Once (Music from the Motion Picture/Original Soundtrack) - Soundtrack

Community images

Once (Music from the Motion Picture/Original Soundtrack) - Soundtrack

1 CD(s) - Film - Label: Sony BMG, Columbia - Distributor: Plastic Head, Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 01/10/2007 - 886971445923

> Show product information

100% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Once (Music from the Motion Picture/Original Soundtrack) - Soundtrack"

published 17/10/2009 | potoroo99
Member since : 14/09/2009
Reviews : 25
Members who trust : 2
About me :
Excellent
Pro A great album that suits the film perfectly
Cons None
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Great music from an interesting film"

The film Once was released in 2007, and was featured at Sundance film award and achieved a 2008 Academy Award for Best Original Song for "Falling Slowly". I didn't see the film in the cinema or buy or rent it on DVD, as I did not know it existed. I watched it recently as a friend's house and enjoyed it. The story is very well written and really stays with you, but the real highlight is the soundtrack, which the film was made around.

The Film

Once, it is a film / musical / documentary centering around the relationship between the two main characters (played by Irish Glen Hansard and Czech Marketa Irglova) and the development of their street music in Ireland. It was very basically shot by and independent film maker, with Glen and Marketa basically playing themselves within a set of written events. As they are both musicians not actors, a lot of the story is told through song - the Once characters don't even names. However, it is not a traditional musical - they don't just burst into song at any moment, all the songs are included realistically (e.g. scenes busking or in the recording studio). I will not go into to more detail as I'm not reviewing the film itself and don't want ruin the story. All this means that the film is mostly about the original soundtrack, specially written for Once by Hansand an Irglova (plus one song by 'Interference').


The Musicians

Glen Hansard previously played in the Irish band 'The Frames', and appeared in 'The Commitments'. Hansard and Irglova both have music careers, where they sing / play with a variety or people, and they still play together as 'The Swell Season'. The have released a second album after the Once soundtrack called 'Strict Joy', which although not as good as the Once Soundtrack in my opinion, contains many good songs. Their style has Irish and Czech Republic influences. Some of the slower songs and is comparable with other singer -songwriters like Cara Dillion, and have some classical influences (featuring piano and violins). The more uptempo tracks fit more into the folk band or rock band genres, for example Mostly Autumn.


The track listing is as follows;
1. "Falling Slowly"
2. "If You Want Me"
3. "Broken Hearted Hoover Fixer Sucker Guy"
4. "When Your Mind's Made Up"
5. "Lies"
6. "Gold"
7. "The Hill"
8. "Fallen from the Sky"
9. "Leave"
10. "Trying to Pull Myself Away"
11. "All the Way Down"
12. "Once"
13. "Say It to Me Now"


Conclusion

I love this album and I can listen to most of the songs again and again. I would recommend to anyone interested music genres relating to acoustic, rock, folk or classical. The album works even without the film, but the songs are so important to the story, listening to the soundtrack is like watching it over again. The film and the soundtrack are available very cheaply from websites like play.com and amazon (under £5 each).

Community evaluation

This review was read 520 times and was rated at
93% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • TheHairyGodmother published 20/10/2009
    Excellent review :)
  • xmen109 published 17/10/2009
    well written:)
  • lillamarta published 17/10/2009
    That's an excellent reviewt there, x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Once (Music from the Motion Picture/Original Soundtrack) - Soundtrack"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Once (Music from the Motion Picture/Original Soundtrack) - Soundtrack

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Film - Label: Sony BMG, Columbia - Distributor: Plastic Head, Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 01/10/2007 - 886971445923

Product Details

EAN: 886971445923

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011