1st2theba... 1

1st2thebar

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:11.05.2005

Reviews:601

Members who trust:264

Quote-start

Special Delivery??....Not exactly.

Quote-end
05.03.2007

Advantages:
They usually do deliver

Disadvantages:
sometimes they don't deliver

Recommendable No:

18 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (86%):
  1. swindoniansteve
  2. Rosebudwithredroses
  3. Deesrev
and 22 other members
helpful by (14%):
  1. MrBrightside1987
  2. arnoldhenryrufus
  3. ang_2906
and a further member

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I'm like many of us who depend on Royal Mail delivery service and have since my teenage years. I always believed they were a fair company and with Royal in the title; believed it was the case.

My bad experience of using RM Special delivery service started on 8th September 2006. A simple task was asked of RM to deliver a Special Delivery item from Oxford to Glasgow, next day delivery, before 1pm. I paid for 500.00 GBP insurance. The item was a 3G mobile phone with accessories, all in all it was worth just under 400.00 GBP.

Yep.... The item was not delivered; nor ever was. Cutting a long story short. I checked the RM website for track and tracing and found that the item was delivered. I asked my contact whether he had received the item up in Glasgow. No was his answer. The web site was publishing wrong information.....on purpose to cover up a big mistake. What happened was that RM did deliver the item to Glasgow but did not leave a card. The reason why RM had not left a card was that the delivery man could not be bothered to leave 2 cards, so he did left none. Special Delivery eh!!!

The item was sent back to Glasgow sorting office, on 9th September 2006, then sent back to Oxford on 11th September 2006 and on 13th September it went to Belfast of all places...(weird) The 10th September was a Sunday!!! Leaving no time for the recipient to collect, even if he knew it was in the Glasgow sorting office. It is mandatory to leave the item in the sorting office for minimum of (7) days.

I contacted PostWatch by letter and asked for a full investigation, which happened. I received 17.70 GBP in compensation, less than if I sent the item by 1st Class that would of been 32.00 GBP. PostWatch were understanding but totally useless. PostWatch claim they do not have the governing powers to enforce compensation, for my time loss and 500.00 GBP insurance. I was left feeling what is the point of PostWatch? Whats the point in having a postal governing body with no enforcement powers? RM claimed that the address was wrong and so could not deliver, so no compensation will be offered, because RM have done NOTHING wrong.......

On 24th December 2006, the item was eventually sent back to me. The address was correct and confirmed correct 3 times by my contact in Glasgow. Now knowing the full facts of this Special Delivery!! item, with proof of an online cover up, mandatory postal laws broken. I'm going ahead with my claim through the courts, for the full compensation fee, due to this big postal blunder.

Their Chairman will have a surprise this week through the post, (if they send it of course)

Something for him to think about over his cornfakes:)
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Deesrev 25.09.2011 19:58

Lovely concise and candid post xXx

Autarkis 06.10.2009 20:58

Fab first review :)

arnoldhenryrufus 31.03.2009 18:40

interesting first review, although I feel it was in the wrong place - lyn x

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Redirecting Your Mail has been rated:

"helpful" by (14%):

  1. MrBrightside1987
  2. arnoldhenryrufus
  3. ang_2906

and a further member

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Redirecting Your Mail? Click here