Pulp Fiction

Community images

Pulp Fiction

1CD(s) - Label:MCA - Distributor:Universal Music - Released:19/08/2002

> Show product information

91% positive

9 reviews from the community

Review of "Pulp Fiction"

published 28/10/2004 | jonesri
Member since : 07/07/2004
Reviews : 69
Members who trust : 56
About me :
Super
Pro Good Mix, Film quotes
Cons Some weak tracks
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it rate alongside the competition

"Royale with cheese"

After finishing my review of the film recently it seemed like a logical follow up to do the soundtrack next.

For anyone who has seen the film and liked it I would think that the soundtrack is a must. The film has been made in such a way as to make the soundtrack an integral part of the story. The songs chosen have been well thought out and enhance the storyline during the film and allow you to relive a lot of the best parts of the film when listening to the soundtrack.

The soundtrack differs from other soundtracks in that it also contains various clips and quotes from the film in addition to the songs. I think this reflects the importance of the soundtrack to the film. It is not merely an afterthought released to make more money from the popularity of the film; it is a significant part of the film. The quotes and clips that have been used on the soundtrack relate to the point in the film where the song appears and also include some of the most quotable aspects of the film.

** Track List **

1. Pumpkin and Honey Bunny – Misirlou (Dick Hale & His Del-Tones)
This track begins with the end of a conversation between Pumpkin and Honey Bunny while they are in a diner having breakfast. The end of their dialogue marks the beginning of an attempted burglary on the diner. The music that follows has become something of a theme for the film and is a bold electric guitar track.

2. Royale With Cheese
This track is a discussion between Vincent and Jules while in the car on the way to collect a case for Marcellus. The dialogue is taken directly from the film.

3. Jungle Boogie (Kool & The Gang)
Probably the weakest track on the album. There is a slightly funky feel to the start of the track but it never lives up to expectation. Definitely one to skip.

4. Let’s Stay Together (Al Green)
This track is one of my all time favourite soul songs performed by a legend. It is a slow, soothing track with a strong love theme. This track is certainly not for those who don’t have a soft side.

5. Bustin’ Surfboards (The Tornadoes)
This is the first of many tracks on this soundtrack to be music only tracks. This is predominantly a guitar track and has the relaxing sound of waves in the background. Far from my favourite track on the CD this track is better when considered with the film.

6. Lonesome Town (Ricky Nelson)
This is a very slow track performed with a single guitar for the backing music. The vocals really take center stage with this track, which has a 60’s feel to it.

7. Son Of A Preacher Man (Dusty Springfield)
Track 7 is another classic soul track performed by a great singer. This track is upbeat and will get you moving. The words are memorable and will soon have you singing along.

8. Zed’s Dead Baby – Bullwinkle Part II (The Centurians)
This track begins with an exert from the film where Butch returns to collect his girlfriend on a chopper. As he went out in a car she is a little curious as to where the bike has come from. The track itself is a guitar track without lyrics.

9. Jack Rabbit Slims Twist Contest – You Never Can Tell (Chuck Berry)
This track begins with an exert from the film where Vincent and Mia enter into a dancing competition while out for dinner. The dialogue introduces the contestants to the competition and is followed by the song that Vincent and Mia dance to in the competition with their two fingers across the eyes dance (you know the one I mean). The track that follows is upbeat with catchy lyrics. You’ll soon be dancing around the room like Mia and Vincent.

10. Girl, You’ll Be A Woman Soon (Urge Overkill)
One of the best tracks on the album, this song has good lyrics and a catchy tune. The song is almost haunting and is superbly performed by Urge.

11. If Love Is A Red Dress (Maria McKee)
This is a country style track. It has a slow pace and focuses on the vocals. There is a guitar playing in the background but the focus of the track is certainly the singer and the lyrics.

12. Bring Out The Gimp – Comanche (The Revels)
This track begins with a clip from the film where a strange shopkeeper and his policeman friend are discussing the gimp they have locked away. Apparently the gimp is sleeping. The track that follows the dialogue is a jazz style track with no words. The track is full of energy and has a good tempo.

13. Flowers On The Wall (Statler Brothers)
This is a country style track with a catchy beat that has a tendency to stick in my head once I have finished listening to the soundtrack.

14. Personality Goes A Long Way
This track is a conversation between Jules and Vincent on the relative merits of pigs, sewer rats, dogs and pumpkin pie. This is a humorous outtake from the film that will make you think twice before you tuck into bacon butty again.

15. Surf Rider (The Lively Ones)
This track is another guitar and trumpet track. There are no words to spoil this song it is just the music.

16. Ezekiel 25:17
Probably the most quoted passage from the film it would have seemed wrong to leave this off the soundtrack. Performed by Jules (Samuel L Jackson) shortly before killing his target this passage will be well known to any fans of the film.

** My Opinion **

I am a big fan of this film and the soundtrack. I particularly like the fact that I think the soundtrack is an important part of the film. I have seen a lot of films where the music used in the film gets lost and doesn’t really stand out to anyone watching the film. That is not the case in this film where the music plays a massive part in telling the story and sticks with the viewer long after they have finished watching the film.

As I mentioned above in addition to music from the film, there are also quotes and clips included on the soundtrack. The quotes that have been included offer different references to the film. Some have been included to set the scene before some music while others have been included due to the memorable dialogue contained in them. “Ezekiel 25:17”, “Personality Goes A Long Way” and “Royale With Cheese” are tracks that have been included for the dialogue, while the clips at the beginning of tracks 1, 8, 9 and 12 help to set the scene from the film before playing the music.

One of the things I like about this album is the diversity of the music on it. Ranging from soul, and country style music to more modern guitar style tracks, there is something for most musical tastes on this soundtrack. Having said that I do think that it is best listened to when you have seen the film itself. There are a lot of tracks on the album that I wouldn’t normally listen, but I like the album because of the references to the film that each track has. There are still good individual songs on this album but it is best listened to after watching the film.

If you liked the film then I think you will like the soundtrack. If you didn’t like the film then unless you want one of the individual tracks on the album I would give it a miss. If you haven’t seen the film then give it a chance, there is something on there for everyone, but beware you may have to watch the film to get the best out of the soundtrack.

** Price and Availability **

This CD is widely available and can be bought for around £9 from CD-Wow or similar.

Thanks for reading.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1430 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • ThePolarOne published 09/11/2004
    I love Jungle Boogie. I may put it on now to spite you... :o)
  • waynehorrigan published 05/11/2004
    I have this and love it - it gets a spin now and again. Great review!
  • Donnie_Brasco published 29/10/2004
    Its a fab soundtrack!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Pulp Fiction

Manufacturer's product description

1CD(s) - Label:MCA - Distributor:Universal Music - Released:19/08/2002

Product Details

EAN: 8811304324

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/07/2011