Phonetically Speaking - And Don't Forget the Piano - Victor Borge

Community images

Phonetically Speaking - And Don't Forget the Piano - Victor Borge

1 CD(s) - Music Comedy - Label: Jasmine Records, Jasmine - Distributor: Proper - Released: 04/02/2002 - 604988012026

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Phonetically Speaking - And Don't Forget the Piano - Victor Borge"

published 03/08/2006 | spiritualchick
Member since : 19/04/2004
Reviews : 4
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro Great comedy, fabulous pianist,
Cons Recording quality...
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
How does it rate alongside the competition

"Phonetic punctuation..!"

Victor Borge is one of the original musical comics from yester year, who remains (unfortunately) quite unknown by the younger population of the country.

This CD is a recording from a performance Victor Borge participated in many years ago. Consequently, the quality is not the most fabulous in the world - it is an atmospheric recording. This is not a disadvantage however, in my opinion, as it enables the listener to hear not only Victor and the piano well, but also brings across a lot of the audience laughter, which I feel adds significantly to the cd! You can also pick out certain words from the audience, which is significant in a couple of tracks - for example "Variations on a theme", where the audience call out composer names.

This cd would suit a few types of people. Those who love "I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue" and enjoy the musical rounds such as Just a Minum and One Song To The Tune Of Another will appreciate both the type of comedy Victor Borge participates in, and also the musical elements. Classical musicians with a sense of humour will also love it too, as he parodies and takes the mickey out of various composers - "Happy Birthday" by Brahms for example!

This album is a wonderful part of musical comedy history, and is something every comedy lover and musician should have listened to!

Community evaluation

This review was read 2757 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • natalka57 published 31/08/2006
    Phonetic punctuation is fab - inflationary language even better!
  • Ailran published 04/08/2006
    Oh wow I havent heard of him for ages but i seem to remember him being really funny!
  • Shoka published 03/08/2006
    I havent heard of this guy but sounds interesting. Good review.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Phonetically Speaking - And Don't Forget the Piano - Victor Borge"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Phonetically Speaking - And Don't Forget the Piano - Victor Borge

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Music Comedy - Label: Jasmine Records, Jasmine - Distributor: Proper - Released: 04/02/2002 - 604988012026

Product Details

EAN: 604988012026

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011