Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80

Community images

Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80

Panasonic VIERA Plasma 1080p series feature a new panel with increased contrast ratio and an improved anti-reflective screen, a Game Mode, VIERA Linkt...

> Show product information

93% positive

9 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80"

published 07/01/2010 | jonevans82
Member since : 07/01/2010
Reviews : 12
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro great picture, excellent blacks, 24p and no motion blur
Cons 42" doesnt seem big enough, 1 more HDMI would be nice
somewhat helpful
How is the Picture Quality?
How is the Sound Quality?
Ease of Installation
Remote Control
Instructions

"Panasonic TH 42PZ80E Plasma TV"

The most renowned TV manufacturer (in plasma) terms in the world!

The Panasonic TH-42PZ80E offers:

Great picture quality. The built in freeview tuner is more than up to par and puts most other LCD sets to shame
Sound quality is very good for a flat screen bearing in mind that they all have tiny speakers
3 x HDMI connectors, 1 set of component connections, sx scart connections, and a headphone slot! Followed by a SDHC card sclot and a top up tv slot !(that no one uses that I know)

The HDMI's are all 1.3compliant so you can choose deep colour as standard and the set is full 1080p!
There is no motion blur as this is a plasma! Motion is handled wonderfully and it supports 24P for the ultimate BLU-RAY playback!
The TV also sports something called intelligent frame creation which is supposed to smooth out any judder and reduce and motion blur - however as I did not notice any on the TV anyways I did not put it on, and when I did the picture seems a little unreal. The motion becomes noticably forced and untrue.


Conclusion:

Great TV, superb picture - now very cheap

Cons: Not big enough!

Community evaluation

This review was read 2516 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • TheHairyGodmother published 29/11/2010
    More information needed I'm afraid. Let me know if you add anything and I will re-rate.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80

Manufacturer's product description

Panasonic VIERA Plasma 1080p series feature a new panel with increased contrast ratio and an improved anti-reflective screen, a Game Mode, VIERA Linktm, increased luminous efficiency, lead free panels and100,000 hours to half brightness.

Product Details

Screen Size in Inches: 42

Screen Size in cm: 107, 105, 106

Contrast Ratio (X:1): 20000, 30000, 1000000

Manufacturer: Panasonic

Long Name: Viera TH-42PZ80, Viera TH-42PZ80Q

MPN: TH-42PZ80, TH-42PZ80Q, TH-42PZ80EA

Screen type: Plasma

2D to 3D Conversion: No

Frame Refresh Rate in Hz: 50

Web Content Access: No

Ethernet: Yes

Secure Digital Card: No

Memory Stick: No

HbbTV: No

USB Recording: No

WiFi Connectivity: No

DVB-T2: No

Web Browser: No

Application Store (IPTV): non-Smart TV

DVD Player / Recorder: No

Type: Plasma

Screen Format: 16:9

EAN: 5025232486533, 5025232461080, 5025232486588, 4783007399341

DVB-C: No

HDMI: Yes

DVB-S: DVB-S2 (HD), No

DVB-T: DVB-T (MPEG2)

USB: No

Number of Scart Interfaces: 2

Full HD: with Full HD (1080p)

Electronic Program Guide (EPG): GUIDE Plus+, Yes

Vertical Resolution in Pixel: 1080

Horizontal Resolution in Pixel: 1920

HD ready: HD Ready

On-Mode Power Consumption in Watts: 477, 324

DLNA certified: No

Depth in cm: 9.5, 10

Height in cm: 67.9

Width in cm: 102, 104.8

Standby Power Consumption in Watts: 0.1, 0.4

DVI Interface: No

Number of HDMI Inputs: 3

LED Backlight: without LED Backlighting

3D: without 3D Technology

CI Plus: No

YUV Interface: Yes

VGA / D-Sub Interface: Yes

S-Video: Yes

Weight in kg: 30

RMS Wattage: 20

Number of Common Interface (CI) Slots: 1

Headphone Output: Yes

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 30/01/2008

Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80 - Review - Panasonic TH 42PZ80E Plasma TV

jonevans8... 5

jonevans82

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:07.01.2010

Reviews:12

Quote-start

Panasonic TH 42PZ80E Plasma TV

Quote-end
07.01.2010

Advantages:
great picture, excellent blacks, 24p and no motion blur

Disadvantages:
42" doesnt seem big enough, 1 more HDMI would be nice

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

How is the Picture Quality?

How is the Sound Quality?

Range of Features

Durability

Value for Money

Ease of InstallationVery Easy

Remote ControlExcellent Quality

InstructionsVery Helpful / Very Easy to Understand

1 Ciao members have rated this review on average: somewhat helpful See ratings
somewhat helpful by (100%):
  1. TheHairyGodmother

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

The most renowned TV manufacturer (in plasma) terms in the world!

The Panasonic TH-42PZ80E offers:

Great picture quality. The built in freeview tuner is more than up to par and puts most other LCD sets to shame
Sound quality is very good for a flat screen bearing in mind that they all have tiny speakers
3 x HDMI connectors, 1 set of component connections, sx scart connections, and a headphone slot! Followed by a SDHC card sclot and a top up tv slot !(that no one uses that I know)

The HDMI's are all 1.3compliant so you can choose deep colour as standard and the set is full 1080p!
There is no motion blur as this is a plasma! Motion is handled wonderfully and it supports 24P for the ultimate BLU-RAY playback!
The TV also sports something called intelligent frame creation which is supposed to smooth out any judder and reduce and motion blur - however as I did not notice any on the TV anyways I did not put it on, and when I did the picture seems a little unreal. The motion becomes noticably forced and untrue.


Conclusion:

Great TV, superb picture - now very cheap

Cons: Not big enough!

  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

TheHairyGodmother 29.11.2010 19:57

More information needed I'm afraid. Let me know if you add anything and I will re-rate.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Panasonic VIERA Plasma 1080p series feature a new panel with increased contrast ratio and an improved anti-reflecti...

Product details

Screen Size in Inches 42
Screen Size in cm 107, 105, 106
Contrast Ratio (X:1) 20000, 30000, 1000000

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 30/01/2008

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80 has been rated:

"somewhat helpful" by (100%):

  1. TheHairyGodmother

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Panasonic Viera TX-P50S30

Panasonic Viera TX-P50S30

Plasma TV - 50 inches - 16:9 - with Full HD (1080p) - Contrast Ratio: 2000000:1

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Panasonic TH-42PX80E

Panasonic TH-42PX80E

42 in - Format: 16:9 - Resolution: 1024 Pixel - 768 Pixel - without Full HD (1080p) - without LED Backlighting - without 3D Technology - non-Smart TV

User reviews (4)

Buy Now

Panasonic TH - 42 PW5B

Panasonic TH - 42 PW5B

42 in - Format: 16:9 - Resolution: 852 Pixel - 480 Pixel - without Full HD (1080p) - without LED Backlighting - without 3D Technology - non-Smart TV

User reviews (2)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80? Click here