Nokia 1100

Community images

Nokia 1100

The Nokia 1100 phone lets you conduct business in confidence and style - in the shop or on the move, during the mid-morning rush or at midnight. New f...

> Show product information

85% positive

49 reviews from the community

Review of "Nokia 1100"

published 11/06/2004 | Highguy18
Member since : 17/05/2004
Reviews : 13
Members who trust : 2
About me :
Excellent
Pro Small, Lightweight, inbuilt torch, Nokia Brand name
Cons Quite basic for "today's" phones
helpful
Look & Feel
Durability & Robustness
Battery standby time
Battery talktime
Value for money

"Nokia's "Sim-free" Phone"

The story goes -
my first phone was a trium geo, very basic phone for nowadays but it always worked and i always liked it, next i upgraded to a Nokia 3310 and again was impressed by its quality, unfortunatly this phone was stood on by moi and so ceased to work anymore.
i then decided i quite liked the look of the sony ericson T68i. i wont go into detail on this phone but the main function, calling and texting, worked only 50% of the time so after a lot of phone calls i managed to get my phone changed to a Nokia 3330 and again found it to be good quality quite hard wearing phone. until that was quite recently when my girlfriend decided to drop it in the ocean. it didn't work after that.

So then i was stuck with the problem of what phone to buy, i had a sim card so was looking for something sim-free on a students budget.

i had a choice of 3 phones, one of which was the new Nokia so i decided i needed quality over quantity (so to speak) and purchansed the Nokia.

After just 2 days of having this phone i was very impressed with it, it has a good battery life, a built in torch which has been very useful, pretty much all the features of a 3310 in a smaller nicer looking case. it feels nice in your hand and the keys are a nicer spongey feel than the clickey ones in the 3310.

One of the differances i have noticed though is it has a different type of SMS delivery report, instead of the usual text in your inbox saying Delivered Bob or whoever, you just get a message on screen telling you it has been delivered, and no text.
i am undecided on whether i like this at the moment, on one side i think i could miss the report on screen and not know whether it has been delivered or not, but on the other hand i used to get really annoyed with delivery reports filling my inbox and constantly having to delete them to be able to receive any more texts. so ill leave that one for you to decide on.

this phone only has 2 built in games which are updated versions of snake two (now a campaign mode) and space impact plus, with extra levels

also the battery life on this phone seems to be a lot longer despite the fact the battery is smaller, i have had the phone on for two days straight without recharging, in this time ive called approximately 6 people, sent 10 texts and used the torch, and out of 7 bars it has 5 left.

the one fault ive found with this phone is it sometimes takes a few minutes to register that you have signal (unless you switch it off and on) but this has not always happened and is easy enough to solve

i bought this phone for £59.99 at carphone warehouse and it has a 12 month guarentee on it.

if anyone has any quesions regarding the phone dont hesistate to contact me

Gregg

Community evaluation

This review was read 2758 times and was rated at
50% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • dempsey_review published 13/01/2006
    can't go wrong with a phone for £59.99, great review, dempsey :-)
  • thespurs published 22/06/2004
    very nice review. not something i would go for. check out my mobile phone reviews please and see what you think
  • cbzcbz published 11/06/2004
    Good helpful review, with all info thats needed. Well done :-)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Nokia 1100

Manufacturer's product description

The Nokia 1100 phone lets you conduct business in confidence and style - in the shop or on the move, during the mid-morning rush or at midnight. New features like the long-lasting battery and a durable design help you work even smarter. The Nokia 1100 phone has been designed as a reliable, affordable communications tool that helps you work smarter. Useful messaging features - like a distribution list, selectable font size, and predictive text input in a variety of new languages - help you conduct your business efficiently. Intelligent details like anti-slip sides, a silicon keymat, and even a flashlight are housed in a traditionally stylish Nokia design. Reminders, a built-in alarm, vibration alert, and a new, long-lasting battery help you to stay in touch 24 hours a day.

Product Details

Product Description: Nokia 1100 - GSM - mobile phone, Nokia 1100 - jet black - GSM - mobile phone

Product Type: Mobile phone

Service Provider: Not specified

Form Factor: Bar

Dimensions (WxDxH): 46 mm x 20 mm x 106 mm

Weight: 86 g

Technology: GSM

Band: EGSM 900 / GSM 1800 (Dual Band)

Display: LCD display - monochrome

Talk Time: Up to 270 minutes

Standby Time: Up to 400 hours

Colour: Jet black

General

MPN: 1100, 828140, 0079846

Product Type: Mobile phone

Form Factor: Bar

Aerial: Internal

Width: 46 mm

Depth: 20 mm

Height: 106 mm

Weight: 86 g

Available Body Colours: Blue, grey, black

Body Colour: Jet black

Cellular

Technology: GSM

Band: EGSM 900 / GSM 1800 (Dual Band)

Service Provider: Not specified

Installed Games: Snake II, Space Impact

Installed Game Qty: 2

Messaging & Internet

Cellular Messaging Services: Nokia Smart Messaging, SMS

Supported SMS Functions: SMS Chat, Picture Messages, concatenated SMS

Phone Features

Phone Functions: Call timer, conference call, vibrating alert

Ring Tones: 35

Additional Features: Intelligent Typing (T9), flash light, melody composer

Organiser

Personal Information Management: Calculator, reminder, countdown timer, currency conversion, alarm clock

SIM Card Based Directory: 250 names & numbers

Phone Book Entries Qty: 50

Security Features

Phone Lock: Yes

Keypad Lock: Yes

SIM Card Lock: Yes

Restrict Access to Phone Book: Yes

Display

Type: LCD display - monochrome

Line Qty: 4

Display Resolution: 96 x 65 pixels

Display Indicators: SMS indicator, digital clock, missed calls indicator, alarm clock indicator, signal strength, voice message waiting, keypad lock, battery meter

Multi-language Menu: Yes

Features: Screen saver

Connections

Connector Type: Headset jack

Battery

Technology: Lithium Ion

Capacity: 850 mAh

Run Time Details: Talk - up to 270 min ¦ Standby - up to 400 hrs

Miscellaneous

Included Accessories: Power adapter

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 23/11/2003

Nokia 1100 - Review - Nokia's "Sim-free" Phone

Highguy18 5

Highguy18

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:17.05.2004

Reviews:13

Members who trust:2

Quote-start

Nokia's "Sim-free" Phone

Quote-end
11.06.2004

Advantages:
Small, Lightweight, inbuilt torch, Nokia Brand name

Disadvantages:
Quite basic for "today's" phones

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Look & Feel

Durability & Robustness

Battery standby time

Value for money

Range of features

Battery talktimeExcellent

Camera Quality

9 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (50%):
  1. simo7uk
  2. dempsey_review
  3. tottenham123
and 6 other members
helpful by (44%):
  1. lizawithaz
  2. the_mad_cabbie
  3. supersexycoolchick
and 5 other members
somewhat helpful by (6%):
  1. chazzero

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

The story goes -
my first phone was a trium geo, very basic phone for nowadays but it always worked and i always liked it, next i upgraded to a Nokia 3310 and again was impressed by its quality, unfortunatly this phone was stood on by moi and so ceased to work anymore.
i then decided i quite liked the look of the sony ericson T68i. i wont go into detail on this phone but the main function, calling and texting, worked only 50% of the time so after a lot of phone calls i managed to get my phone changed to a Nokia 3330 and again found it to be good quality quite hard wearing phone. until that was quite recently when my girlfriend decided to drop it in the ocean. it didn't work after that.

So then i was stuck with the problem of what phone to buy, i had a sim card so was looking for something sim-free on a students budget.

i had a choice of 3 phones, one of which was the new Nokia so i decided i needed quality over quantity (so to speak) and purchansed the Nokia.

After just 2 days of having this phone i was very impressed with it, it has a good battery life, a built in torch which has been very useful, pretty much all the features of a 3310 in a smaller nicer looking case. it feels nice in your hand and the keys are a nicer spongey feel than the clickey ones in the 3310.

One of the differances i have noticed though is it has a different type of SMS delivery report, instead of the usual text in your inbox saying Delivered Bob or whoever, you just get a message on screen telling you it has been delivered, and no text.
i am undecided on whether i like this at the moment, on one side i think i could miss the report on screen and not know whether it has been delivered or not, but on the other hand i used to get really annoyed with delivery reports filling my inbox and constantly having to delete them to be able to receive any more texts. so ill leave that one for you to decide on.

this phone only has 2 built in games which are updated versions of snake two (now a campaign mode) and space impact plus, with extra levels

also the battery life on this phone seems to be a lot longer despite the fact the battery is smaller, i have had the phone on for two days straight without recharging, in this time ive called approximately 6 people, sent 10 texts and used the torch, and out of 7 bars it has 5 left.

the one fault ive found with this phone is it sometimes takes a few minutes to register that you have signal (unless you switch it off and on) but this has not always happened and is easy enough to solve

i bought this phone for 59.99 at carphone warehouse and it has a 12 month guarentee on it.

if anyone has any quesions regarding the phone dont hesistate to contact me

Gregg

  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

dempsey_review 13.01.2006 02:07

can't go wrong with a phone for 59.99, great review, dempsey :-)

thespurs 22.06.2004 02:02

very nice review. not something i would go for. check out my mobile phone reviews please and see what you think

cbzcbz 11.06.2004 12:36

Good helpful review, with all info thats needed. Well done :-)

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Similar offers for Nokia 1100 »

1 to 1 out of 1 similar offers for Nokia 1100
Duracell Nokia 1100 Battery

Duracell Nokia 1100 Battery

Smartphone Battery 3.7V 1100mAh. High Quality Duracell replacement Nokia BL-5C & BL-5CB ... more

Mobile Phone battery. This Battery is manufactured
to the highest possible standards as you would
expect from a trusted brand like Duracell.
Duracell Smartphone batteries are manufactured
using high quality battery cells. Lithium ion
technology delivers premium performance for your
Smartphone. Whatever your power needs, it will
last longer with Duracell.

 Visit Shop  >
Duracelldirect.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  01-02 Days

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

The Nokia 1100 phone lets you conduct business in confidence and style - in the shop or on the move, during the mid...

General

MPN 1100, 828140, 0079846
Product Type Mobile phone
Form Factor Bar

Cellular

Technology GSM
Band EGSM 900 / GSM 1800 (Dual Band)
Service Provider Not specified

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Nokia 1100 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (50%):

  1. simo7uk
  2. dempsey_review
  3. tottenham123

and 6 other members

"somewhat helpful" by (6%):

  1. chazzero

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Nokia 1100? Click here