Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Community images

Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 50999...

> Show product information

87% positive

15 reviews from the community

Review of "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

published 09/11/2011 | D_i_a_n_e
Member since : 15/08/2009
Reviews : 311
Members who trust : 130
About me :
Super
Pro Well balanced tracks, catchy rhythm and oozing vocals
Cons Major Minus
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"MY LOXY LOTO"

The band - Coldplay

The band - Coldplay

The other day while driving to work I heard an interview with a band on my favourite radio. I didn’t know who they are as I haven’t heard them from the very beginning but they were very cool guys. As the interview went on, it became obvious… You got it, they were the Coldplay.

The band


Coldplay is a British alternative rock band. Although the lead guitarist and vocalist have started a band earlier, the current formation of Coldplay dates back to 1998.

So the members are:

Chris Martin – lead vocalist
Jonny Buckland – lead guitarist
Guy Berryman – bassist
Will Champion – drummer, backing vocalist, multi-instrumentalist

The band has just released its fifth studio album, they had several awards for the previous ones, so they might have some more in their collection soon. If you would like to know more about them and their performances check their official website at coldplay.com

Mylo Xyloto

It is a strange title for a new album, especially as it has no meaning at all. When I listened to Coldplay lads on the radio they told they have even googled it to be sure it has no meaning. Originally the band planned to release the album in December 2010 as an end of decade album but they decided to work more on it, so was released only on 24th October 2011. It is a concept album about Mylo and Xyloto’s love story which has a happy ending??? Shall I spoil it?

The band released two singles: Every Teardrop is a Waterfall was released in June and Paradise was released in September.

Tracklist

Mylo Xyloto is an instrumental intro of 42 seconds and the rhythm of it is becoming faster and faster as it develops. It can be hardly separated from the second track, Hurts Like Heaven which kick starts from where the intro ended and is a cheerful track. Chris’s vocals are fantastic, overall a great opener for the album. Paradise is my favourite track from this album, it is simply beautiful, anthemic. The vocals are amazing and also the instruments are in such a harmony, worth a listen even if you are not a fan of Coldplay.

Charlie Brown is a bit different from the previous tracks, after a slow intro the drums kick in and your feet start to move, get out of your control. This track grew on me, it wasn’t love for the first listening but its rhythm is just amazing and highlights Chris’s fantastic voice. The track itself has its up and downs, a good one. Us Against the World is a ballad, the vocals are followed by guitar and occasionally other instruments join in, it is a simple and melancholic track. I reckon your judgement about this track highly depends on your mood.

M.M.I.X. is a 48 second intro to the second part of the album. It is instrumental just like the first one, but this one slows down by the end so it links to the Every Teardrop is a Waterfall track which was the first single released from this album. It is a feet moving track as well and the oozing vocals are just amazing, not to mention its ending when the percussions take over the lead. Major Minus is the weakest track in my books. This track just couldn’t grow on me.
U.F.O. is a slow ballad again, the amazing vocals of Chris are followed by a guitar and the other instruments stay in the background, giving maximum dominance to the vocals. It’s a nice ballad, very catchy.

Princess of China features Rihanna, I expected more oriental effects in the track but there aren’t. The vocals of Chris and Rihanna work very well together and finally the concept of the album becomes more evident. Up in Flames is a moody ballad, one of my favourites from this album, a very smooth track with a sudden end.

A Hopeful Transmission is the instrumental intro to the third part of the album, it is very cheerful and promising. Don’t Let It Break Your Heart kicks in and you can’t control your feet again. It is a cheerful track with stressful percussion and oozing vocals, definitely one of the best tracks for me.

Up With the Birds is a slow ballad to close the album. Chris’s vocal is amazing, really catching.

My opinion about the album

I liked the idea to cut the album to 3 parts and introduce all of them with a short instrumental intro. The faster tracks have such a catchy percussion base that I could hardly control my feet. The slower tracks highlighted Chris’s amazing vocals. The album balances well with slower and faster tracks. There are 14 tracks on it actually but as the 3 intros are really short I would say 11 only. When I heard Paradise on the radio I knew I have to put my hands on this album and I can say it was worth waiting for an extra 10 months for it. Highly recommended for everyone who likes rock music in general.

This album grew on me and apart from one track I like all the others, I think it is an original one. Curious how the next one will be...

Available in CD, vinyl and mp3 formats. Amazon sells the CD for 8 pounds which is a very good value I think.


Community evaluation

This review was read 1902 times and was rated at
74% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • anwar published 18/12/2011
    E ! Ann
  • supersonic75 published 05/12/2011
    E x
  • RICHADA published 18/11/2011
    Adrianna loves this one, sorry to say that it leaves me a bit cold, a very good review here - great to see you back and sorry I didn't get to read it rather sooner! R. xxx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Manufacturer's product description

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Product Details

EAN: 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 08/12/2011