Reckless - Various Artists

Community images

Reckless - Various Artists

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: A&M - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 01/02/1985, 02/1985 - 82839501323

> Show product information

90% positive

5 reviews from the community

Review of "Reckless - Various Artists"

published 16/08/2010 | thedevilinme
Member since : 13/05/2008
Reviews : 2494
Members who trust : 289
About me :
I million ciao community points!
Super
Pro Great soft rock classic
Cons One or two poor tracks
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Reckless but not Rockless"

Bryan Adams is an interesting character, the way Canadians are in comparison to their American neighbours. He's not as simple as his music. Not only does he have a genuine social conscious through his various charities and foundations for the environment he's an accomplished photographer with exhibitions around the world, including the Saatchi Gallery in London. He's not a tedious Bono eco big mouth by any means, but discreet and proactive, the real deal, stamped with the vegan badge of credibility, and greatly respected for that. He speaks fluent French and his song "We're Gonna Win" from his album 18 Til I Die, is dedicated to Cheslea football club, Adams a season ticket holder! Now does that sound like a cool guy or what! If you have ever wanted to know the difference betwen an American rockstar and a Candian one then he's your template. He recently made the news for offering his personal rehab to the over-rated monstrosity that is Amy Whinehouse in his Carribean retreat, his only other home, a distanmct lack of oppulance for a multi platimun selling artiste.

Although the amiable Canadian is an old rocker by image and the music he writes and performs, he actually lives quite a frugal bohemian lifestyle in his Belgravia London house; his front garden as messy as that poor garden designer chap's was in the Daily Mail the other day. Adams just isn't the cliché brash North American rock star and much happier in the more sophisticated European music scene now. Although it got a bit bland for his fans in the late nineties with that ghastly dance track and duets with-amongst many-Mel C and her awful screeching voice on 'When You're Gone', Adams recently returned to his roots with some decent rock soundtrack tunes, at a time his genre is almost forgotten.

Reckless was his breakthrough album, his previous three studio records heavily purchased after this went triple platinum. His style is very much traditional A.O.R. (Adult Orientated Rock), basic guitar riffs and strumming soft rock rhythm guitar with cheesy lyrics, but retains has that true middle American whisky bar boogie feel. There are no real pretensions to him or his stuff and a simple clean white teen shirt and blue jeans on stage is the real man and not a manufactured image. Think Kevin Bacon in the brilliant 'Footloose' and your in the right ball-park.

I wouldn't say he was a great guitarist but I would say his gravelly voice compliments his playing. I like my music simple and I like it to work live, a rock fan since I was knee high to a grasshopper. I can't stand pretentious indie rock and music where it's all about the lyrics and fitting in with your mates at college and as the great Neil Young once said: 'your music finds you not the other way around dude'. This is about your soul. Yes I used to wear tight jeans and dark shades like Tom Cruise in the 80s but your music resonates in your soul and so you don't ever go against the gut feeling. I keep it basic and Bryan Adams is cut from the same cloth.

-Tracks-

'One Night Love Affair'

The title doesn't match the song, this big stomping stadium rock track kicking of this superb album. Its one where the singer stops singing on stage and he holds the microphone to the crowd and they finish of the line for ya.

'She's Only Happy When's She's Dancing'

Great driving track and probably had them reaching for the shades in your soft-top in downtown Vancouver.

'Run To You'

The second most famous track on the album and released as a single here. If ever you wanted to describe what an AOR track sounds like then its this one.

'Heaven'

The first ballad of the album and again released as a single in the mid-eighties. This sort of anthemic track would often sell these albums to rock chicks. Lighters may well be waved at Monsters of Rock to this one.

'Somebody'

Another big production number with Adams distinctive lingering guitars, and again one for the stadium rock audience to get involved. A more raise your hands and clap in unison track.

Side 2-

'Summer of 69'

If you don't know this one you're from another planet. Adams has the guitar on his hip and strums it like no other. Now that is soft rock!

'Kids Wanna Rock'

This is a great rocking track that you can slot in your car CD player and press the peddle to the metal. If Michael J Fox hadn't had sung 'Johnny B Good' in Back to the Future 2 it would have been this track instead.

'Its Only Love'

Another hip swinging, microphone hugging rock tune, again in that stadium rock area. In just as some books are written as screenplays, this whole record was meant for an 80,000 arena.

'Long Gone'

Like most great albums in their genre they tend to tail off, as is the case here, Long Gone, often fast-forwarded, although there is a nice guitar lick in their.

'Aint Gonna Cry'

Whiney album track and by far the worst song on the CD.

-Album List-

1980 Bryan Adams
1981 You Want It You Got It
1983 Cuts Like a Knife (Platinum)
1984 Reckless (Platinum 3x)
1987 Into the Fire (Platinum)
1991 Waking Up the Neighbors (Platinum)
1996 18 til I Die (Platinum)
1998 On a Day Like Today (Platinum)
2004 Room Service (Gold)

Live albums, compilations & soundtracks

1988 Live! Live! Live!
1993 So Far So Good (3x Platinum)
1997 MTV Unplugged (Gold)
1999 The Best of Me (Platinum)
2002 Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron (Gold)
2005 Anthology (Gold)

-Reference links-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bryan_Adams
http://www.amazon.com/Live-Bryan-Adams
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001898/

Summary: Classic soft rock

Community evaluation

This review was read 606 times and was rated at
96% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • RICHADA published 11/09/2017
    Interesting. R.
  • mummytobe78 published 04/07/2016
    Vh
  • danielclark691 published 31/07/2015
    well reviewed
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Reckless - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: A&M - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 01/02/1985, 02/1985 - 82839501323

Product Details

EAN: 82839501323

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011