schwill 5

schwill

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:06.01.2009

Reviews:1

Quote-start

1.1 LX - great first car

Quote-end
06.01.2009

Advantages:
endless list of gadgets, responsive steering

Disadvantages:
badly distributed storage compartments

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Looks

Value for Money

Fuel consumptionGood

6 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. Soho_Black
  3. paulpry118
and 4 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

My 206 1.1 LX was born in Nov. 2001 to a 51 plate. I bought it on 31/03/2007 as my first car. At the time, it had nearly 38k on the clock. It's the better looking 3 dr version, and over the last 6 months, I have fallen in love with it again.
The test drive was the only time I rode in the back, as back then I had a provisional license, and so my Gran test drove it. I am 1.83m (6ft), and from what I vaguely remember, space in the back is cramped (it definitely looks it though, when I have people in the back).
It's full of gadgets - elec. windows, elec. wing mirrors, A/C, heater, stereo controls behind the steering wheel, 3 head rests in the back, PAS, remote central locking... the list goes on.... It has no ABS but if I'm honest, you don't need it. This has never affected me. If anything, the lack of ABS makes it a bit more fun to drive on the edge.
It could do with a few more storage compartments around the interior, and the cup holders would be useable, if they were placed outside the glovebox. Other than than, there is absolutely nothing that I can think of in terms of accessories, that this car lacks (other than ABS but like I said, I'm not bothered about it).
The steering is great, the play is minimal, and you really do feel connected to the road (provided you have decent tyres. Word of advice, if you enjoy life, NEVER run it on Firestones - they have no grip whatsoever). I had Bridgestones on the front, and these were down to the wires. I changed the front ones for Firestones less than 2000 miles ago, and the old battered Bridges gave me more grip than the brand new Fires, since I now constantly have to drive at a lower speed, and easily find the car losing grip with slight steering wheel adjustments at speeds as low as 30mph!)
Consumption - The fuel tank holds about 40 litres I think. I seldom put in more than £10 at a time. Accelerating at a decent rate, changing gear at 2000 rpm, this should comfortably take you 100 miles away. If however, you like accelerating at a faster rate than 99% of other drivers, and change gears at 3000 rpm, £10 will take you 75 - 80 miles.
A note to those who like driving fast: the rev counter will go up to 7000 rpm, the redline starting at around 6300 rpm. HOWEVER - the rev limiter cuts in at 6000 rpm. 0 - 60 takes about 14 secs (it's kind of hard to time yourself when all you have it your mob. phone), and I've got it up to 105mph, with revs to spare. I think it can go up to about 115, despite Peugeot claiming a top speed of 110.
It's nippy and fast around town, corners like no other, and the TU1 59BHP engine is quite punchy. Especially 2nd gear, followed by 3rd. Its a bit wobbly at motorway speeds though, and if you're on an incline, then it will take you about an hour to get from 50 mph to 70 mph, and you'll find you have to use 4th gear. 3rd if the car is loaded up, which leads me on to the versatility of this car - it can accommodate 5 people relatively comfortably, and the rear seats fold back completely, so you can use it as a van. Very useful for carrying stuff to and fro at the beginning / end of uni terms. The bit that annoys me, is that the boot lid (not the boot door!), if fitted correctly, will not allow the boot to close, and so you have to keep it loose, resting on the boot structure. Not sure if this very clear, and I appologize for my lack of knowledge when it comes to naming part of the boot.
Also, the pedals are a bit close together, so driving in big sneakers (about the size of the Nike Shox) is not a very good idea, but get a pair of Pumas or Converse, and you're sorted. Or drive barefoot!

"Bad bits" - Some of these I think are just characteristics of the car, and you learn to live with them. For example, when you change up from 2nd to 3rd, the gearbox likes throwing it out of gear, so it's a gear change that you have to pay more attention to. My aunts has a 2006 1.4, and she complains of the same problem. Now and again, it won't go into reverse unless you disengage and re-engage the clutch. It makes a grinding / sandy noise, which I suspect comes from the clutch (its definitely not the gears), but once that's done, that's it.
It's coming up to 53k now, and has started whistling when the engine is cold and temperatures outside are very cold (last night the car thermometer recorded -14 degrees), but an oil change should sort that (I hope), and the gearbox takes a while to warm up. Furthermore, the gears don't seem to warm up evenly, and changing gears when cold, is not the effortless, thoughtless tennis-styled swipe of the arm that it is, when it warms up. The cold makes it clunky, and you have to pay more attention when changing gear, and take your time with it. I double clutch instead, which preserves the clutch, although like I said, once it's warmed up, you have nothing to worry about.
Despite all of that, the engine is pretty reliable, and has never let me down, unlike the brakes (the French do have a bad rep about this), which simply ceased to work about a year ago. I jumped in the car in the morning to go to work, and I had no handbrake (I'd driven it the night before, and it had been fine). I drove it at lunch time, still no handbrake. Come 17.30, I jump in to go home, only to find my foot brake had gone as well. It had been sitting in a secure, level private car park (business premises), so how that happened, I still have no idea. It set me back about £200, and the hand brake is slowly starting to loosen.

All in all, a great first car. £110 for a years tax (148g of CO2 / km). I love its GT looks (it's a pity it's FWD, and RWD would prove so much more entertaining.), its versatility, its agility, its responsiveness (I've driven more modern cars, such as Fiats, Citroens, Hondas, and a 1995 Audi 80, and none have such a responsive and precise steering wheel (the 80's PAS is way too soft). I can place the car exactly where I want it on the road, in a way that no other car can do. And it corners like no other! I'd gladly keep it longer, but I'll be selling it, as I'm buying an E36 the day I turn 21.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

paulpry118 07.01.2009 22:22

Welcome to Ciao. A line between paragraphs would make your review easier to read but it a great 1st review.

redeyes22 06.01.2009 22:24

great review aggy xxx

eljimbob 06.01.2009 21:24

Welcome to Ciao :¬) James

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Peugeot 206 1.1 »

1 to 3 out of 7 similar offers for Peugeot 206 1.1 Show all similar offers
NX Car battery 12V 50Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

NX Car battery 12V 50Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

By Battery. POWER START range CCA: 420A Polarity: + on the right This type of battery is ... more

used to start equipment or machinery (e.g.
vehicles, trucks, generators). The electrolyte in
these batteries is liquid and this allows for a
fast exchange of the ions between the electrode
plates allowing high discharge rates to be
supported. Please recharge the battery once
received and before the first use to ensure the
best possible performance. Our products are stored
in our warehouse which is equipped with a charging
area to guarantee you optimum quality. As part of
our ISO 9001 quality procedure, quality control
tests are frequently carried out on all our
products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now
Fulmen Car battery 12V 53Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

Fulmen Car battery 12V 53Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

By Battery. FULMEN batteries are manufactured by EXIDE and this battery is equivalent to ... more

EXIDE EA530 FORMULA XTREME range Carbon boost
technology CCA: 540A Polarity: + on the right
Casing: L01 - Conforms to Original Part Matching
Quality standard - 30% more starting power
compared to a standard battery - Increased
lifetime when used in high-termperature conditions
- Double thermo-sealed casing with the patented
EXIDE labyrinth system - Visual charge indicator
for quick checking of charge level - Totally
maintenance free - Perfectly conforms to the most
demanding car manufacturers' specifications This
type of battery is used to start equipment or
machinery (e.g. vehicles, trucks, generators). The
electrolyte in these batteries is liquid and this
allows for a fast exchange of the ions between the
electrode plates allowing high discharge rates to
be supported. Please recharge the battery once
received and before the first use to ensure the
best possible performance. Our products are stored
in our warehouse which is equipped with a charging
area to guarantee you optimum quality. As part of
our ISO 9001 quality procedure, quality control
tests are frequently carried out on all our
products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now
Fulmen Car battery 12V 50Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

Fulmen Car battery 12V 50Ah for Peugeot 206 1.1 i 09/1998 -

By Battery. FULMEN batteries are manufactured by EXIDE and this battery is equivalent to ... more

EXIDE EB500 FORMULA range Starting power: 450A
Polarity: + on the right Casing: L01 - 15% more
starting power compared to a standard battery -
Central ventilation with spark protection - Visual
charge indicator for quick checking of charge
level - Totally maintenance free - Perfectly
conforms to the most demanding car manufacturers'
specifications This type of battery is used to
start equipment or machinery (e.g. vehicles,
trucks, generators). The electrolyte in these
batteries is liquid and this allows for a fast
exchange of the ions between the electrode plates
allowing high discharge rates to be supported.
Please recharge the battery once received and
before the first use to ensure the best possible
performance. Our products are stored in our
warehouse which is equipped with a charging are to
guarantee you optimum quality. As part of our ISO
9001 quality procedure, quality control tests are
frequently carried out on all our products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Peugeot present the 206 S 1.1 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed Manual Gearbox, Front (FWD) running on Unleaded Petrol

Product details

Body Type Hatchback
Available Trims Urban; S
Fuel Type Petrol

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 22/07/2000

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Peugeot 206 1.1 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. Soho_Black
  3. paulpry118

and 4 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Peugeot 206 1.4

Peugeot 206 1.4

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - Tiptronic Automatic Gearbox, 5 Speed Manual Gearbox, Tiptronic Automatic, 5 Speed Manual - 1360 cc - Max Speed: 100, 111, 107 mph - 75, 90 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (71)

Buy Now

Peugeot 206 1.6

Peugeot 206 1.6

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1587 cc - Max Speed: 122 mph - 110 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (22)

Buy Now

Peugeot 307 2.0 HDi

Peugeot 307 2.0 HDi

Hatchback, Convertible - Front (FWD) - 6 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1997 cc - Max Speed: 126, 129 mph - 136 bhp - Diesel

User reviews (42)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Peugeot 206 1.1? Click here