annie02 2

annie02

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:12.02.2004

Reviews:6

Quote-start

A twintub, but ....

Quote-end
05.12.2004

Advantages:
You can use the wash water loads of times by sorting your washing and doing the cleanest first down to the dirtiest

Disadvantages:
Unfortunately it has design faults so it breaks down easily, or at least mine did, especially the wash part

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Performance

Ease of use

Durability

Noise

Value for money

User's ManualFair

MaintenanceVery hard

SafetySafe

How much did you pay?£444

Any repairs?yes - once during 1st year and then unsuccessfully during second year

Special features?Can easily reuse the washing water

12 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (7%):
  1. mumsymary
helpful by (27%):
  1. NURSE_BETTY
  2. SilverThunder
  3. morgjgriff
and a further member
somewhat helpful by (67%):
  1. Nar
  2. Siobhany
  3. Bigbaz
and 7 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I had been using Hotpoint twintubs for years and years but they stopped doing them and a Norfrost was the only one I could find in December 2002 when the last one gave up the ghost.

I bought it in December 2002 and also bought the insurance policy for it - just as well as it turned out.

The wash part broke down while it was still in its 12 months warranty period and that was fairly easily fixed.

Then it broke down again in June 2004. After that it was a catalogue of frustration. I kept ringing up to find out how long it would be and getting different answers every time.

Miller Brothers, from whom I had bought it, 'lent' me an automatic machine while the twintub was being repaired and said they'd buy it back from me at the price I'd paid for it when I got my twintub back, repaired and in full working order.

However, by September I still hadn't got it back. By then I had contacted the warranty company, the company doing the repair, the middlemen from whom they were getting the spares, and Norfrost's Scottish office.

I kept being told that the parts had been ordered but when I checked with Norfrost they hadn't! And then, when they had there was a delay in getting the parts ...

Eventually they decided that it wasn't worth repairing and Norfrost were stopping selling this model anyway ... So I've kept the 'lent' automatic machine!
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

 

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Nar 06.12.2004 02:49

You paid HOW MUCH for a twin tub??! I had one in London which I adored but it wasnt mine as it came with the place i was renting. I miss my old twin tub and enough complaints to a friend made her give me her old Hotpoint 1200 washer top loader which does a similar job. Shame though that I use my parents new LG in preference! Still you did get to keep the let machine. Nar

drewboy 05.12.2004 21:29

I have never used one of these. From your ecperience, dont think I will! drew

morgjgriff 05.12.2004 20:58

I didn't realise Twin-Tubs were still made. We had several during the eighties/early nineties. I have fond memories of the scent of the washing detergent wafting through the house and the whine of the spinner when my mum used to do the wash. Ciao for now - J

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Product Information »

General

Manufacturer Norfros

Show all Product Information

Review Ratings »

This review of Norfrost AC2000 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (7%):

  1. mumsymary

"helpful" by (27%):

  1. NURSE_BETTY
  2. SilverThunder
  3. morgjgriff

and a further member

"somewhat helpful" by (67%):

  1. Nar
  2. Siobhany
  3. Bigbaz

and 7 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Candy CWB814DN1

Candy CWB814DN1

Integrated - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+ - Max Capacity: 8 kg - Width: 60 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 399.00

LG F1296TDA5

LG F1296TDA5

Freestanding - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+++ - Max Capacity: 8 kg - Width: 60 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 324.00

Hotpoint AQ 113 L 297 E

Hotpoint AQ 113 L 297 E

Freestanding - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+++ - Max Capacity: 11 kg - Width: 59.5 cm

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 349.99



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Norfrost AC2000? Click here