-10: 0007171358
· ISBN-13: 978-0007171354
· Product Dimensions: 27.4 x 21.6 x 0.6 cm
RRP £5.99
Available on Amazon from 1p
PAPERBACK WITH CD

· Paperback: 32 pages
· Publisher: Collins Audio; Re-issue edition (7 Nov 2005)
· Language English
· ISBN-10: 0007193661
· ISBN-13: 978-0007193660
· Product Dimensions: 27.6 x 21.6 x 1 cm
RRP £7.99
Available on Amazon from £1.64

MINI HARDBACK EDITION

· Hardcover: 32 pages
· Publisher: Picture Lions; New edition edition (3 Nov 2003)
· Language English
· ISBN-10: 0007167059
· ISBN-13: 978-0007167050
· Product Dimensions: 17 x 13.8 x 0.8 cm
Available on Amazon from 1p

THE MOG SERIES

· Mog the Forgetful Cat (1970)
· Mog's Christmas (1976)
· Mog and the Baby (1980)
· Mog in the Dark (1983)
· Mog and Me (1984)
· Mog's Family of Cats (1985)
· Mog's Amazing Birthday Caper (1986)
· Mog and Bunny (1988)
· Mog and Barnaby (1991)
· Look Out, Mog (1991)
· Mog on Fox Night (1993)
· Mog in the Garden (1994)
· Mog's Kittens (1994)
· Mog and the Granny (1995)
· Mog and the Vee Ee Tee (1996)
· Mog's Bad Thing (2000)
· Goodbye, Mog (2002)

Community evaluation

This review was read 723 times and was rated at
53% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • amoremiamore published 14/11/2009
    Great review! Short, but tells a lot! E
  • stephbond89 published 10/11/2009
    An excellent short and precise review
  • hillhead published 10/11/2009
    Great little books and write up of course.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mog's Christmas - Judith Kerr

Manufacturer's product description

The house is full of strange bustling, there are new noises and new smells, and where is that tree going? Disconcerted by all the unusual activities, Mog escapes to the roof, and refuses to come down! Mog's antics have entertained countless children ever since her first appearance in 1970, making the lovable cat one of the most enduringly popular characters in children's books.

Product Details

Type: Fiction

Genre: Children's

Title: Mog's Christmas

Author: Judith Kerr

ISBN: 0001837265; 0006641466; 0529053764

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/02/2006