Our Idiot Brother (DVD)

Community images

Our Idiot Brother (DVD)

> Show product information

53% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Our Idiot Brother (DVD)"

published 05/09/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 944
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Good
Pro Paul Rudd
Cons Not funny enough
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"When is a comedy not a comedy? When it's Our Idiot Brother!"

Our Idiot Brother (DVD)

Our Idiot Brother (DVD)

-•- Our Idiot Brother-•-


-• DVD Review -•-

“There's no such thing as an ugly homemade candle”

-• Genre-•-

• Drama
• Comedy

-• Film-•-

'Our Idiot Brother' is a 2011 American comedy-drama directed by Jesse Peretz and written by his sister Evgenia and her husband David Schisgall,; the film received mainly positive reviews and received an average rating of 6.2/10 from Rotten Tomatoes. It was only briefly released in the cinema before being released on DVD and Blu Ray.
Film Details

Directed by Jesse Peretz
Produced by Anthony Bregman, Peter Saraf and Marc Turtletaub
Screenplay by Evgenia Peretz and David Schisgall
Story by Evgenia Peretz, David Schisgall and Jesse Peretz
Music by Eric D. Johnson and Nathan Larson
Cinematography Yaron Orbach
Release date August 26th 2011
DVD release November 29th 2011
Running time 90 minutes
Classification 12
Country United States
Language English

-• The Trailer •-

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1637706/videoplayer/vi3651902489?ref_=tt_ov_vi
-• The Story •-

The film starts with the long-haired, trusting, happy go lucky and small-time farmer Ned who wears Crocs and Fair Isle sweaters, (played by Paul Rudd) and who lives in New Hampshire with his girlfriend Janet (played by Kathryn Hahn) and his dog "Willie Nelson". As Ned is selling his produce at a local market, he is approached by a police officer, in uniform, who asks the gullible farmer if he knows where he can buy marijuana; after a sob story about being overworked, the policeman is eventually offered the weed by Ned, who is paid $20 for it and then immediately arrested for selling drugs, and sent to jail for a year.

Meanwhile we meet Ned's three sisters - the eldest is the tense, overprotective mother, Liz (played by Emily Mortimer), she is married to snooty film director and womaniser, Dylan (played by Steve Coogan); the couple have a very unhappy 7-year-old, son called River (played by Matthew Mindler). Ned's middle sister is the bi-sexual Natalie (played by Zooey Deschanel) who lives with her lawyer girlfriend, Cindy (played by Rashida Jones), and some random hippies. The youngest sister, Miranda (played by Elizabeth Banks) is a harsh, ambitious journalist for Vanity Fair, she is single but she fancies her neighbour Jeremy (played by Adam Scott), who just happens to feel the same for her.

When Ned is released from jail early (he was named a model prisoner four month in a row), he finds that Janet (and Willie Nelson) have moved on and are now living with Billy (played by T. J. Miller)-. a taller, dimmer, red-headed version of Ned. So homeless and dogless, Ned moves from his mother’s (Ilene, played by the Shirley Knight), to each of his sisters’ homes in New York as his world is turned upside down, and his honesty soon starts ruining the relationships of those around him.

He has to try and sort out the mess he has caused by his naivety but mainly, he has to get Willie Nelson back.
-• The Main Cast •-

Paul Rudd ... Ned
Francesca Papalia Sadie
Elizabeth Banks ... Miranda
Peter Hermann ... Terry
Adam Scott ... Jeremy
Rashida Jones ... Cindy
Zooey Deschanel Natalie
Emily Mortimer ... Liz
Steve Coogan ... Dylan
Kathryn Hahn ... Janet
T.J. Miller ... Billy
Shirley Knight ... Ilene
Matthew Mindler … River

-• My Opinion •-

Well I don’t know about you, but when I sit down to watch a ‘comedy’, I expect to find it funny and even laugh a little! Sadly, this film didn’t make me laugh very much at all and is a ‘nice’ film rather than a funny one.
As regards to the titular character, rather than being an idiot he is again ’nice’ and sweet. His sisters of course think that he’s an idiot; I suppose in a way he is by the fact that he doesn't lie or cheat, he is simply too naive and always tells the truth. His appealing sweetness and unpatronizing insight makes him simply immature, not stupid. Most of Rudd’s past roles have fallen into two categories; either the hapless, captivating romantic leading role or the hapless, tacky sidekick. However, as the idiotic brother in this film he may still be hapless but is able to show off his considerable charm and comic talent, and he is the best thing about this film.
All the cast are quite enjoyable to watch; however, I couldn’t really empathise with them so much; they are generally just a group of people who manage to prove that sometimes the idiot of the family can be the cleverest one. I must say that being around someone like Ned all the time would drive me mad, but you can't deny the impact he has on changing the lives of his sisters for the better.

I couldn’t find anything special or ground-breaking about this film, however, there is nothing much not to like about it either. All the actors give decent performances, although I think there were too many decent actors to be able to showcase their art. The script is exactly as you would expect, but I think that it could have been a lot more intelligent and that the ending was just a little too clichéd.
I would describe this as just a watchable little film. While it is not a particularly funny comedy, it is a likable one. It is SLIGHTLY funny, but not as funny as you would expect a comedy to be. What it is is likable, sweet (but not over sweet), charming, light hearted, inoffensive and generally ‘nice’. (Apologies to Mr Patmore, my English teacher for using that forbidden word ‘nice’ so much!!)

-• Ratings•-

• IMDb:6.4/10 from 77,741 reviews
• Metacritic: 60% from 121 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes: 68% from 51 reviews
-• What the Critics Thought •-

• Globe and Mail: "Strange, then, how Our Idiot Brother wastes its lone asset -- there's not enough idiot, and far too many boring savants."

• Chicago Tribune: "Rudd brings colour and dimension to a borderline-simpleton schlub who could have easily become a one-note cliché."

• Deadspin: "Makes you want to go home and turn on your television."

• The Observer: "Our Idiot Brother may not be perfect, but, Crocs and all, Paul Rudd’s performance is idiot-proof."

• Huffington Post: "Our Idiot Brother is simply a small, light crowd-pleasing comedy that isn’t trying to change the world"

-• DVD •-

The single disc came in a standard plastic side-snapped keep case with no slip cover.
Sound and Vision

The sound and vision are both good, no problems with either.
English SDH and Spanish subtitles are included.

Extras

The extras on this DVD area:

1. An audio commentary from Director Jesse Peretz, in which he describes working with the cast, the evolution of the script and filming on a tight budget.
2. The Making of Our Idiot Brother (Around 14 ½ minutes long) nothing very wonderful here, includes a little behind-the-scenes footage.
3. Three deleted scenes (Ned Takes the Subway, Ned Waits for John, Ned in Prison) and an alternate ending (just over 10 minutes long)

Price

As of 6/9/17, ‘Our Idiot Brother ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £3.69 new and £1.50 used or on Amazon Instant Video -£3.49(rent) or £7.99 (buy).
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix.
Details

Format: PAL
Language: English
Region: Region 2
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 12
Studio: Eiv
Run Time: 86 minutes
ASIN: B00CMSPJG

-• In Conclusion •-

I’m on the fence as to whether I recommend “Our Idiot Brother” or not!
If you are looking for a side-splitting comedy you will be disappointed, If you are a fan of Paul Rudd, you will probably enjoy it.
I thought that this was an OK film, a rather weak, unconvincing film, but one that is made agreeable by the charm and skill of its cast.
It isn’t a film that will make you think, but it’s not too bad a way to spend one and a half hour – although you may be playing on your phone at the same time!


Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl September 2017

Community evaluation

This review was read 114 times and was rated at
79% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • euphie published 09/09/2017
    e :o)
  • CGholy published 08/09/2017
    looks solid
  • 2mennycds published 07/09/2017
    I'm with you on comedy ideally being amusing but have got used to the idea that it often isn't! I remember some wag saying about 1990's "alternative" comedy that it alternated between being funny and not being! This offering really doesn't sound great!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Our Idiot Brother (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Our Idiot Brother (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Main Language: English

Production Year: 2011

DVD Region: DVD

Classification: 12 years and over

Director(s): Jesse Peretz

Actor(s): Paul Rudd, Elizabeth Banks, Adam Scott, Rashida Jones, Zooey Deschanel

Video Category: Feature Film

EAN: 5017239197468

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 24/11/2016