Philips DVDR880

Community images

Philips DVDR880

Without DivX Playback - DVD+R Player - with DVD+RW Playback

> Show product information

60% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Philips DVDR880"

published 27/12/2003 | rodeo70
Member since : 27/12/2003
Reviews : 1
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Random access to all recordings and scene selection very handy
Cons Slow initial reading of dvd movies before displaying the menu for selection
somewhat helpful
Picture Playback
Sound Level
Ease of Use
Ease of Installation
Remote Control

"Customer's point of view"

One of my best digital equipment buys,does everything that has been described in terms of facilities i.e.random access to recordings,ffwd and rwd feature,scene fwd and rwd,scene selection and all the other facilities listed.With the dvdr880 I have not only replaced my vcr, but my cd player too.However the one main setback is the reading time which seems to be quite long in the case of dvd movies,(must be something to do with the dvd rather than the player) which can be a little bit daunting for the ones with less patience at that stage.When investing in this piece of equipment get yourself a disc cleaner as you'll need this for recommended cleaning of discs to maintainquality, otherwise there's a risk of your viewings being stopped towards the end which will not be pleasant when it happens.I did my research b4 buying and in the end all i had to debate on was the different prices quoted by various sellers.

Community evaluation

This review was read 3081 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • Mickie26 published 28/12/2003
    Unfortunately this review lacks detail which it needs to give it a higher rating.
  • carebare published 28/12/2003
    Good first attempt at a review but you dont really tell us much about the product and I'm not too sure that everyone will understand technical jargon so you may want to simplify the language or explain what the words mean. More info definately needed for the higher ratings. Hope this helps. Welcome to Ciao. Carebare XX
  • sue.51 published 28/12/2003
    Nice start but the op could do with a little more info such as price, is it DVD RW or DVD RAM - is it a multi-DVD disc player etc - if you update, let me know and I will be ony too happy to rerate. Sue
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Philips DVDR880

Manufacturer's product description

Without DivX Playback - DVD+R Player - with DVD+RW Playback

Product Details

Manufacturer: Philips

DVD Player / Recorder: DVD Recorder

Blu Ray Playback: No

MPEG4 Recording: No

PCMCIA Interface: No

DVD+RW Playback: with DVD+RW Playback

DVD+R Playback: DVD+R Player

DVD-RAM Recording: No

DVD+RW Recording: Yes

DVD-RW Recording: No

DVD+R Recording: Yes

DVD-R Recording: No

Compact Flash Card: No

Smart Media Card: No

Multimedia Card: No

Memory Stick: No

Photo CD Playback: without Photo CD Playback

Show View: with Show View

MP3 Playback: without MP3 Playback

Super Audio CD Playback: without Super Audio CD Playback

MP3 Recording: No

DivX Playback: Without DivX Playback

Table / Portable: not Portable

DVD Audio Playback: without DVD Audio Playback

Built-In Modem: No

Super Video CD / Video CD Playback: Yes

Integrated VCR: without Integrated VCR

Real Dolby: without Real Dolby

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 06/04/2005

Philips DVDR880 - Review - Customer's point of view

rodeo70 5

rodeo70

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:27.12.2003

Reviews:1

Quote-start

Customer's point of view

Quote-end
27.12.2003

Advantages:
Random access to all recordings and scene selection very handy

Disadvantages:
Slow initial reading of dvd movies before displaying the menu for selection

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Picture Playback

Sound Level

Ease of Use

Range of Features

Value for Money

Ease of InstallationVery Easy

Remote ControlGood Quality

InstructionsVery Helpful / Very Easy to Understand

DurabilityGood

9 Ciao members have rated this review on average: somewhat helpful See ratings
somewhat helpful by (100%):
  1. sandemp
  2. Fruity_Tart
  3. supersexycoolchick
and 14 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

One of my best digital equipment buys,does everything that has been described in terms of facilities i.e.random access to recordings,ffwd and rwd feature,scene fwd and rwd,scene selection and all the other facilities listed.With the dvdr880 I have not only replaced my vcr, but my cd player too.However the one main setback is the reading time which seems to be quite long in the case of dvd movies,(must be something to do with the dvd rather than the player) which can be a little bit daunting for the ones with less patience at that stage.When investing in this piece of equipment get yourself a disc cleaner as you'll need this for recommended cleaning of discs to maintainquality, otherwise there's a risk of your viewings being stopped towards the end which will not be pleasant when it happens.I did my research b4 buying and in the end all i had to debate on was the different prices quoted by various sellers.

  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review  

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

Mickie26 28.12.2003 18:18

Unfortunately this review lacks detail which it needs to give it a higher rating.

carebare 28.12.2003 16:26

Good first attempt at a review but you dont really tell us much about the product and I'm not too sure that everyone will understand technical jargon so you may want to simplify the language or explain what the words mean. More info definately needed for the higher ratings. Hope this helps. Welcome to Ciao. Carebare XX

sue.51 28.12.2003 02:15

Nice start but the op could do with a little more info such as price, is it DVD RW or DVD RAM - is it a multi-DVD disc player etc - if you update, let me know and I will be ony too happy to rerate. Sue

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Product details

Manufacturer Philips
DVD Player / Recorder DVD Recorder
Blu Ray Playback No
MPEG4 Recording No
PCMCIA Interface No
DVD+RW Playback with DVD+RW Playback
DVD+R Playback DVD+R Player
DVD-RAM Recording No
DVD+RW Recording Yes
DVD-RW Recording No

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Philips DVDR880 - review by arsb

Quote-start don't buy Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Philips DVDR880 - review by cliffie

Quote-start Reliable workhorse Quote-start

very helpful

Review Ratings

This review of Philips DVDR880 has been rated:

"somewhat helpful" by (100%):

  1. sandemp
  2. Fruity_Tart
  3. supersexycoolchick

and 14 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Philips DVDR70

Philips DVDR70

Without DivX Playback - DVD+R Player - with DVD+RW Playback

User reviews (18)

Buy Now

Philips DVDR 7300H

Philips DVDR 7300H

Without DivX Playback - With HDMI Connection - DVD-RW Player - DVD-R Player - DVD+R Player - with DVD+RW Playback

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 16.58

Philips DVDR80

Philips DVDR80

Without DivX Playback - Without HDMI Connection - DVD+R Player - with DVD+RW Playback

User reviews (4)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Philips DVDR880? Click here