Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Community images

Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 50999...

> Show product information

87% positive

15 reviews from the community

Review of "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

published 21/11/2011 | tj_tennis
Member since : 24/08/2010
Reviews : 44
Members who trust : 0
About me :
I'm Tom I'm a self-employed tennis coach, I Like Sport- tennis + football, films, TV and a variety of music.
Excellent
Pro No poor or average songs
Cons None
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"They just don't make bad music"

Coldplay have been around for sometime now so they have built a vast amount of fans. This means even if I reviewed this album was poorly, most hardcore fans would still go out and buy it.

Anyway, I'll tell you what I think...

SUPERB

The Title 'Mylo Xyloto' (pronounced "my-low-zy-ly-o-tow") is as peculiar as the band's other 4 album titles but the contents is as strong as them too. There are 14 tracks in total including the singles 'Every Tear Drop Is A Waterfall' and 'Paradise'.

Prior to this album, my personal favourite was X&Y as this was the first album I actually bought of theirs before then downloading their previous 2, 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' and 'Parachutes'. 'Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends' in my opinion was slightly weaker than the other 3 so I was hoping that they would release a fifth studio album and thankfully my wish was granted. 'Mylo Xyloto' is superb and for me, it is not far off being as good as 'X&Y'.
1) Mylo Xyloto

The first track on the album is an instrumental piece which fades into the next track. Its fairly upbeat and is a good warm-up for the rest of the album.

Duration: 43 seconds
7/10
2) Hurts Like Heaven

This is a brilliant song. I have no doubt this will be their next single release. The track is a typical chirpy Coldplay song featuring Chris Martin's unique vocals which brings like always an energy to the song.

Duration: 4 minutes 2 seconds
9/10
3) Paradise

Paradise is a great track that has a similar quick tempo with a gentle guitar riff and piano backing. The vocals are quite high pitched and it sort of does make you think of a tropical island in a weird kind of way.

Duration: 4 minutes 38 seconds
8/10
4) Charlie Brown

This track maintains the up-tempo style but has a piano melody and features a vocal riff that creates a magical atmosphere within the song. The track slows down to finish which is carried into the next track.

Duration: 4 minutes 45 seconds
8/10
5) Us Against The World

This is a calmer song that is centred around the vocals rather than the instrumentals for the first time in the album. Its a softer and slightly more depressing track but, this is Coldplay so there was always going to be a few.

Duration: 4 minutes
7/10
6) M.M.I.X

This is another instrumental piece, this one slightly more mystical and leads to their massive festival hit...

Duration: 49 seconds
6/10
7) Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall

When Coldplay released this as an EP back in July, it got a huge response as it was their first track for sometime and with them headlining the most renowned festival in the World, Glastonbury, they had to make it fit the festival vibe and for me it is up their with the best festival anthems.

Duration: 4 minutes 1 second
9/10
8) Major Minus

This track maintains the quality of the album with a moderately upbeat guitar riff and Martin's vocals that are balanced perfectly with moments of instrumental solos.

Duration: 3 minutes 30 seconds
8/10
9) U.F.O

U.F.O is a much softer track consisting of a guitar and Martin's voice. Its a nice break from the rest of the album and seems to be more emotional than the rest.

Duration: 2 minutes 18 seconds
7/10
10) Princess Of China

When I first listened to this track I was completely surprised to hear a female vocal. This is the first track coldplay have had featuring another artist. The lucky woman who manged to get herself on a coldplay track is the R&B superstar Rihanna. I instantly recognised her voice and her voice not only works with the melody but also with Martin's voice as well.

Duration: 3 minutes 59 seconds
8/10
11) Up In Flames

This is a slow smooth track that once again is more concerned with the Martin's vocals than the instrumental melody.

Duration: 3 minutes 13 seconds
7/10
12) A Hopeful Transmission

This is another short instrumental piece that is very similar to the other two and once again fades into the following track.

Duration: 33 seconds
7/10
13) Don't Let it Break Your Heart

This is a quick paced song that is uplifting and has a similar melody to 'Hurts Like Heaven'. However, it slows down towards the end to fade into the next and final track.

Duration: 3 minutes 54 seconds
7/10
14) Up with the Birds

At first I didn't like the track but it has grown on me as I've continued to listen to it. It starts off very slow and plain but then a guitar riff kicks in and its a very summery sort of track and definitely makes you feel up with the birds.

Duration: 3 minutes 48 seconds
7/10


If you were only allowed to buy one album this year then 'Mylo Xyloto' should definitely be the one. It's a superb album and shows just how consistent bands can be if they work hard at making every track great.

P.S. CANNOT WAIT TO SEE THEM IN JUNE AT THE EMIRATES STADIUM !!!

Community evaluation

This review was read 481 times and was rated at
85% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • DonPaolo published 21/11/2011
    Sounds worth a look!
  • Secre published 21/11/2011
    A good start but you could do with more opinion about the album as a whole or even about the tracks. Currently this looks like a long list of tracks with a phrase of explanation which could be found anywhere. Lissy
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Mylo Xyloto - Coldplay

Manufacturer's product description

Alternative - StudioRecording - 2, 1 CD(s) - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 19/12/2011, 24/10/2011 - 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Product Details

EAN: 5099972972625, 5099908755322

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 08/12/2011