Need You Now - Lady Antebellum

Community images

Need You Now - Lady Antebellum

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Country - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 03/05/2010 - 5099963364125

> Show product information

87% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Need You Now - Lady Antebellum"

published 08/09/2010 | Spottydog11
Member since : 07/09/2007
Reviews : 1977
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Great songs
Cons None
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Need you Now"

I am a big country fan and I recently stumbled across the group Lady Antebellum. The best way to listen to country in my opinion is driving across the America desert in a massive car with the stereo blaring and this is how I listened to this album for hours on end this summer.

Apparently they have been around since 2006 and the album that I thought was their first is actually their second. According to an article I read, they were formed in Nashville, Tennessee where a lot of the great country singers come from. The trio is composed of Charles Kelley (lead and background vocals), Dave Haywood (background vocals, guitar, piano, mandolin) and Hillary Scott (lead and background vocals).

What really attracted me to this band to being with was Hillary's amazing voice, she has a really smooth deep sound to her voice that really works well in harmony with the other band members. She has a real country twang to her voice too and they sound really authentic but I think offer something new in the country scene.

Their second album, Need You Now, was released on January 26, 2010 and it debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 with 481,000 copies sold in its first week. It has been certified double-platinum by the RIAA. The album begins with the title song, Need You Now which talks about a break up but two people still thinking about each other and wanting each other. It has a great strong lyric, "it's a quarter after 1" as the lead in to the chorus and this sticks in your mind when you hear the song.

The album has a really nice mix of fast, toe-tapping country songs as well as more slow love songs too. America Honey was just released as their third single from the album and refers to a girl growing up and that she is the American honey. Track number 9, "If I knew then," is a really beautiful love song with some really touching words, about how love only comes once in a while and that you should hold onto it and treat it special.

They have done really well in the awards category too and I can definitely see why. According to an article I read, they were awarded Top New Duo or Group in 2009 by the Academy of Country Music and New Artist of the Year in 2008 by the Country Music Association. They were nominated for two Grammy Awards at the 2009 51st Grammy Awards; and two more at the 2010 52nd Grammy Awards.Of these nominations, they took home the award for Best Country Performance by Duo or Group with Vocals for "I Run to You". More recently on April 18, 2010, the group was awarded Top Vocal Group, Song of the Year ("Need You Now"), and Single of the Year ("Need You Now") at the 45th ACM Awards.

The word Antebellum means before the war and I was a bit confused as to why they chose this name for their band but apparently it has nothing to do with that. Actually, the name Antebellum comes from when the group were photographing "antebellum" homes. The antebellum architectural style describes the large plantation homes in the American South. While photographing the houses one of the group said that there's a great band name in there, and they adopted the Lady Antebellum name shortly after.

To me, there are no weak links on this album, all the songs are great. The rest of the tracks on the album are as follows:

1. "Need You Now"

2. "Our Kind of Love"

3. "American Honey"

4. "Hello World"

5. "Perfect Day"

6. "Love This Pain"

7. "When You Got a Good Thing"

8. "Stars Tonight"

9. "If I Knew Then"
10. "Something 'Bout a Woman"

11. "Ready to Love Again"

Community evaluation

This review was read 620 times and was rated at
61% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • MEL0611 published 09/09/2010
    Great read x
  • fizzytom published 09/09/2010
    Sorry if rating seems harsh, there's some interesting detail in here but you barely give an appraisal of the songs
  • pixie65 published 08/09/2010
    Sounds really good - very well reviewed x hev
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Need You Now - Lady Antebellum"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Need You Now - Lady Antebellum

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Country - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 03/05/2010 - 5099963364125

Product Details

EAN: 5099963364125

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 23/05/2010