Mountain High...Valley Low - Yolanda Adams

Community images

Mountain High...Valley Low - Yolanda Adams

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Gospel - Label: Elektra - Distributor: Arvato Services, Cinram Logistics - Released: 13/11/2000 - 75596243926

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Mountain High...Valley Low - Yolanda Adams"

published 30/09/2009 | jcneil
Member since : 16/07/2004
Reviews : 563
Members who trust : 51
About me :
Hi everyone, I am 30 and I mostly write music reviews on here, I also do the odd fragrance review. I used to write on dooyoo but have switched to writing on just ciao now. I will be trying to write a couple of reviews every two days.
Super
Pro Great vocals. tracks
Cons One more ballad?
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"High up a mountain"

**Introduction**

This is the third instalment of my Yolanda Adams reviews after reviewing "Believe" and "Day By Day" which were two of the three Yolanda Adams albums I requested for review a couple of weeks ago. Mountain High Valley Low is the third and final instalment for now and was the the first of the three released in 2000 compared to 2001 for Believe and 2005 for Day by Day, So with the release of her latest album this year I decided to complete the three requested album reviews now.

**Mountain High...Valley Low**

This is Yolanda Adam's major record label debut courtesy of the Elektra label. With a major label comes major names and that's the same here with two major names from the world of Music. Joining her on the album is the phenomenally successful production duo of Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis As well as Keith Thomas. This album is typically Yolanda Adams with her blend of Gospel mixed with hip-hop, jazz, and R&B. The album was released on 13th November 2000.

1 Time To Change
2 Yeah
3 Fragile Heart
4 That Name
5 In The Midst Of It All
6 Things We Do
7 Open My Heart
8 Wherever You Are
9 He'll Arrive ..(Coming Back)
10 Continual Praise
11 Already Alright

**My View**

"Time to change" opens things with a Hip Hop scratch to start and after a short intro the beat comes in and Yolanda gets into full flow. This track has a really catchy feel and the guitar and bass blend together really well. This is a very impressive opening track with a great flow. This track is about changing your life when you realise it's time to change. Top stuff.

Now we come to "Yeah" which is a slowed down track compared to the opener. This is another flowing track which has some nice backing vocals which add a nice smooth feel with the beat and Yolanda's vocals. There is a small use of a vocoder which you may or may not like. It does not really add anything to the song as it's not used enough.

"Fragile Heart" is the first real ballad on the album and has more of an R&B feel than Gospel. I love the beat of this track and the gentle guitar comes as a great addition. This track is about when you put on a brave face but inside you are not feeling so confident without someone. This is a very impressive that is very well sung.

"That Name" is an all out Gospel track which features brilliant vocals from Yolanda who really shows off the range in her voice. The Gospel Choir is also great and they add to this amazing track which goes from a placid piano/strings intro to a mass choir blow-out which leaves you in no doubt about her amazing voice which goes the same way as the music.

"In The Midst Of It All" is another very impressive Gospel track which again features a fantastic Gospel choir which adds to the overall feel of the song. This is not quite as good as "That Name" but is still a brilliant track which is great musically and of course vocally from Yolanda Adams and the great Gospel Choir.

"Things we Do" is a great hymn of praise complete which samples JFK's inaugural address and Martin Luther King's "I Have a Dream" speech. I really love the music on this as it's laid back yet has that spark. The backing vocals are lighter and have a great flow on this track about how people live their life for the good. Great track.

"Open My Heart" was one of the tracks I loved before I became a Yolanda Adams fan. I remember hearing it around the time of release and thinking it was really beautiful and I still feel that now. It's a stripped down ballad with Yolanda Adams vocal at it's most serene. The music is a firm drum beat and some very relaxed strings. Brilliant track.

"Wherever you are" is a mix of Gospel and Hip Hop with a stop start beat and some funky hooks which add to the vocals to create a very catchy track which is another effective fusion between two very different genres that somehow sound so natural together on this album and much of her recent stuff too. This is another fine track.

"He'll Arrive (Coming Back)" Is another very effective mix of Gospel and Hip Hop which again has a brilliant flow. Despite the flowing beat, Yolanda's vocal starts softly and then builds up. This is a very impressive track which has a great flow and although not quite as good as the previous track is a very good track indeed. Good stuff again.

"Continual Paradise" This is probably the fastest flowing on the album and has a Michael Jackson like melody with a very good vocal which gathers pace through the song. I like the funky guitar tones which come now and again in the background. This is another very good track and one of the best musically.

"Already Alright" ends the album with another Gospel/Hip Hop mix which also has a light R&B feel. This track is about a friend who became terminally ill and you beat the disease. This is a great uplifting track which is a great way to end the album and is another indication of the catchy feel of this album.

**Overall**

This is a very good album indeed. It features a few great tracks and there are no bad tracks to speak of. If you were tempted by my other Yolanda Adams reviews then I hope that you will give this one a go too as it's right up there with those two albums. The way she fuses Gospel with Hip Hop and R&B especially is brilliant. Given the talent she has she should be much more well known than she is. Just listen to that voice. You'll see.

Also posted on dooyoo as Lakerfanster

Community evaluation

This review was read 755 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • TheHairyGodmother published 01/10/2009
    Super review, well written, informative and very helpful to the consumer.
  • blackmagicstar4 published 01/10/2009
    Fab review x
  • hillhead published 01/10/2009
    Great review as always : )
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mountain High...Valley Low - Yolanda Adams

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Gospel - Label: Elektra - Distributor: Arvato Services, Cinram Logistics - Released: 13/11/2000 - 75596243926

Product Details

EAN: 75596243926

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011