claireylu... 5

claireylulu

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: Back to reviewing after a long Christmas Break. Happy New Year to everyone :)

Member since:09.06.2010

Reviews:180

Members who trust:37

Quote-start

More than just a diary as the book says

Quote-end
19.08.2011

Advantages:
keeps your life on track

Disadvantages:
a little pricey

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for money

Durability

Quality

48 Ciao members have rated this review on average: exceptional See ratings
exceptional by (50%):
  1. 80smusicreviewer
  2. Expired-Account
  3. dawnymarie
and 22 other members
very helpful by (50%):
  1. afy9mab
  2. jesi
  3. LadyValkyrie
and 22 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I have always had diaries from a small age I would always get one in my stocking at Christmas usually with Winnie the pooh bear on it. Once I got older I found I wrote in them less until I got my own home and I began to use them a little more. I found they never had enough space for budgets and other details I often had a few different pads around. Two years ago I was recommended to look at a website called organisedmums.co.uk. I loved their idea of the diaries but I was little reserved as how good they actually were and felt I didn’t want to spend £14 on a diary for it to be rubbish. So I decided to take a chance and buy the slightly cheaper pocket version from them. I was extremely impressed so when it came round to October last year I took the chance and bought the life book diary.

The appearance

The life book diary is a hard back, ring bound sixteen month diary. It is a light blue colour with the organised mum logo in the top right hand corner. 2001 Life book is positioned in the centre of the front cover with some nice detailing towards the bottom of the book. The look of the front is nice and simple and although a couple of girlie touches towards the bottom it isn’t over the top. Looking on their website and eyeing the 2012 version up I have noticed they have gone a little bit more girlie and larger detailing but still keeping their light blue colour. The diary is A5 size with the hard back cover which I find a decent size. It was a fairly thick diary to start with but after bits I have added to it, it is on the very chunky size now. For me the look of the diary isn’t that important it is what it provides inside that counts.

Two main sections

This diary can be suitable for any type of diary keeper. It provides the traditional week view at the front of the diary which I have always been used too. The other section is home to the monthly planning which I haven’t come across in a diary before but would want every time now. The organised mum life book is more than just a diary it is what it say it is a book that will keep your life in order for the next 16 months!

First section

The first half of the diary the traditional week view is one I like to write what we have been doing as a family. I don’t tend to write appointments’ in this section as I would have with a traditional diary I write them in the second section as I find them easier to refer back to. Each week is spread across a double page spread. The left hand side is for Monday to Thursday. On its left there is a perforated shopping list which I find extremely handy. As we run out of things in the kitchen I go to my diary and write it on the next weeks shopping list. I know longer end up with bit of paper with different lists on for me to lose! At the top of the left hand side is the month and year followed by the four sections for each day. Each section has six lines

Pictures of Organised Mum Life Book Diary
Organised Mum Life Book Diary DSC00737 - Organised Mum Life Book Diary
Organised Mum Life Book Diary
to write on which I find ample; I am not intending to write an actual life story just memories. The last line of each day section has Meal plan written on giving you an option to plan your meals for each day. I like this feature as I am trying to save the pennies and find I waste less in the kitchen by doing this. The right hand side of the double spread is home to Friday to Sunday sections. On its perforated part it has two titles with ‘Things to do’ and ‘Important’. I don’t tend to use these as much as you lose then when you remove the shopping list on the other side. At the top of the right hand side is the week number followed by the day sections. As there are four sections on the left there is on the right. The bottom section on the right has the title ‘Notes and next week’. Along the bottom of the double spread is a miniature calendar for this month followed along by next month. I do find myself writing in this section day to day on what we as a family have done and like to look back on it from time to time.

The second section

The second half of the diary is what made me choose it over other normal diaries. I wanted a diary that could help me with running my family household as smoothly as possible. The second section is home to the monthly in view. Each month has six pages which are split into some very useful sections. Each month is the same as the others. You begin with a double page spread of the month in a chart style. Each day of the month has a box that measures roughly 3cms by 3.5cms. The date is in the top left of each box leaving I find plenty of room to write appointments and birthdays in. Down the right hand side of the double spread is 3.5cm wide lined column titled ‘thoughts and plans’. My birthdays and appointments are always written in this month section so then I can easily see what is ahead. The next two pages are similar in style to each other with just a different title. The first title is ‘Things to do in (the month)’ the second page is ‘Notes for (the month)’. The pages are lined with the title at the top and at the end of each line is a tick box. I find myself writing in birthday presents I need and bills I need to sort in these pages and tick off as I go along. I often change what I use these two pages for, from month to month. The last two pages are what I find the most useful, especially when times are a little harder the monthly budget pages. The first if the two pages is the title ‘Budget for (the month)’. It is split into four columns, the bill, the amount, the bill the amount. They have placed a large selection of bills that you would have like mortgage/rent, council tax, groceries and so on. There are numerous blank columns at the end so you can add some of your own. The page next to it is what I find most frightening it is the income/outgoing table. There are five columns title as, date, details, in, out and balance with 20 space for entry. As the table doesn’t have that many entries I have decided to adapt it for me. I use the table as a spare money table. I put my allowance for the month for shopping, petrol and other and then when I buy something I write it on and take it away from the balance leaving me a new balance. I find this extremely handy as I have bills coming out of my account all the time and never know if I will have enough at the end of the month this way I do. I know I don’t need a diary like this to do budgets but I find I like it all in one place so I can find it and refer to it at all times. I have always had good intensions to do the budgeting every month but I find having this diary makes me do it were before I would lapse.

Christmas and holiday section

At the back of the diary is a fun section that is called Christmas and holidays. I am afraid I am one of those people who likes to plan Christmas from very summer time onwards if not earlier! So this section is ideal for me. The first page of the diary is a lined page titled ‘Notes’. It seems who ever came up with this diary like to put a notes page at the beginning of every section. Personally I don’t use it for anything as I have found everything has a section of its own. Moving on there is planning for Christmas 2010 as the diary does start in September 2010 and planning for Christmas 2011. Each year’s Christmas planning is spread over six pages and I enjoy added to them from time to time. There is places for budgeting and planning for presents, card lists with ticks boxes and extra shopping page with tick boxes. I find it all useful and it gets me excited about Christmas. Also in the Christmas and holiday section is something parents with children will find quite useful. It is a double page spread planned for which has room for eight weeks. For some people I can see it really help them organise what can be a stressful time. My eldest son only started nursery in May so we haven’t got to that stage yet. Although trying to explain to him why the teachers have six weeks off has been difficult.

Weekly routine Charts

One section I thought was a little silly when I first bought the diary was the weekly routine charts. There are seven pages with a chart on each. The chart is as follows. There are times of day sections along the top like morning, afternoon, after school and evening and down the side are the days of the week. It is then up to you to fill in the squares. I didn’t bother using these as my routine skills have always been rubbish. It was come Christmas last year that I found the week up to Christmas was going to be hectic and was going to try and write a plan. I decided to give the chart a go and actually found it quite useful. One thing that was great was I couldn’t lose it as easy as a piece as paper in the mayhem as it was in my diary. I have since then written a weekly routine that when my son is at nursery I try to keep to and find I have a lot more spare time then I used to going from job to job and back!

Other small sections

As well as the two main sections and the holiday section there are numerous pages right at the beginning trying to help you organise yourself as well as possible. The first page you open onto is the personal information section which I am never keen on. It is for you name and address and other personal information that links the diary to you. I rarely have the diary out with me but I have put a mobile number on this page in case I did lose it but nothing else. There is also a useful numbers page for taxi firms, dentist, doctors etc. A page with the 2010 and 2011 calendar, a page with spaces to write peoples clothes sizes and shoe sizes on something I would never have thought of before but we did buy clothes for my nephews for Christmas, 2011 at a glance that folds out and at the back of the diary 2012 and 2013 calendars. All of these add up to make the most organised dairy I have found

What it comes with

There are a couple of bits the diary comes with that are not attached to the diary but help it to work well. There are two repositionable Perspex dividers so you can easily find where you are in both sections of the diary, an removable address book that slots in the pocket at the back of the book along with two sheets of themed stickers to highlight different events like dentist, holidays, hairdressers etc.
The Website

I have used the website Organisedmums.co.uk twice now and I am very impressed with their service. On the last occasion there was a problem with my order and the address delivery address hadn’t been filled in. A very polite gentleman contacted me the day after and asked if I would like it delivering to the same address as the billing address. I said yes and he said he would put it in the post immediately. I received it the next day! Delivery is £1.75 for orders under £35 which I didn’t find too bad.

Price

This diary is an expensive purchase but one I will certainly be making again. The price is £13.49 and then there is delivery to take in to account which is £1.75 for orders under £35, orders over are free.

Overall opinion

I have loved using my diary but what you must remember is this is not just a diary but an organiser too. It may have cost me a bit to begin with but I have certainly saved money by budgeting monthly. I know I could have done this without an expensive diary but I have felt it has given me the motivation to do it. I enjoy writing in my diary and keeping everything together is very handy.

Update for the 2012 version

Looking on the website they have been minimal changes to the new diary. The changes are as follows.
An elastic bandeau to keep the diary closed when not in use.
Paper that is suitable for all pens.

This review may be posted on other sites under the same user name


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

80smusicreviewer 22.04.2012 16:19

Great review. E.

Expired-Account 17.09.2011 12:25

Exceptional review, I have never heard of this companyy, think my sister-in-law would love one of these

jesi 10.09.2011 21:49

My husband virtually lives from his diary but I do tend to forget both where mine is and to write in it when I know where it is . . . even with a diary, he can double/triple book things as he agrees to do things on a day-of-the-week sometimes without consulting the day-of-the-month . . . we have bought 16-month diaries for 2011/12 already (£1 at Poundland) which include budgeting and so forth . . . ♥ ~ Jesi ~ ♥

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Organised Mum Life Book Diary »

1 to 3 out of 20 similar offers for Organised Mum Life Book Diary Show all similar offers
2015 Organised Mum Life Book diary (16-months - use straight away until Dec '15)

2015 Organised Mum Life Book diary (16-months - use straight away until Dec '15)

The Life Book is the perfect diary organiser for women managing busy lives, homes and ... more

families.   The diary can be used straight away
and lasts until December 2015, the Life Book
includes lots of useful organisational features to
keep all your notes, plans and appointments in one
convenient place.  Designed with busy mums in
mind, it comes with reminder stickers and a
separate address book as well as extra space for
planning and keeping track of meal plans, budgets,
holiday notes and shopping!  It also has tabbed
sections for easy access, a pocket at the back for
paperwork and closes with an elastic bandeau.  In
fact, everything a busy mum needs to help keep her
up to speed.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace office
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

2015 Organised Mum Family Life Book diary (Starts mid-Aug '14 until Dec '15)

2015 Organised Mum Family Life Book diary (Starts mid-Aug '14 until Dec '15)

Perfectly designed to keep all your appointments, notes and plans in one convenient place, ... more

the 2015 Family Life Book is designed especially
for women managing busy homes and families. With a
diary with a grid layout to give up to seven
family members their own diary column for each
day, it's ideal for women who prefer to keep
family appointments separate from their own.
Designed to be brilliantly flexible, the layout
can be adapted so that it can be used to organise
just two people or up to seven, divide up the day
into different times or to separate work and
family appointments. How you use it is up to you!
Much more than just a diary, it has lots of other
useful organisational features including a
separate address book, perforated shopping lists,
reminder stickers and space for meal planning and
help for busy times of year such as Christmas and
summer holidays. It also has tabbed sections for
easy access, a pocket at the back for paperwork
and closes with an elastic bandeau.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace kitchen
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Organised Mum 2015 Life Book in zip-round luxury diary cover (diary can be used straightaway until Dec 2015)

Organised Mum 2015 Life Book in zip-round luxury diary cover (diary can be used straightaway until Dec 2015)

A 2015 Life Book in an attractive faux leather cover will help you to stay organised and ... more

stylish throughout the year. Eye-catching and
practical, these stunning diary covers are made
from hard wearing faux leather and will protect
your diary and keep it looking great all year
round. Packed with loads of clever organisational
features, the Life Book has a week-to-view diary
with lots of innovative organisational features
such as perforated shopping lists, 288 colourful
reminder stickers and special sections for
planning, to enable you to keep all your notes,
plans and appointments in one convenient place.
Closing with an all-round zip fastening, the cover
is designed with an inside pocket for paperwork, a
smaller pocket with a Velcro fastening and 4 handy
credit card slots. Plus the handy pen holder means
you'll always have a pen close to hand.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace office
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Product Information »

Product details

Type Personal Organisers, Planners & Diaries
Genre Personal Organiser

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Organised Mum Life Book Diary has been rated:

"very helpful" by (50%):

  1. afy9mab
  2. jesi
  3. LadyValkyrie

and 22 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Pritt Glue Stick

Pritt Glue Stick

Stationery - Glue, Adhesive - Non Toxic

User reviews (40)

Buy now for only £ 0.99

Stabilo Boss Highlighters

Stabilo Boss Highlighters

Stationery - Highlighters & Markers - Highlighter

User reviews (28)

Buy now for only £ 1.11



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Organised Mum Life Book Diary? Click here