JULIANMAU... 4

JULIANMAURICE1

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:31.07.2007

Reviews:4

Quote-start

PATIENCE NEEDED...

Quote-end
31.07.2007 (15.08.2007)

Advantages:
Beautiful styling, excellent to drive & very comfortable

Disadvantages:
Really poorly put together interior  -  requires practical know how to put right .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

6 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (38%):
  1. Miskah
  2. minhhon
  3. BloodySpike
helpful by (63%):
  1. Soho_Black
  2. christianfilmcritic
  3. cwestern
and 2 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I have re-written my review as my opinion on the vehicle has altered slightly after owning the car for a couple of months.

I would have to make one point very clear – If you are buying one second hand, you are going to need access to Sadam Hussein’s Swiss bank account in order to get it through a service and MOT. This car is an expensive beast if faults are found. Mine failed its first MOT as it needed new steering parts. The total cost of a 20,000 mile service and repair was close to £1,000.

Also be prepared for some very irritating cabin noises, mine had squeaking door seals, creaking “A pillar” trims and noisy roof lining. I also found out that a replacement windscreen had been poorly fitted, after noticing excessive wind noise and vibration coming from the screen edges and external rubber mouldings when driving at motorway speeds.

Imagine how peeved I was at laying out £10,000 on an 04 Reg model, only to find the cabin sounded like it was going to fall apart – and guess what, none of the problems could be repaired under warrantee...I was gutted and thought “I’m stuck with this crap heap for the next 3 years".

Oh, I forgot to mention, the clutch started slipping as soon as I drove it out of the showroom. Luckily it was due to an oil seal failure and was repaired by the dealer straight away.

So, with the thought of having to drive around in a car that sounded like I was at sea on an Elizabethan sailing ship, I set about dealing with the cabin noises myself as my local Renault Dealers were about as useful as a Chocolate Teapot. Their most experienced engineer suggested removing the dashboard to enable further investigation of the windscreen noise. How much do you think that would have cost?

A trip to Autoglass to get the windscreen re-fitted cured the windscreen and wind noise issue.

Then there was the trim noise coming from the driver’s side “A pillar” trim – Luckily Renault have made it easy to remove the trim and dash parts, a quick investigation found a worn edge on a part of the corner dash trim. I fitted a small piece of self adhesive acoustic foam to the contact area and the noise stopped.

I then shoved a large piece of noise reducing foam into the roof lining, which stopped the clicking noise coming from above my head.

Lastly, and after nearly giving up, the door seal squeaking was fixed by fitting a strip of Nylon Loop tape to the inner edge of the rubber seal on the driver’s door. Now the cabin is completely silent.

So, apart from the slipping clutch, Mot failure, £1,000 service bill, incorrectly fitted windscreen, squeaking door seal, creaking dash and interior trim & clicking noise from the roof lining, I can honestly say I now love this car.

Why? Cos it’s the coolest looking large people carrier in the world, and it’s sooo comfy, roomy, quiet & smooth to drive. Now that it’s running right, it’s gone from “Golden Hind” creaky to Discovery spaceship from 2001 floaty Georgiousness.

Luckily the wife never found out about the massive repair bill as I charged it through my business, and my own initiative and effort fixing the interior only cost around £40 in materials (although my wife was starting to think that I was having an affair as I was sneeking out to test my repairs).

I laid out £10,000 for my Espace which only 3 years ago would have set someone back over £20,000, so it’s a lot of car for the pound, even with the expensive first service and repair.

So would I recommend this car? Definately. Not only have I got huge satisfaction by being able to repair my car myself, but just look at the alternatives? An old shape Ford Galaxy/Sharan/Alhambra, a non-descript Far Eastern lump of metal or a "lets die in an accident " Cheverolet– no thanks, I’ll keep my Espace, it has acres more style, is safer and has Vaa Vaa Voom - nes pa?

Oh no I’m even speaking French now....
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

JULIANMAURICE1 06.08.2007 14:18

I tend to agree but 1. My wife bought an 02 Renault Scenic 1.4 Fiji 18 months ago - she liked it because it was the most comfortable car she has driven - the car hasn't given us any problems at all (so far). 2. A friend of mine used to load cars onto roll-on-roll-off transport ships, he drove literally hundreds of every make of car imported and exported to and from the U.K -& he could tell if a car was going to be faulty by the way it drove. When I asked him which car was consistently the best in terms of numbers driven - he answered "Renaults", especially the Clio, it seemed as though every car drove the same without fault. Oh and the worst was a Ford Transit -

Miskah 04.08.2007 16:25

Very interesting review ♥ßeth.

cwestern 31.07.2007 19:21

You're a braver man than me in buying a renault. Good luck!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Renault Espace 1.9 dCi »

1 to 2 out of 2 similar offers for Renault Espace 1.9 dCi
Fulmen Car battery 12V 80Ah for Renault Espace IV (Diesel) 1.9 dCi 11/2002 -

Fulmen Car battery 12V 80Ah for Renault Espace IV (Diesel) 1.9 dCi 11/2002 -

By Battery. FULMEN batteries are manufactured by EXIDE and this battery is equivalent to ... more

EXIDE EB802 FORMULA range Starting power: 700A
Polarity: + on the right Casing: LB4 - 15% more
starting power compared to a standard battery -
Central ventilation with spark protection - Visual
charge indicator for quick checking of charge
level - Totally maintenance free - Perfectly
conforms to the most demanding car manufacturers'
specifications This type of battery is used to
start equipment or machinery (e.g. vehicles,
trucks, generators). The electrolyte in these
batteries is liquid and this allows for a fast
exchange of the ions between the electrode plates
allowing high discharge rates to be supported.
Please recharge the battery once received and
before the first use to ensure the best possible
performance. Our products are stored in our
warehouse which is equipped with a charging are to
guarantee you optimum quality. As part of our ISO
9001 quality procedure, quality control tests are
frequently carried out on all our products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now
Car battery 12V 80Ah for Renault Espace IV (Diesel) 1.9 dCi 11/2002 -

Car battery 12V 80Ah for Renault Espace IV (Diesel) 1.9 dCi 11/2002 -

By Battery. Starting up intensity : 520A - For vehicles in the high requirements of power ... more

- Ideal for vehicles equipped with numerous
electric consumers - Top of the range product on
the market - Optimal for the diesel engines -
Spread life expectancy thanks to the Powerframe
technology This type of battery is used to start
equipment or machinery (e.g. vehicles, trucks,
generators). The electrolyte in these batteries is
liquid and this allows for a fast exchange of the
ions between the electrode plates allowing high
discharge rates to be supported. Please recharge
the battery once received and before the first use
to ensure the best possible performance. Our
products are stored in our warehouse which is
equipped with a charging area to guarantee you
optimum quality. As part of our ISO 9001 quality
procedure, quality control tests are frequently
carried out on all our products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Renault present the Espace Authentique 1.9 dCi People Carrier with 6 Speed Manual Gearbox, Front (FWD) running on D...

Product details

Manufacturer Renault
Boot Capacity (litres) 2860
Weight 1755

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 28/02/2007

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Renault Espace 1.9 dCi has been rated:

"very helpful" by (38%):

  1. Miskah
  2. minhhon
  3. BloodySpike

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Renault Espace 2.2 dCi

Renault Espace 2.2 dCi

MPV - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Automatic, 6 Speed Manual, 6 Speed Manual Gearbox - 2188 cc - Max Speed: 117 mph - 150 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: Dynamique, Expression, initiale, Privilege

User reviews (5)

Buy Now

Renault Espace 2.0

Renault Espace 2.0

MPV - Front (FWD) - 6 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1998 cc - Max Speed: 115 mph - 140 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: Expression, Team, Authentique

User reviews (8)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Renault Espace 1.9 dCi? Click here