glossyflo... 5

glossyflower

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:12.01.2005

Reviews:6

Members who trust:2

Quote-start

Renault Clio Alize 1.4 - 3 door

Quote-end
22.01.2005 (05.08.2008)

Advantages:
Reliable Nippy Compact

Disadvantages:
Small in the back, not a good rearview .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

16 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (20%):
  1. Whinger
  2. janemain
  3. kam76
and 3 other members
helpful by (80%):
  1. ellie05
  2. Quakerman
  3. kitchengoddess
and 21 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I bought this car 5 years ago, it was a good price and at the time of buying I was really impressed.
It looks nice, although I think it's more suited to females, than males (unless you have the Clio Williams, then that is more masculine!)

Features
Central locking
Dual airbags
Engine Immobiliser
Drivers seat height adjuster
3 seatbelts in the back that are all over the shoulder - yes including the middle
Isofix child safety mount system
Electronic mileage and Oil meter
Air conditioning inc recycled air
Radio remote control on the steering wheel
Cigarette/cigar lighter and ashtray (ashtray can double up as a small storage tray - which I use as)
Power assisted steering
ABS
Electric windows
Tool kit with spare wheel

I am happy with my car, haven't had any problems apart from when my electric window wouldn't go up, but it was cheap enough to fix at a local garage. (About £50)

The rearview isn't all that great, as it's smaller, however I think it seemed worse because I traded it for an Escort, who have much larger rear windows.

Getting in and out of the back seats can be a squeeze if you are a larger person or with physical disabilities, go for the 5 door otherwise.

I spent ages one day looking for the hood lever, as I had someone wanting to see what it was like under the bonnet.
I eventually found it - on the passengers side near the door. I've only ever seen them on the drivers side, which is why I couldn't find it.
It's not a problem now, because I know where it is! But it was embarrasing at the time.

The boot looks small, but it's deceptive, you can actually fit a good amount of stuff in it.
My monthly shopping just fitted in the back. But I guess it depends how much you eat!
The back seats are really easy to put down, and lift up.

It sounds silly, but one of my fave parts of the car is the interior lighting. There's none of this 'is it on, off or what?' business. The light itself is the switch, and you can't confuse what setting its on. Flat position, is contolled lighting, push the tilt the light forward for permanent on, and back for permanent off.
You can tell where it is by looking at it.

The fuel tank holds approximately 11 gallons (50 litres). Now, that means little to me, all I know is I use my car everyday, to go to work or out and about the city of Peterborough. Probably on an average week I do 100 miles, and I usually fill it up 3 to 4 weekly to the brim, at roughly £30.

The front and back sides of the car is made of hard plastic material, so you can't dent it. It will push it, and pop itself out again with no damage,
unless you've scratched the paintwork.

Which I don't think is bad at all.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Whinger 30.06.2005 16:06

Good Review. I think its worthy of VH rating! Tim

ilusvm 07.03.2005 15:48

sounds rather good. nice, informative review. Em x

Quakerman 07.03.2005 10:27

I've never had a Renault myself, although I know a Frenchman who swears by them. Harry

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Renault Clio 1.4 »

1 to 3 out of 277 similar offers for Renault Clio 1.4 Show all similar offers
First Line Clutch Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.4 91>98

First Line Clutch Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.4 91>98

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

First Line Clutch Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.1 91>92

First Line Clutch Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.1 91>92

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

First Line Speedo Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.8 91>97

First Line Speedo Cable - Renault CLIO Mk1 1.8 91>97

Manufacturer: First Line

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Renault present the Clio Expression 1.4 16v 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed Proactive - (Auto), Front ...

Product details

Body Type Hatchback
Fuel Type Petrol
Range Renault Clio

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 16/06/2000

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Renault Clio 1.4 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (20%):

  1. Whinger
  2. janemain
  3. kam76

and 3 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Renault Megane 1.5 dCi Hatchback

Renault Megane 1.5 dCi Hatchback

(+) style, cool electronics but slightly gimmicky
(-) reliability

User reviews (13)

Buy Now

Renault Clio 1.2 16v

Renault Clio 1.2 16v

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox, Automatic Gearbox - 1149 cc - Max Speed: 106, 98 mph - 75, 60 bhp - Petrol, Hybrid: Petrol / BioEthanol - Available Trims: Rip Curl, Extreme, Expression, Dynamique, Authentique

User reviews (131)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Renault Clio 1.4? Click here