Review of "Olympus Superzoom 800S Compact Camera"

published 05/07/2000 | Sari
Member since : 05/07/2000
Reviews : 9
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Small, light and compact
Cons No case included to protect from scratches
helpful
Picture Quality
Range & Quality of Features
Ease of Use
Durability
Reliability

"Nice and Compact"

I have just purchased a Superzoom 800S. It's my first Olympus camera and so far I am very pleased with it. It is small and compact and not much larger than the mju II. It has a decent zoom which retracts automatically when you slide the lens cover across. It is the ideal size for travelling as it fits neatly inside a bag or pocket.

I shopped around and found that there was a difference of about £10 in the price and eventually opted for Dixons as they had a free film for a year offer on and they were £10 cheaper than Jessops.

The camera came with batteries and a strap and easy to understand instructions. The only thing they didn't provide was a case which was abit disappointing.


Community evaluation

This review was read 2437 times and was rated at
50% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • the_mad_cabbie published 08/05/2002
    This opinion contains very little real information or advice.....Hence the "FH" rating.....Sorry.....Ken
  • lallyo published 28/03/2001
    It was lucky I read this - I was planning on buying one of these in the next week or so and now you've mentioned the price discrepancies and the offer I might look in a few other shops for it and see if these offers are still on! I would have just bought it straight from Jessops. cheers L x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Olympus Superzoom 800S Compact Camera

Manufacturer's product description

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 05/07/2000

Olympus Superzoom 800S Compact Camera - Review - Nice and Compact

Sari 5

Sari

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:05.07.2000

Reviews:9

Quote-start

Nice and Compact

Quote-end
05.07.2000

Advantages:
Small, light and compact

Disadvantages:
No case included to protect from scratches

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Picture Quality

Range & Quality of Features

Ease of Use

Overall Look & Design

Value for Money

DurabilityExcellent

ReliabilityExcellent

SizeSmall

WeightLight

Instruction ManualExcellent

4 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (20%):
  1. lallyo
  2. Hagar
helpful by (30%):
  1. MILLSY99
  2. allbaa
  3. Manx
somewhat helpful by (50%):
  1. Mitsudan
  2. stevogarvey
  3. frkurt
and 2 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

I have just purchased a Superzoom 800S. It's my first Olympus camera and so far I am very pleased with it. It is small and compact and not much larger than the mju II. It has a decent zoom which retracts automatically when you slide the lens cover across. It is the ideal size for travelling as it fits neatly inside a bag or pocket.

I shopped around and found that there was a difference of about 10 in the price and eventually opted for Dixons as they had a free film for a year offer on and they were 10 cheaper than Jessops.

The camera came with batteries and a strap and easy to understand instructions. The only thing they didn't provide was a case which was abit disappointing.


  Write your own review

Share this review on

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

the_mad_cabbie 08.05.2002 22:49

This opinion contains very little real information or advice.....Hence the "FH" rating.....Sorry.....Ken

lallyo 28.03.2001 19:34

It was lucky I read this - I was planning on buying one of these in the next week or so and now you've mentioned the price discrepancies and the offer I might look in a few other shops for it and see if these offers are still on! I would have just bought it straight from Jessops. cheers L x

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Olympus Superzoom 800S Compact Camera has been rated:

"very helpful" by (20%):

  1. lallyo
  2. Hagar

"helpful" by (30%):

  1. MILLSY99
  2. allbaa
  3. Manx

"somewhat helpful" by (50%):

  1. Mitsudan
  2. stevogarvey
  3. frkurt

and 2 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Olympus µ II ZOOM 80 Compact Camera

Olympus µ II ZOOM 80 Compact Camera

(+) Very compact and very friend
(-) The lens could be a little faster

User reviews (5)

Buy now for only £ 17.98

Olympus MJU III ZOOM 80

Olympus MJU III ZOOM 80

Camera, Analogue Cameras - Compact - 135mm - with Zoom - with Built-in Flash - with Red Eye Reduction

User reviews (3)

Buy Now

Olympus TRIP 30 AF

Olympus TRIP 30 AF

Analogue Cameras - Compact - 135mm - without Zoom - with Built-in Flash - with Red Eye Reduction

User reviews (3)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Olympus Superzoom 800S Compact Camera? Click here