Rated R - Queens of the Stone Age

Community images

Rated R - Queens of the Stone Age

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Interscope - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 12/06/2000 - 606949068325

> Show product information

92% positive

10 reviews from the community

Review of "Rated R - Queens of the Stone Age"

published 31/12/2000 | Manx
Member since : 09/08/2000
Reviews : 281
Members who trust : 298
About me :
Good
Pro A new sound to many of us. A lot of quality artists.
Cons Not as heavy as you might expect.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Nicotine,Vallum, Marijuana, Ecstacy and Alcohol"

It’s actually “Nicotine,Vallum, Vicadin, Marijuana, Ecstacy and Alcohol... C-C-C-Cocaine” but that wouldn’t fit into a Ciao title.

Once apon a time there was a band called “Kyuss” and the best way to describe it is “Stoner-Rock”. With the title of this review already in your mind I am sure this will come as no surprise to you. Kyuss went the way of many, many bands in this day and age but from its remains crawled something better.

The Queens of the Stone Age are causing something of a stir. “Who are they?” ask a lot of people. One of the reasons for that question is because the band members seem to change more often than the Striker line up for Liverpool.

The Queens of the Stone Age are listed as an Alt or as a Metal band. This album does not really reflect that, most of the songs are gentle enough even if you might not want to listen to them in front of your mother.

“The Feel Good Hit of the Summer”

This is the song that provides the title of the review... and there is little else in the way of lyrics. This mantra of drugs is accompanied by a catchy tune and lasts for less than three minutes. If you have M2 (poor soul, if you don’t) then you might catch the rather naughty cartoon video if you watch after the watershed. It’s very easy to be harsh on this track, lots of critics have been. I’m easier to please though, this is candy for my ears and I’ll settle for that.

“The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret”

This is a fine song. Josh Homme lets us all know he can sing as well as chant about his favourite hobbies. The song is best described as something of a gentle rock hit. It’s just slightly too harsh to fit into the “ballad” section and if you’ve read my reviews before you’ll know I’m not shy about throwing tunes into that category. This is the Queens most apologetic song on the album and, I think, probably slated for the next single off the album.

“Leg of Lamb”

I don’t know what it is about this song but I’m always reminded of weird 80s, late 70s, pop-rock. If you thought the Queens of the Stone Age were only a metal band then this song will prove you wrong. It’s almost tempting to compare this to Talking Heads. If you’re feeling tender then you’ll have no problem giving this a listen, you just have to be careful that some other song off the album doesn’t slip in by mistake.

“Auto Pilot”

I think you might be wondering why on earth the Queens of the Stone Age are considered to be a metal band by the time this song is half way through. Even by the nu-metal standards this is a lullaby. “Auto Pilot” is almost Indie in sound and would not appear out of place beside “Music is my Radar” (Blur) or, in fact, anything else in the Indie charts at the minute. The only thing which harks a cord back to the roots of the band is the guitar playing, a delicately dangerous attack on the strings at points through out the song keep you in the over all picture.

“Better Living Through Chemistry”

The intro is cool. A knocking of drums and guitar leads you into the embrace of murmured vocals. Then, things seem to die, there’s nothing more than a tremor of sound and you’re left wondering whether “Better Living Through Chemistry” is the shortest song in history - which would be somewhat fitting given the title. Life crawls back into the track though. No words, as such, just vocal sounds back with an increasingly dominant guitar.

“Monsters in the Parasol”

I nearly used the title of this song as the heading for my review; I hope the list of drugs will prove to be a better lure instead. This is also the song where the tempo of the music starts to pick up again slightly, only slightly. It’s the guitar this time that provides the mantra like sound. Homme’s gentle voice swings from the mild mannered vocals which you have become used to in the previous tracks to chapters with a slightly more harsh sound.

“Quick and to the Pointless”

A prize should be awarded for the title alone. The sound here is just a little bit rougher than “Monsters in the Parasol” but not by much. I think that if some Indie fan had picked up the album by now they might start to blink, they (with the exception of “The Feel Good Hit of the Summer”) would have been in safe and familiar waters until now. There are just too many quick attacks on the guitar and too much of a screech in the song to allow this track to remain in the Indie charts. For the rest of us this isn’t a problem.

“In the Fade”

Gentle again, well, for much of the time. “In the Fade” is a more traditional rock song. The rules are better followed here and even though, at times, you might begin to wonder whether the Queens are going to stray off the path again. When the pace picks up, as it does through out the song, it does not go so far or so fast that you can not follow.

“Tension Head”

Ah yes, “Tension Head” starts with a more familiar sound to those of us who are used to browsing the metal and rock sections of the CD shelves. Having said that, this is far from a “Hard” song. A comparison might well be made to the likes of a pissed off Faith No More song or perhaps even an annoyed Sound Garden tune. Since The Queens of the Stone Age have included ex Sound Garden members in the past this isn’t altogether unsurprising.

“Lightening Song”

A guitar ballad and at this stage you wouldn’t be surprise. Despite the Metallica sounding title of the track you’ll find yourself listening to something very mild indeed. It’s an instrumental that could be used to sell cigarettes the world over - if just adverts were still legal.

“I Think I Lost My Headache”

This song gives me a headache. It’s something like eight or nine minutes long where the last half is nothing more than some annoying rubbish. That’s twice as annoying as it could have been because the first half isn’t bad at all. You’ll find yourself listening, again, to a very mild nu-rock sound with intelligent lyrics and discreet instrumental work.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1924 times and was rated at
89% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • SweetTooth93 published 07/03/2009
    9 minutes for songs like these is WAY too long xx
  • LittleTrees published 27/05/2005
    I don't think I have heard this one! Great review! Jane
  • shadylady999 published 20/04/2002
    fantastic opinion, even though QOTSA are my absolute favourite band. This album rocks! Leah
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Rated R - Queens of the Stone Age

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Interscope - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 12/06/2000 - 606949068325

Product Details

EAN: 606949068325

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 05/09/2000