Nokia N95

Community images

Nokia N95

It's GPS. It's a photo studio. It's a mobile disco. It's the World Wide Web. It's anything you want it to be. Explore the Internet with 3.5G ease. Nav...

> Show product information

87% positive

371 reviews from the community

Review of "Nokia N95"

published 27/03/2008 | noshaba_786
Member since : 04/01/2006
Reviews : 33
Members who trust : 11
About me :
Excellent
Pro Excellent services
Cons Large in size
very helpful
Look & Feel
Durability & Robustness
Battery standby time
Battery talktime
Value for money

"The Nokia N95"

The beginning:

I bought the nokia N95 when it came newly on the market. It was brought through a contract with o2 after I closed my sim only contract where I payed £25 a month (I think). o2 rang me and asked me if I wanted an upgrade and truthfully I was looking to buy a new phone as I originally had a nokia 6600, which as you may well know is nearly the size of a brick (although the nokia n95 isn't really any smaller). Anyway the o2 supervisor asked me which type of contract I wanted which got sorted but I wanted the 'newest phone out' which at that time was the nokia N95. When the o2 supervisor mentioned it had a navigation system, I thought 'I'll have that please' so agreed to buy it on contract. I didn't know which colours they had and which colour I was going to get but I came to have the plum colour one, which I preferred in comparison to the 'brownie' coloured one. I have much more memory space in this phone and a great video recording time length. I can also save much more messages on this phone and do loads more now than I could do with my nokia 6600 (which I will explain later). I am really happy that I have bought this phone as it is one good decision I have made in my life. it is so handy and you can practically do anything from finding out how to get somewhere, checking your emails or video calling etc etc etc. the phone itself is very strong (as all nokia phones are) as I have found that although it is a slide phone I have dropped it a couple of times and apart from minor scratches it is perfectly fine. I know I will go a long way with it.

The technical stuff:

For all technical details regarding the shape and services of the Nokia N95 followed by the specifications and accessories visit :
http://www.nokia.co.uk/A4275003

My Personal View:

Advantages:

The phone itself is very stylish slide phone. Although arguably large in size, it is worth it in regards to the features and services it provides. There are buttons and fidgety things on every side of the phone which means the phone itself is used productively. The main buttons are stylish and sliver in colour on a silver background. Also the number buttons are large in width which makes them easy to use when dialling numbers or for texting purposes. On the back the camera has a close/open lens cover, which is easy to use as it has its own grip. This protects the lens and provides the function to take your own photos or just use the front camera as a mirror. (highly useful).

When I first messed around with the phone I was really fascinated with the diverse services available for me to use. Although the navigation system was what persuaded me to buy it, I don't really use the service often. Apart from that I find every service that I do use to be much more comfortable and easy to explore than my Nokia 6600 and any other phone I have knowledge about. As the famous camera has 5-mega pixel, I know that the photo quality is beyond impressive. The editing service on the camera allows for the image to be cropped, clip art to be added, frames etc. A really good feature to lighten up pictures. Also the print out is really good of the photos - digital camera results!!

Furthermore the messaging service is easy to use especially due to the way I can click my fingers on the buttons. The navigation system can be easily used with buttons arrowed up/down/left and right, placed in the middle of the phone. The snake game, which I go on regularly, is very much addictive and enjoyable. It s well worth it if you are a game lover. There is much more animation to the snake game than any other nokia snake game I have played.

The contacts list is smart to use as even though you have a name and a surname, when you search e.g. 'f', the results will come up with all names AND surnames beginning with 'f', which is fab especially when you cant remember how you stored a certain persons number. The call waiting service is highly useful as the mobile bleeps when another person is calling AND shows who the other caller is (if stored in the contacts obviously). Another feature which makes me entirely dependent on this phone. The video quality is superb allowing high lengths of videos (approximately half an hour each video) class for making videos of short clips in life.

There is a massive amount of memory store with a 5GB memory card. This means plenty of audio and video can be stored without a worry of loosing out on empty space. the voice quality is good for those who love watching videos or listening to music etc as the voice comes out crisp clear. The volume has the ability to be very high as well for those who require loud alarms to wake them up, or a boost of music to freshen them up.

Disadvantages:

I could go on describing the fascinations of this phone and I wouldn't be finished therefore just a touch on some of the disadvantages I experienced. Sometimes the phone decided to go off with no particular reason which was highly inconvenient especially when you are expecting a call and wondering why your phone hasn't rang. Also the phone can suddenly jam if pressure applied e.g. through throwing on the sofa etc. Furthermore I am experiencing problems with a button on the side of my phone, not sure whether self inflicted or the button decided to retire so a big problem there (although on the bright side there is another navigation button I can use which replaces the one that isn't working).

Another issue with the mobile is the limited battery life. I don't know the reason why the battery isn't long lasting but I know that it isn't. For me that is a real pain but if you make sure you keep up with the charging e.g. every evening for an hour, you shouldn't be walking around with a flat battery for most of the times you are out an about - a good advice especially for those who need their mobile day in day out. For some reason the charging takes up to an hour and the battery is full but the lasting part of the battery is the issue, nevertheless it can be solved by correct actions according to the battery power.

Conclusions:

And finally apart from that I feel I have said enough to tickle your toes into buying the N95 because I seriously am very attached to mine. There are hundreds of uses I have out of a small technological device I have. I am very happy with this purchase and would persuade others who are looking for a phone with many services to just stick with an N95. That's because the price now is reducing from £499 to approximately in the £300 bracket therefore well worth its price too.

Community evaluation

This review was read 3848 times and was rated at
95% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • monarahman published 09/01/2009
    why is it big review.
  • manlybeach published 27/03/2008
    very useful review thank you x
  • ChemicalRomance published 27/03/2008
    Ive had so many problems with my nokia im beginning not to trust them! Though your lucky if you can keep yours working! Good review Laura xXx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Nokia N95

Manufacturer's product description

It's GPS. It's a photo studio. It's a mobile disco. It's the World Wide Web. It's anything you want it to be. Explore the Internet with 3.5G ease. Navigate the world with interactive maps and purchasable local city guides. Download your favorite music tracks. And capture it all with 5 megapixel clarity and Carl Zeiss optics. Experience the true power of multimedia computing with the Nokia N95 multimedia computer. The Nokia web browser with MiniMap allows you to view web pages as they were originally intended. You can browse the entire page and then zoom in to the content you need. Connect with the world instantly with the Nokia N95 multimedia computer. It's a 3.5G device featuring wireless LAN technology, quadband GSM (850/900/1800/1900) and WCDMA, keeping you connected on up to five continents. Send e-mails at speed. Play your music or screen your photos and videos straight from your device to your compatible home electronics. With a simple slide you unlock the power of multimedia computing. The Nokia N95 was designed for you to seamlessly shift between browsing the web, snapping great photos, grooving to your favorite tunes and watching videos. Slide to reveal the dedicated media keys and slide back to access the numeric keypad. Live in the moment. Then re-live it again and again. The Nokia N95 brings mobile photography to high art with a 5 megapixel camera, Carl Zeiss optics, auto focus and flash. Compose your images beautifully in the impressive 2.6" display and fire away. And post your collection straight from your device to Flickr so no memory goes unshared. For a more cinematic experience, shoot your most spontaneous stories in DVD-like quality video at up to 30 frames per second. You might never want to lug your home movie camera around again. Plan your route, find your way home and get to know places you've never visited with integrated GPS mapping. Fly over more than 100 countries, zoom to street level and get the low-down on more than 15 million locations around the world. Discover the secrets of cities around the world with purchasable city guides. The world is a big place, it's time to start exploring.

Product Details

Product Description: Nokia N95 - 3G GSM - smartphone, Nokia N95 - black - 3G 8 GB - GSM - smartphone, Nokia N95 - 3G 8 GB - GSM - smartphone, Nokia N95 - plum, deep - 3G GSM - smartphone, Nokia N95 - sand - 3G GSM - smartphone, Nokia N95 - black - 3G GSM - smartphone

Product Type: Smartphone

Mobile Broadband Generation: 3G

Service Provider: Not specified, T-Mobile

Form Factor: Slider - dual sliding

Dimensions (WxDxH): 53 mm x 21 mm x 99 mm

Weight: 120 g, 128 g, 129 g

Technology: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM

Band: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900

Integrated Components: Digital camera, 2nd camera, FM radio, digital player, GPS receiver, voice recorder

Rear-facing Camera Resolution: 5 Megapixel

Wireless Interface: Infrared (IrDA), Wi-Fi, Bluetooth

Display: LCD display - colour - 2.6" - TFT, LCD display - colour - 2.8" - TFT

Operating System: Symbian OS 9.2 / Series 60 3.1 Edition

Playback Digital Standards: WMA, AAC, MP3

Supported Memory Card: Micro SD Card, microSD - up to 8 GB

Talk Time: Up to 390 minutes, Up to 300 minutes, Up to 240 minutes

Standby Time: Up to 228 hours, Up to 280 hours, Up to 300 hours

Smartphone Memory: 8 GB

Colour: Black, Plum, deep, Sand

Cellular / Combined with: Digital Camera; Digital Player; FM Radio; GPS Reciever

Manufacturer: Nokia

Cellular / Features: GPRS; EDGE; WCDMA; Wi-Fi; Bluetooth; IrDA; microUSB; TV-out

Cellular / Extra Features: 5 MP digital camera; GPS; FM radio; MP3/MPEG-4 player

Cellular / Type: Smartphone

Cellular / Mobile Broadband Generation: 3G

Long Name: N95 8GB

Cellular / Technology: WCDMA (UMTS); GSM

Communications / Wireless Interface: Wifi; Bluetooth; Infrared

Cellular / Integrated Components: Digital camera; Digital player; GPS receiver; FM radio

Cellular / Phone Form Factor: Slate

Optical Sensor / Sensor Resolution: 5

Phone Design: Slate

Mobile Services: Video Call, Nokia Store

SAR Value: 0.58 W/kg

General

MPN: N95, N95 8GB black, n95 8gb, 002B6W1B, 002B6W1, 002D6J6, 002B6S8, 0037298, 300003186, 0037158, 0037160, 0037296, N95SLVULK, 0037155, 002D994, 002L2T1, 0027025, 002B6S9

Product Type: Smartphone

Form Factor: Slider - dual sliding

Integrated Components: Digital camera, 2nd camera, FM radio, digital player, GPS receiver, voice recorder

Aerial: Internal

Width: 53 mm

Depth: 21 mm

Height: 99 mm

Weight: 120 g, 128 g, 129 g

Body Colour: Black, Plum, deep, Sand

SAR Value: 0.58 W/kg

Cellular

Technology: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM

Band: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900

Mobile Broadband Generation: 3G

Service Provider: Not specified, T-Mobile

Operating System: Symbian OS 9.2 / Series 60 3.1 Edition

Software Platforms Supported: Java MIDP 2.0, CLDC 1.1, J2ME, Java

Application Software: Webkit

Messaging & Internet

Cellular Messaging Services: MMS, Nokia Smart Messaging, SMS

Messaging & Data Features: XHTML Browser

Downloadable Content: Audio files, video files, themes, games, ring tones, screensavers, wallpapers

Supported Email Protocols: POP3, IMAP4, SMTP

Mobile Services: Video Call, Nokia Store

Communications

Data Transmission: GPRS, EDGE

Wireless Interface: Infrared (IrDA), IEEE 802.11b/g, Bluetooth 2.0 EDR

Communication Features: Mobile Email client, Mobile Email client, Internet browser, Mobile Email client, VoIP client

High Speed Circuit Switched Data (HSCSD): Yes

WLAN Security: WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES

Phone Features

Phone Functions: Speakerphone, voice control, call timer, conference call, voice dialing, vibrating alert

Polyphonic Ringer: Yes

Additional Features: Push-to-talk mode, PictBridge direct printing, TV Link

Ring Tone Formats: MIDI, True Tones, AAC

Sensors: Ambient light sensor

Organiser

Personal Information Management: Calendar, synchronization with PC, calculator, reminder, alarm clock

Media Player

Supported Digital Audio Standards: WMA, AAC, MP3

Supported Digital Video Standards: RM, MPEG-4, 3GP, H.264

Memory

User Memory: 160 MB, 8 GB, 256 MB

Supported Flash Memory Cards: Micro SD Card, microSD - up to 8 GB

Digital Camera

Rear-facing Camera Resolution: 5 Megapixel

Still Image Resolutions: 2592 x 1944, 2582 x 1944

Still Image Formats: JPEG, EXIF

Min Focal Length: 5.6 mm

Digital Zoom: 10, 20

Special Effects: Negative, Black & White, Sepia, Vivid

White Balance: Automatic, presets

Camera Light Source: Flash

Video Recorder Resolutions: 640 x 480 (VGA)

Digital Video Formats: 3gp, H.263 video and AMR audio

Focus Adjustment: Automatic

Optical Sensor Type: CMOS

Self Timer Delay: Yes

Features: Video recording, Carl Zeiss optic, auto exposure

Navigation System

Navigation: GPS receiver, A-GPS receiver

Display

Type: LCD display - colour

Technology: TFT

Diagonal Size: 2.6", 2.8"

Display Resolution: 240 x 320 pixels

Colour Depth: 16.7 million colours

Display Illumination Colour: White

Features: Wallpaper, screen saver

Connections

Connector Type: Data port - Pop-Port ¦ Headset jack - mini-phone 3.5mm

Battery

Capacity: 950 mAh, 1200 mAh

Run Time Details: Talk - up to 390 min ¦ Standby - up to 228 hrs

Miscellaneous

Included Accessories: Headset, USB cable, power adapter, video cable

Processor

Clock Speed: 332 MHz

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 16/11/2006

Nokia N95 - Review - The Nokia N95

noshaba_7... 5

noshaba_786

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:04.01.2006

Reviews:33

Members who trust:11

Quote-start

The Nokia N95

Quote-end
27.03.2008 (09.02.2008)

Advantages:
Excellent services

Disadvantages:
Large in size

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Look & Feel

Durability & Robustness

Battery standby time

Value for money

Range of features

Battery talktimeGood

Camera Quality

15 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (95%):
  1. chrome2
  2. Kabat
  3. majeedkazi
and 17 other members
somewhat helpful by (5%):
  1. monarahman

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

The beginning:

I bought the nokia N95 when it came newly on the market. It was brought through a contract with o2 after I closed my sim only contract where I payed 25 a month (I think). o2 rang me and asked me if I wanted an upgrade and truthfully I was looking to buy a new phone as I originally had a nokia 6600, which as you may well know is nearly the size of a brick (although the nokia n95 isn't really any smaller). Anyway the o2 supervisor asked me which type of contract I wanted which got sorted but I wanted the 'newest phone out' which at that time was the nokia N95. When the o2 supervisor mentioned it had a navigation system, I thought 'I'll have that please' so agreed to buy it on contract. I didn't know which colours they had and which colour I was going to get but I came to have the plum colour one, which I preferred in comparison to the 'brownie' coloured one. I have much more memory space in this phone and a great video recording time length. I can also save much more messages on this phone and do loads more now than I could do with my nokia 6600 (which I will explain later). I am really happy that I have bought this phone as it is one good decision I have made in my life. it is so handy and you can practically do anything from finding out how to get somewhere, checking your emails or video calling etc etc etc. the phone itself is very strong (as all nokia phones are) as I have found that although it is a slide phone I have dropped it a couple of times and apart from minor scratches it is perfectly fine. I know I will go a long way with it.

The technical stuff:

For all technical details regarding the shape and services of the Nokia N95 followed by the specifications and accessories visit :
http://www.nokia.co.uk/A4275003

My Personal View:

Advantages:

The phone itself is very stylish slide phone. Although arguably large in size, it is worth it in regards to the features and services it provides. There are buttons and fidgety things on every side of the phone which means the phone itself is used productively. The main buttons are stylish and sliver in colour on a silver background. Also the number buttons are large in width which makes them easy to use when dialling numbers or for texting purposes. On the back the camera has a close/open lens cover, which is easy to use as it has its own grip. This protects the lens and provides the function to take your own photos or just use the front camera as a mirror. (highly useful).

When I first messed around with the phone I was really fascinated with the diverse services available for me to use. Although the navigation system was what persuaded me to buy it, I don't really use the service often. Apart from that I find every service that I do use to be much more comfortable and easy to explore than my Nokia 6600 and any other phone I have knowledge about. As the famous camera has 5-mega pixel, I know that the photo quality is beyond impressive. The editing service on the camera allows for the image to be cropped, clip art to be added, frames etc. A really good feature to lighten up pictures. Also the print out is really good of the photos - digital camera results!!

Furthermore the messaging service is easy to use especially due to the way I can click my fingers on the buttons. The navigation system can be easily used with buttons arrowed up/down/left and right, placed in the middle of the phone. The snake game, which I go on regularly, is very much addictive and enjoyable. It s well worth it if you are a game lover. There is much more animation to the snake game than any other nokia snake game I have played.

The contacts list is smart to use as even though you have a name and a surname, when you search e.g. 'f', the results will come up with all names AND surnames beginning with 'f', which is fab especially when you cant remember how you stored a certain persons number. The call waiting service is highly useful as the mobile bleeps when another person is calling AND shows who the other caller is (if stored in the contacts obviously). Another feature which makes me entirely dependent on this phone. The video quality is superb allowing high lengths of videos (approximately half an hour each video) class for making videos of short clips in life.

There is a massive amount of memory store with a 5GB memory card. This means plenty of audio and video can be stored without a worry of loosing out on empty space. the voice quality is good for those who love watching videos or listening to music etc as the voice comes out crisp clear. The volume has the ability to be very high as well for those who require loud alarms to wake them up, or a boost of music to freshen them up.

Disadvantages:

I could go on describing the fascinations of this phone and I wouldn't be finished therefore just a touch on some of the disadvantages I experienced. Sometimes the phone decided to go off with no particular reason which was highly inconvenient especially when you are expecting a call and wondering why your phone hasn't rang. Also the phone can suddenly jam if pressure applied e.g. through throwing on the sofa etc. Furthermore I am experiencing problems with a button on the side of my phone, not sure whether self inflicted or the button decided to retire so a big problem there (although on the bright side there is another navigation button I can use which replaces the one that isn't working).

Another issue with the mobile is the limited battery life. I don't know the reason why the battery isn't long lasting but I know that it isn't. For me that is a real pain but if you make sure you keep up with the charging e.g. every evening for an hour, you shouldn't be walking around with a flat battery for most of the times you are out an about - a good advice especially for those who need their mobile day in day out. For some reason the charging takes up to an hour and the battery is full but the lasting part of the battery is the issue, nevertheless it can be solved by correct actions according to the battery power.

Conclusions:

And finally apart from that I feel I have said enough to tickle your toes into buying the N95 because I seriously am very attached to mine. There are hundreds of uses I have out of a small technological device I have. I am very happy with this purchase and would persuade others who are looking for a phone with many services to just stick with an N95. That's because the price now is reducing from 499 to approximately in the 300 bracket therefore well worth its price too.
  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

monarahman 09.01.2009 19:57

why is it big review.

manlybeach 27.03.2008 17:29

very useful review thank you x

ChemicalRomance 27.03.2008 16:49

Ive had so many problems with my nokia im beginning not to trust them! Though your lucky if you can keep yours working! Good review Laura xXx

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Similar offers for Nokia N95 »

1 to 3 out of 5 similar offers for Nokia N95 Show all similar offers
Nokia N95 8GB n96 LCD

Nokia N95 8GB n96 LCD

 Visit Shop  >
ebay.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  refer to website

Nokia N95 Silver 2GB Unlocked 5.0MP Camera Slider Mobile Phone From UK

Nokia N95 Silver 2GB Unlocked 5.0MP Camera Slider Mobile Phone From UK

 Visit Shop  >
ebay.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  refer to website

DSL-Brodit Nokia N95 4GB Brodit Active Holder Tilt Swivel Fits All Countries - #965156

DSL-Brodit Nokia N95 4GB Brodit Active Holder Tilt Swivel Fits All Countries - #965156

With tilt swivel. The active holder charges your battery when it is in the holder. The ... more

holder is attached onto a tilt swivel and can be
adjusted in order to avoid light reflection.
Connects to the vehicle's cigarette lighter
socket, 12/24 Volt. Attach onto a ProClip Mounting
Platform.

 Visit Shop  >
Amazon Marketplace
Postage & Packaging:  £3.19
Availability:  refer to website

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

It's GPS. It's a photo studio. It's a mobile disco. It's the World Wide Web. It's anything you want it to be. Explo...

General

MPN N95, N95 8GB black, n95 8gb, 002B6W1B, 002B6W1, 002D6J6, 002B6S8, 0037298, 300003186, 0037158, 0037160, 0037296, N95SLVULK, 0037155, 002D994, 002L2T1, 0027025, 002B6S9
Product Type Smartphone
Form Factor Slider - dual sliding

Cellular

Technology WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM
Band WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900
Mobile Broadband Generation 3G

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Nokia N95 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (95%):

  1. chrome2
  2. Kabat
  3. majeedkazi

and 17 other members

"somewhat helpful" by (5%):

  1. monarahman

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Nokia N95? Click here