Nastradamus - Nas

Community images

Nastradamus - Nas

1 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Columbia - Distributor: F-Minor; Sony Music/Arvato Services, F-Minor - Released: 10/12/2001 - 5099749531222

> Show product information

75% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Nastradamus - Nas"

published 23/11/2008 | XICripZ
Member since : 25/06/2007
Reviews : 1338
Members who trust : 113
About me :
In it for the money.
Good
Pro A few big singles
Cons Generally weaker than previous albums
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Now He Is Nastradamus"

The fourth album from Nas, entitled "Nastradamus" came as the second offering from the New York rapper in 1999. "I Am..." was originally planned to be a double album, so the issues of rushing this aren't really relavent, as he had time after " I Am.." to brush up on material which he was already planning to bring out a few months earlier.

1. "The Prediction" (Outro)

2. "Life We Chose"

You are made to think with this one, as with lots of Nas' conscious trakcs of the time, and on it he raps about how messed up life is as it is dominated by capitalism, and very few are able to see past any of this, making for a world filled with hatred.

**Three Stars**

3. "Nastradamus"

For me, the is one of the best tracks which Nas recorded, and for once it has nothing got do with his lyrical talent. For this one you have him flow on some of the best beats I have ever heard. It is produced L.E.S., and he absolutely kills with his J.B.'s sample. On it Nas raps about his journey as he has changed names so many times and has reinvented himself as many different people for each album.

**Five Stars**

4. "Some of Us Have Angels"

On this one you have Nas continuing the themes of the track which came just prior to it as he talks about the degree to which people have certian desires and how this is dictated by the demons or angles within us. To me, although it was thought-provoking, has no rela point, and has little use on the album.

**Three Stars**

5. "Project Window"

I see this one as quite a thoughtful one, as you have at all set whislt staring out the window of a project. When put into this context of looking out onto the hopelessness of an impoverish environment, you are forced to think of how people trapped within the system aren't able to find inspiration, even when they look out the windows.

**Four Stars**

6. "Come Get Me"

As soon as this one came on I knew that it was produced by DJ Premier, as Primo's lively composition adds life to this album. however I found that although he was given the perfect foundations for a hit East Coast banger, it wasn't build on in the correct way.

**Three Stars**

7. "Shoot 'Em Up"

Nas takes off a 2Pac-made phrase made on "Me Against the World" as he is relentless with his rhymes. He does so by performing a mindless Gangsta Rap track, where he talks about just going all-out and murdering without any conscious thought of the consequences.

**Four Stars**

8. "Last Words"

The Millennium Thug, Nashawn perfroms with Nas on this one and I found that this one wasn't really working. I think that the collaboration may be part of the reason, but the beats from L.E.S., who is usually quite consistent wasn't that exciting, despite the fact its all built on drum rolls.

**Three Stars**

9. "Family"

You have another collab on this one as Nas gets Mobb Deep in as guest rappers to do their thing along with him. For me, the input from Havoc and Prodigy wasn't doing much for me, as I've never been into them, and they have little to offer to the "Nastradamus" record. I just wasn't feeling it, and I couldn't really pick up on many things I enjoyed hearing within it.

**Two Stars**

10. "God Loves Us"

Nas gets all religious on this one, but I felt as though I could feel for what he was saying as he gave sufficient evidnece to show that something is out there protecting those trppaed within the system, as it seems to be so limited in its potential for future freedom.

**Three Stars**

11. "Quiet N****s"

As it is often said, the quiet ones are always the ones to look out for, and Nas reinforces this statement with this track by saying the its always the ones wo say little who are the ones who act, and all the loud-mouth people tend to receive the actions which are carried out.

12. "Big Girls"

L.E.S. does the beats on this one and I found that he inspired Nas to make significant changes in his approach to rapping as he gets into some speedy raps, something which he doesn't do too often, and he seemed to struggle to work to this high pace, but acted as a nice change.

**Three Stars**

13. "New World"

You are given an inspiring track here, and it marks the point when the album begins to draw to a close. I foun that the L.E.S. production was quite predictable at this point, and offers little in the way of potential for variety, which is a problem felt throughout the album.

14. "You Owe Me"

This one is a funky one and is produced by the big dog Timbaland, and he comes with something radio-friendly, and this backing gives enough room to fit in the smooth-operating R&B star, Ginuwine, who does the singing for the chorus.

15. "The Outcome" (Outro)

For me, this was a a rather weak album for Nas, and one which has been known for a lack in quality. Some may its down to problems which were outlined earlier, but it may just be one of those inevitbale dips in quality which everyone goes through at some point. Looking at "Stillmatic", it didn't last too long.

Community evaluation

This review was read 551 times and was rated at
95% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • DJ_primo published 06/06/2009
    I'd rate this awful ''''Nastradamus'''' album no more than 2 stars and the chorus that Nas delivers on disastrous tracks like '''Big Girl''', '''Nastradamus''', '''Shoot 'Em Up''' are just dreadful! Respect ---- DJ_primo
  • blackmagicstar4 published 24/11/2008
    Nice review :0) x
  • redeyes22 published 23/11/2008
    great review aggy
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Nastradamus - Nas"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Nastradamus - Nas

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Columbia - Distributor: F-Minor; Sony Music/Arvato Services, F-Minor - Released: 10/12/2001 - 5099749531222

Product Details

EAN: 5099749531222

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011