Moon Safari - Air

Community images

Moon Safari - Air

1 CD(s) - Electronica - Label: Source UK, Source/Virgin - Distributor: Universal Music, EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/01/1998 - 7243844...

> Show product information

95% positive

19 reviews from the community

Review of "Moon Safari - Air"

published 23/03/2004 | DylanD
Member since : 10/07/2003
Reviews : 58
Members who trust : 12
About me :
Excellent
Pro Great instrumentals
Cons I cant stop listening to it!
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"I need to get some Air!"

If you’re a big fan like me of electronica chill out music then listen to Air – The French Band. Air are as their title suggests are a French duo from Versailles and their debut Album Moon Safari hit the charts in 1998. The CD cover is nothing special it depicts a drawn picture of the duo with their name in the top left hand corner.

Moon Safari consists of 10 tracks:-

La Femme D’argent
The first track on Moon Safari, La Femme D’argent is a great instrumental track and a cracking start to the album. It’s great background bassline and classy electronic piano solo is mixed full of futuristic sounds is one of my favourite all time chillout tracks, this track blows me a way and a great track to listen to while driving.

Sexy Boy
This is one of the singles to hit the charts taken from Moon Safari, if you watched Dream Team this was used on the advert on Sky1. A Great track, with a synthetic French vocals and reminiscent of a track Gary Newman would be proud of.

All I need
The first proper vocalised song on the album. I can imagine sitting in a French bistro in Paris listening to this in the background. This is what Air are about, this beautiful track hints at the Air French sound with mellow English vocals from Beth Hirsh and great piano solos. Lovely track.

Kelly Watch The Stars
This was their second single from Moon Safari, the video got a lot of airplay of the cable music channels. An upbeat tempo this track,starts of with lots of twiddling piano sounds and a great bassline which turns into a furturistic electro pop track with space age vocals reminiscent of a computer talking to you with a great classy classical piano solo in the middle. As the video suggests great to play while playing table tennis!

Talisman
This is a classy instrumental most people will have heard, with an orchestral background and the trademark Air piano solo. This track got great airplay and is used a lot on many TV programmes, I am sad but I am going to mention the holiday programme has used this a lot along with many Zero7 tracks.

Remember
Starts of with futuristic computerised vocals singing “Remember” basicall all the way through and split into spooky sounding ghost noises in the middle.

You make it easy
You make it easy is another vocal song with Beth Hirsh again singing in English, a pleasant track with a mild upbeat sounding tempo with a beautiful orchestral arrangement towards the end.

Ce Matin LA
Another great chill out instrumental track with a very French feel is topped off with lovely harmonica and tuba solos combined with an orchestral background.

New Star in the Sky
The numerous instruments used on this track makes it unique. The first track where a guitar actually stands out but only at the beginning it soon fades to be taken over by yet another lovely piano solo which has been cleverly mixed with beautiful acoustic tones, space age sounds with the addition of trade mark computerised vocals and a gorgeous flute solo all go to make this slow track a nice addition to the album.

Le Voyage De Penelope
The final track on the album, this instrumental has a string background with a futuristic piano sounding solo.

If you like Zero 7 and St Etienne then Air are a cut above. A clever mix of synthesiser spacey futuristic beats, and classy instrumentals make this an all time great, just sit back, relax and listen to the brilliance of Air.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1609 times and was rated at
97% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • TazGreen published 01/10/2005
    Excellant review of an unsurpassable album!
  • Potless published 30/08/2004
    I just bought this album, and I have to say I love every track (how many times can you say that about a CD?). It's good to hear analogue synths back on the scene. Great review!
  • smileybabe published 05/05/2004
    Haven't heard of these ones before:o)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Moon Safari - Air"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Moon Safari - Air

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Electronica - Label: Source UK, Source/Virgin - Distributor: Universal Music, EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/01/1998 - 724384497828

Product Details

EAN: 724384497828

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011