My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

Community images

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

1, 2 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 22/11/2010 - 602527578910, 602527544618

> Show product information

92% positive

5 reviews from the community

Review of "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West"

published 19/07/2011 | Ewormald
Member since : 22/06/2011
Reviews : 7
Members who trust : 2
About me :
Excellent
Pro An amazing return to form for Kanye West.
Cons Not long enough!
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Best of West"

Following his controversial antics concerning Taylor Swift at the 2009 MTV VMA's (Video Music Awards), West became somewhat of a human punching bag for members of the press and public alike. His egotistical personna had been digging his own showbiz grave for quite a while and with his last offering, 2008s 808's and Heartbreak, being met with lukewarm reviews from hip hop fans and critics, it seemed the world was all but ready to hammer the last nail into West's coffin and bury him in under the failed careers of rappers past. However just as the hammer was about to fall, West threw from his casket a silver disc that glimmered so brightly as to distract our attention as he fled from our clutches to rap another day. The disc in question, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, West's latest, and in my view greatest, studio album. Containing 12 full tracks of utter brilliance this is no doubt one of the most classic hip hop albums of the past review years, here is my track by track review.

Dark Fantasy
------------------------------
The first track of the album is essentially the title track, albeit in paraphrase. Produced by West himself along with Wu Tangs RZA among others, the song is a combination of intricate and clever verses by west coupled with a sample of In High Places by Mike Oldfield, an interesting but fitting choice which creates a layed back and chilled sound fitting with the albums mellow tone.

9/10 - The strongest opening track of any West album to date, a perfect way to open the album.

Gorgeous
-----------------------------
Following a great opener Goregeous, featuring singer/rapper Kid Cudi, raises the bar even higher. Over a melodic beat, reminiscent of late 60s vietnam soundtrack, West once again takes the helm as producer. Combining elements You Showed Me by Gene Clark and Roger Mcguinn, West, along with Cudi's short but poetic hook create fluent a linguistic song with themes of redemption and loyalty.

8/10 - An uplifting and strong collaboration with an interesting and unique sound.

Power
-----------------------------
The first single from the album is more up beat and club ready than the first two tracks, it is nevertheless a brilliant track and no doubt West's strongest single since Graduation's Stronger. Produced majoritively by S1, with some input from West, we launch straight into a tribal sounding beat mixed with medolic intermissions of chanting. West raps with venom in his voice as he attacks everything from former president Bush and the war on terror to Saturday Night Live.

9/10 - A perfect single choice and could very well become a club anthem in time.

All of the Lights
-----------------------------
Two singles in a row with All of the Lights, featuring rihanna, following Power of the line with and epic and emotional beat from, yet again, West himself. Definately one of the more mainstream offerings from the album, aiming more for fans of Rihanna, who more than holds her own between West's fast flowing verses with an enchanting and beautifully sung chorus.

7/10 - One of the weaker songs in terms of the album, but still better than anything West's previous album had to offer.

Monster
-----------------------------
Three singles now back to back as Kanye teams up with friend and mentor Jay-Z along with Rick ross, Nicki Minaj and interestingly Bon Iver to create the first posse joint of the album. I should probaly stop crediting Kanye as producer but yet again he takes to the studio to create a rather intense beat to which the four take turns to spit out their verse in an attempt to upstage their predecessor. For the most part it is hard to say who comes out on top, but Jay-Z certainly struggles to keep flow as his younger contemporaries rap circles around him.

6/10 - Still not a bad song but at times it becomes a bit cluttered and the differing styles of the artists make it struggle for a definative sound.

So Appalled
----------------------------
Back in business with another, and the strongest, posse cut from the album. Jay-Z returns once more with the likes of RZA, Swiz Beatz and Pusha-T to create an utterly immersive and emotional cut which in turn covers the themes of fame and the current declining state of the hiphop industry. This one really does speak for itself.

10/10 - Perfection in my opinion, everyone brings their A game and with no weak links this song is a flawless piece of art.

Devil in a new dress
----------------------------
Another layed back almost trance orientated piece, for once on this album, not produced by west but an unknown to me Bink. West raps in his more common swagger and bigging up style and eventually hands off to Rick Ross who, to be honest, in this one fails to fit his deep raspy voice in harmoniously with the smooth and melodic beat.

6/10 - A little tiresome in places and very little replay value.

Runaway
----------------------------
The final and best single from the album. Starting with the simple sound of a piano key sounding slowly, soon a flurry of sound erupts through your speakers creating a simply transfixing sound to the song. West demonstrates some of his keenest and well thought out word play from the album in his verses and delivers a catchy and rhythmic hook which only adds to cosmic tone of the piece.

9/10 - The best single without a doubt, West at his best.

Hell of a life
----------------------------
This is what i would consider a comedic track, and definately one of the more light hearted cuts from the album. Again over a West composed beat, containing obvious sampling of Sabbath's Ironman, he raps 'pussy and religon is all i need', even if he isn't always the greatest speaker, at least he's honest.

8/10 - Simple and fun, nothing spectacular but contains some memorable one liners.

Blame Game
-----------------------------
Another sad song about an unfaithful woman of West's past. Featuring John legend who sings an utterly heartwrenching chorus, this is definately the closest thing we get to a ballad from Kanye this time around. The song itself is not that long but their is an interesting skit involving Chris Rock that is worth a listen in the closing minutes of the track.

9/10 - Another well done emotional piece from a man said of having no heart (Subliminal: Taylor Swift Sucks ;P).

Lost in the World
-----------------------------
And finally the last full track of the album featuring once again Bon Iver. Sampling the latters song Woods, West create an enticing and beautiful final track. He raps smoothly yet frantically over Bon Iver's high pitched delivery, harmoniously creating an almost operetic sound.

9/10 - A great end to a great album.

One of the best Hiphop/ Rap albums i have heard in a very long time.

Community evaluation

This review was read 185 times and was rated at
90% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • christinat published 19/07/2011
    He may be egotistical but I think he's a lyrical genius. x
  • bilbobaginz123 published 19/07/2011
    Great review, E.
  • Revo9 published 19/07/2011
    Great review! well done
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West

Manufacturer's product description

1, 2 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 22/11/2010 - 602527578910, 602527544618

Product Details

EAN: 602527578910, 602527544618

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011