My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

Community images

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

1, 2 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 22/11/2010 - 602527578910, 602527544618

> Show product information

92% positive

5 reviews from the community

Review of "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West"

published 20/03/2011 | tipsyrabbit
Member since : 17/03/2010
Reviews : 62
Members who trust : 6
About me :
Excellent
Pro Refreshing
Cons Language will not be to everyones taste
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"CAN WE GET MUCH HIGHER?"

My

“I’d like to thank…” Oh hell no!! Yes, that’s the obligatory Kanye West award acceptance speech interruption joke out the way. Afterall, what does Taylor Swift have to complain about? Kanye put her on the map. It is hard to believe that Kanye only arrived on the scene with his debut album, ‘College Dropout’, in 2004. Since then he has fast claimed a place as one of the greatest rappers of all time. I would rate him up there with the likes of Jay-Z, Eminem and Dr Dre. Although his work has always been critically acclaimed, it seems as though Kanye likes to make things difficult for himself. The most shocking moment in his career is perhaps the untimely death of his mother during a plastic surgery operation.

‘Late Registration’, his second album, is his biggest success to date and spawned the worldwide hit ‘Gold Digger’. Since this album, ‘Graduation’ and ‘808s & Heartbreak’ also went to the top of the US album charts. ‘808s’ was Kanye’s most ambitious effort to date, completely switching up his sound and Kanye is perhaps the artist that put auto-tune on the map with the use of it on the albums lead single, ‘Love Lockdown’. Everything Kanye has done to date, I have loved. Needless to say, I was interested to see what boundaries would be pushed on ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ released November 2010.

If the title of Kanye West’s fifth album didn’t show you he has became somewhat of a mixed up individual, the selection of various album cover art would. A red cover with the small, almost disturbing, artwork in the middle. And of course, the parental advisory sticker.

Beautiful

‘Power’ was the first single to be lifted from the album, although it felt to me as thought Kanye was hoping the power of his name would lead the song to glory. Or maybe he’s just not worried about glory, and just wanted to share his art. ‘Power’ didn’t fare very well on the charts, but what it did signal was another new sound for the album. The track was praised for being a return to hip hop roots, and the music video was an edited version of the track lasting less than two minutes, and described by Kanye himself as, “IT’S NOT A VIDEO, IT’S A MOVING PAINTING.”

What this album does feature is a long list of huge name artists, including but not limited to; Nicki Minaj, Kid Cudi, Rihanna, Jay Z and Elton John.

Dark

‘Dark Fantasy’ is the intro track to the album. “Sit around children, zip it listen!” Whilst artists in recent years have got used to giving us short tracks to open albums, this opening track is an introduction to what to expect… but it lasts the length of a fully-fledged single.

‘Monster’ was the second single released, and again failed to make much of an impact on the charts despite being one of my favourite tracks. A version of the music video leaked on to the internet, but was never officially released – perhaps due to some of the imagery in the video, i.e. a woman hanging from the ceiling, and the lyrics aren’t any more radio friendly. It’s worth mentioning at this point that during the build up to the albums released, Kanye was allowing fans to download a new song every Friday for free. Many expected that these tracks would not make it on to the final album, but surprisingly ‘Monster’ was one of the tracks released for free. There are a lot of featured artists on this track, but my favourite has to come from Nicki Minaj. For those who don’t know Minaj, she’s a female rapper… think a more talented Cher Lloyd from X-Factor.

Twisted

‘Runaway’, the third track to be released, was actually the first track I heard when Kanye performed it live. If there is still anyone out there that thinks Kanye likes pushing things musically but gets lazy with his music videos – the accompanying video for this track lasts 35-minutes. It’s basically a short film, and ‘Power’ was just a commercial in comparison. ‘Runaway’ pokes fun at himself for an infamous nude picture leaking on to the internet, and has the infectious chorus “Lets have a toast for the douchebags, lets have a toast for the a**holes. Lets have a toast for the scumbags, everyone that I know. Lets have a toast for the j***-offs, that never take work off. Baby I got a plan, runaway as fast as you can.” It’s a testament to the rest of the album that this isn’t even the best track.

‘Runaway’ was named by Rolling Stone as the best song of 2010.

Fantasy

‘All of the Lights’ is the latest single to be released and looks set to be the albums biggest commercial hit. Rightfully so. I think the fact that Rihanna does the chorus, who somehow seems to keep getting more popular, is working in the tracks favour. Think how she delivered the chorus on her collaboration with ‘Love The Way You Lie’, and this could be just as big. On the album there is a 1-minute interlude leading up to the start of the track that really sets the mood. In another boundary push by Kanye, the music video has already had an epilepsy warning slapped on it.

Unbelievably, this is still so much more to mention. ‘Gorgeous’, ‘So Appaled’ and ‘Devil in a New Dress’ are for the more hip hop fans among us with some of his best rhymes in there. ‘Hell of a Life’ starts with a beat that shows the quality of the production value on this album, there are not many artists out there that could get away with a beat like this. ‘Blame Game’ definitely suits the John Legend feature, and this will be a favourite among the female fans. ‘Lost in the World’ seems slightly too auto tuned at the start and I’m sure some people listening to it would think “what the hell” but it grows into a good song. And to close the album, the question is who will survive in America?

I’m not too worried about who’s going to be surviving in the USA, as long as it means Kanye West will be releasing another album. Whilst some previous albums have spawned a lot more radio friendly hits, Kanye is doing what he wants here, and he does that amazingly well. It’s hard to compliment ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ enough, except calling it the album of 2010.

1. Dark Fantasy (4.40) – 3 STARS
2. Gorgeous ft. Kid Cudi & Raekwon (5.57) – 2 STARS
3. Power (4.52) – 3 STARS
4. All of the Lights (interlude) (1.02) – 4 STARS
5. All of the lights ft. Rihanna & Kid Cudi (4.59) – 5 STARS
6. Monster ft. Jay Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj & Bon Iver (6.18) – 4 STARS
7. So Appalled ft. Jay Z, Pusha T, Prynce Cy Hi, Swizz Beats & The RZA (6.38) – 3 STARS
8. Devil in a New Dress ft. Rick Ross (5.52) – 3 STARS
9. Runaway (9.08) – 4 STARS
10. Hell of a Life (5.27) – 4 STARS
11. Blame Game ft. John Legend (7.49) – 4 STARS
12. Lost in the World ft. Bon Iver (4.16) – 3 STARS
13. Who Will Survive in America (1.38) – 1 STAR

Community evaluation

This review was read 296 times and was rated at
88% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Absinthe_Fairy published 18/05/2011
    Really good review!
  • mattydalton published 25/03/2011
    I find I have to be in the mood for Kanye. Not heard any of his latest stuff though. Might check this out.
  • Wickedinrock published 20/03/2011
    Really liked the way you reviewed this :)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

Manufacturer's product description

1, 2 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 22/11/2010 - 602527578910, 602527544618

Product Details

EAN: 602527578910, 602527544618

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011