Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Community images

Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 50999...

> Show product information

87% positive

15 reviews from the community

Review of "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

published 10/11/2011 | lorrainek90
Member since : 17/04/2009
Reviews : 493
Members who trust : 39
About me :
Decided after a well deserved break, to come back to writing for a while! Great to catch up with everyone!
Super
Pro great lyrics, amazing harmonies
Cons none for me
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Mylo Xloto- another great album by Coldplay!"

Band History
Coldplay are a alternative rock band that started formed in 1996 and released their first full studio album ‘Parachutes’ in the year 2000 since then they have continued to be successful and well received by music lovers. Some of Coldplay’s more popular songs include, Viva La Vida, Yellow, Fix You and The Scientist. Coldplay have recently released their fifth studio album Mylo Xyloto. Band members include lead singer Chris Martin, lead guitarist Jonny Buckland, bassit Guy Berryman and drummer Will Champion

Mylo Xyloto
Mylo Xyloto was released on 24th October 2011 and is currently Radio 1’s number two album for the week (10/11/11). This album gets its name as it tells the love story of Mylo and Xyloto with a happy ending, this is how the album gets its name, and was announced by the bands lead singer Chris Martin.

Track listing
The following is a track listing for this album including a little description and my views on my favourite tracks.
1.Mylo Xyloto
This track is a quick 44 second instrumental into in to the album that leads perfectly into Hurts like Heaven.

2. Hurts Like Heaven
This song is quick paced and has a great beat to it. This song is about people trying to break up or stop a relationship, and not allowing this to happen. I really like this song and think that it is a great start to the album.

3. Paradise
Paradise is a really beautiful song with a really upbeat feeling to it. You can hear orchestra and piano tones the background music on this track however it also has a really modern ‘soft rock’ kind of feel to it. This song is about a girl who doesn’t get a good deal in life and dreams about a better life, this song builds and becomes more powerful from the start to the finish, I think that this adds to the effectiveness of the story. This song was released as a single on 24th October 2011.

4. Charlie Brown
This is a slower paced song than the previous songs on the album however it still has the ‘epic’ feel to it that his present in most Coldplay songs. This wouldn’t be my favourite song however, it does continue the love story of Mylo and Xyloto giving it a purpose on the album.

5. Us Against the World
This is another slow paced song, it is a much more simple song that is more focused on the singer and with less activity from instruments. This song is about wanting to run away with the person you love and start a whole new life. This song starts off quiet and the sound slowly builds until the end where it again goes quiet. I love the lyrics in this song ‘Through chaos as it swirls, it’s us against the world’.

6. M.M.I.X.
This is a short instrumental song that connects Us Against the World to Every Teardrop is a Waterfall.

7. Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall
Every Teardrop is a Waterfall is another one of my favourites off this album, it is a more upbeat song and would really get you into the mood to go out and party. This is a faster paced song and was the first song released off this album.

8. Major Minus
This song is OK on the album, it isn’t bad but it isn’t great either, I think this song is suppose to be about Mylo and Xloto’s gang not wanting them to be together and watching them to make sure they stay apart, I came to this conclusion because of the lyrics ‘They got one eye on what you knew And one eye on what you do So be careful who it is you're talking to’.

9. U.F.O.
This is another slower and beautiful song, the vocals on this song are amazing, although this song is only 2 minutes long it really leaves an impression and keeps in well with the ‘love story’ mood on this album.

10. Princess of China (featuring Rihanna)
I think that this is the best track on the album, it features Rihanna who is one of my favourite artists at the moment. This song is tells the story of Mylo and Xloto having troubles in their relationship (without giving too much away about their love story). It is a really powerful song and Rihanna and Coldplays lead singer Chris Martin’s voices really complement each other.

11. Up in Flames
This song is another great ballad with great vocals from Chris Martin, it has a more slow and simple feel to it and continues in the theme of the album. I really love this track, it has a real emotional feel to it and is really easy listening.

12. A Hopeful Transmission
This is another short instrumental type song on the album, it lasts around a minute and a half and sets the mood to connect Up in Flames to Don’t Let it Break Your Heart.

13. Don't Let It Break Your Heart
This is another slow and meaning full yet upbeat track that has a really powerful feeling to it, it continues to tell the story of Mylo and Xloto, without giving too much away it gives you the feeling that things may change in the path of their relationship.

14. Up with the Birds
Up with the Birds is the final song on this album, it’s a really beautiful song that concludes the love story between Mylo and Xloto, this song is full quite and has a really epic feel to it, it starts off slow it gets faster and there is a lovely guitar solo within it, then nearer the end it becomes slower and finished off the album perfectly.

Personal Opinion
As a Coldplay fan this album delivered everything I expected and more, I loved this album from start to finish and am so glad I decided to go buy it. I think that this is some of Coldplays best work in my opinion, there is a good mix of fast upbeat songs and slower ballad style song. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who is a fan of Coldplay or if you are just looking for some nice easy listening rock. I can’t wait to add this to my iPod.

Availability
This album can be bought at all good CD retailers for example HMV, Tesco, Asda or you could buy it online, for around £10, I bought mine in Tesco for £8.99 which is a great price for such a good album.

Community evaluation

This review was read 587 times and was rated at
75% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • ithoughtyoudneverask published 11/11/2011
    I'm really not a Coldplay fan. Nice review though.
  • lorrainek90 published 10/11/2011
    I have done abit of formatting :) thanks for the feedback though, it was helpful
  • Luvlylana published 10/11/2011
    Your review could do with a bit of formatting to make it easier to read, using two = symbols will make your titles bold xxx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Manufacturer's product description

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Product Details

EAN: 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 08/12/2011