SALAMANDA 5

SALAMANDA

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:01.01.1970

Reviews:24

Quote-start

It just ooozes ODDNESS

Quote-end
13.05.2002 (17.05.2002)

Advantages:
Awesome gfx, and its just plain ODD

Disadvantages:
Slightly repetitive game play

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Gameplay/Playability

Graphics

Sound

Value for Money

Difficulty & Complexity

Longevity

Multiplayer

10 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (73%):
  1. iatethewholebag
  2. mrs_dodger
  3. Ankes-un-amun
and 13 other members
helpful by (27%):
  1. tuftie
  2. SacredRaven
  3. Birky
and 3 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

From the box: "Munch on This! Play as the Gabbit with odditude, Munch, and his flatulent side-kick, Abe, as they lead a lab rat revolution. Munch has been captured, poked, probed and generally violated by the greedy corporate sickos, the Vykkers, and now it's time for him and Abe to turn the tables. Power up with Vendo Machines, use psychic powers to posess enemies and machines, arm yourself with oddball Vendo weapons, and rally Oddworld's whacked-out inhabitants (via GameSpeak) to stick it to the Vykkers and save the day".

What this means is that if you purchase this game, you are about to be thrown into a world that can barely be described without using the word ODD many many times. The characters look odd and the storyline is odder, but this all adds to humour.

The game is a mixture of action and very fluid 3D platform style gameplay. There are so many elements to this game that you wonder what will happen next. You can switch between characters to solve puzzles as each has different capabilities/physics to add variation. The levels are skillfully crafted and look stunning, the benefits of the xbox come to life here as it can render huge open areas, full of colour and effects, with no slow down in performance.

The game is challenging through the complexity of the puzzles but the levels get progressively harder as you would expect, but the increase is at such a pace that you wont be stuck right at the beginning of the game (in game tutorials).

Although I have not played the previous adventures, it doesnt make any difference. There is an opening intro that allows you to catch up on the story so far. As with the introduction, the cut-screens will leave you breathless, the modelling/skinning and texturing is so clear that it in my opinion beats any cut-screens rendered on my pc (Geforce 2 GTS).

There are a lot of buttons to learn but you will be required to use them as you progress through the game, you dont have to learn them all from the outset.

The game is also long, I have to date got some 20hrs out of it and I dont think I am that near completion. I would consider it a worthwhile purchase because of the length and sheer amusement value of it.

The only fault with the game that I can find is that in some places the gameplay is slightly repetitive. What I mean is that often to complete a puzzle will require the same manoeuvres to be done repeatedly...the puzzles themselves are very different throughout the game.

It has been given a rating of 11+ which in my opinion is about right. It has some toilet humour (farts and belches) and some gruesome cut screens, so I wouldnt recommend this title to anyone under that.

Final Notes: The game is one player and will only be available on the X-box.

Ammendment(17/05/02): Although originally intended solely for the x-box, it may be ported to the playstation 2 in the near future according to reports.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

seagulls-lost-horizon 13.05.2002 20:46

I was starting to look forward to this beofere you said it was an xbox only game, shame, nice op. steve

Spike5792 13.05.2002 19:37

Excellent review Newbie! Keep up the good work and hope to see more of your work soon.

Simoncook1 13.05.2002 19:34

I'm probably a bit critical, but it would be a VH op if you summarized the plot a little! Didn't really get that info from your Opinion! add more, let me know and I will re-rate!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Compare prices »

1 offer for Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee (Xbox)   Sorted by: Price 

Product Information »

Product details

Publisher Microsoft
Developer Oddworld Inhabitants
Release Date 14th March 2002
Genre Platformer
Max Number of Players 1 Player
EAN 805529322929; 659556973131
Xbox 360 Compatible Non Xbox 360 Compatible

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee (Xbox) has been rated:

"helpful" by (27%):

  1. tuftie
  2. SacredRaven
  3. Birky

and 3 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Tak: The Great Juju Challenge (Xbox)

Tak: The Great Juju Challenge (Xbox)

Genre: Platformer, Kids/Family - Publisher: THQ - Developer(s): Avalanche - Age Rating: 3+

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 9.99

Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack (Xbox 360)

Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack (Xbox 360)

Genre: Platformer - Publisher: Activision - Age Rating: 7 Years and Above

User reviews (2)

Buy now for only £ 12.50

Family Guy (Xbox)

Family Guy (Xbox)

Genre: Platformer, Action/Adventure - Publisher: 2K Games - Developer(s): High Voltage Software - Age Rating: 16+

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 17.35



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee (Xbox)? Click here