Ripper Street Season 1 (DVD)

Community images

Ripper Street Season 1 (DVD)

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Ripper Street Season 1 (DVD)"

published 30/06/2017 | kiss_me2070
Member since : 11/02/2004
Reviews : 2314
Members who trust : 314
About me :
A huge thanks for all the reads, rates and comments. It's much appreciated :)
Excellent
Pro strong characters, great storyline, good acting
Cons some may not like the gore
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Gripping and Grisly"

Ripper Street Season One (DVD)

Ripper Street Season One (DVD)

= = =
About
= = =
Ripper Street is a British TV series set in Whitechapel in the East End of London and starring Matthew McFadyen, Jerome Flynn, and Adam Rothenberg. The series begins in April 1889, six months since the last Jack the Ripper killing, and in Whitechapel H Division is responsible for policing one and a quarter square miles of East London: a district with a population of 67,000 poor and dispossessed. The men of H Division had hunted the Ripper and failed to find him. When more women are murdered on the streets of Whitechapel, the police begin to wonder if the killer has returned. The first episode was broadcast on 30 December 2012 during BBC One's Christmas schedule and was first broadcast in the United States on BBC America on 19 January 2013. My Dad used to watch this when it was on TV and he told me how good it used to be; how-ever I have only just got around to watching it now. There is a total of 8 episodes in Season One of this TV Series. You can buy this on DVD but I was able to watch this through Amazon for free.

= = = = =
Main Cast
= = = = =
• Matthew McFadyen as Detective Inspector Edmund Reid
• Jerome Flynn as Detective Sergeant Drake
• Adam Rothenberg as Captain Homer Jackson
• MyAnna Buring as "Long" Susan Hart/Caitlin Swift Judge
• Charlene McKenna as Rose Erskine
• Amanda Hale as Emily Reed

= = = = =
The Series
= = = = =
• Episode 1: “I Need Light” – This episode starts off with Detective Inspector Edmund Reid watching Detective Sergeant in a fight. This fight is a little violent and also bloody. Meanwhile there is a small group of small men and women being shown around Whitechapel as they are told about Jack the Ripper and whom his victims were. During the tour, they come across a woman’s body that has been carved. We do see the dead woman, but it’s not that gory and she just has a cut across each eyelid and on her face. We do see her body a few times during this episode though. People start fearing that ‘Jack the Ripper’ is back when they find a message that has been left on the wall near the body. In this episode, we see that Inspector Edmund Reid is covered in scars on his back and some on his chest although it’s not revealed how he got them. There are some scenes of nudity in this episode as well as some scenes of violence, so I think it’s fair to say more can be expected during the rest of the series. I was immediately hooked on the first episode and couldn’t wait to see the next one.

• Episode 2: “In My Protection” – The first scene of this series starts off in a Toy shop. We see a toy maker, making a special box and leaving the shop to go and deliver it to someone but as he tries to deliver it he is chased by someone and despite the toy maker hiding he is found and is found beaten to death. A young orphan boy (Thomas) has been accused of the toy makers murder and is sent for trial for the murder. The scenes in court are very tense as the jury give their verdict. In this episode, we learn a little more about Jackson and his personal life and also a little about Reid as well. There are some fighting scenes and again scenes of violence in this episode, which are mainly in the last 10mins of the episode. In this series, we also learn that Edmunds and Emily’s marriage is strained by the disappearance and presumed dead Matilda (their daughter), something which Emily blames her husband for, choosing to neglect her marriage in favor of charitable works.


• Episode 3: “The King Came Calling” – This series starts off with a man walking through the street and dying a few minutes later. At the same time, we see someone chopping up meat, putting them into bags, painting numbers on them and throwing them into the river. The vicar in the street who tends to the man tells the crowd that he has died from cholera.; although later an autopsy reveals that this is not the case. Meanwhile Emily Reid is trying to help a friend that has been beaten and put into hospital. Within the first 14mins of this episode, it’s already a little gory as they do an autopsy on the man that collapsed earlier. More people in the town are becoming sick and when they find out why they have to track down the man whom is responsible.

• Episode 4: “The Good of This City” –An unreliable slum girl (Lucy Eames) is a witness to a murder. Reid closes in on the killer; how-ever the condemned slum is home to dark secrets that someone is desperate to protect. This episode wasn’t as gory as some others but it still had a good storyline to it and the characters played their parts very well. Lucy Eames is played by Emma Rigby whom I first saw in Holly oaks when I used to watch it; how-ever she has been in other films as well. She played her character very well in this episode.

• Episode 5: “The Weight of One’s Man Heart” – Inspector Reid is puzzled by a military style robbery when stolen gems are returned apart from a blue sapphire. An old familiar face that Drake knows turns up, although Drake isn’t very happy to see him. We also learn that Drake has fallen in love with Rose’ how-ever she gives him the cold shoulder and tells him that she only sees him as a friend. Reid and his team manage to close on in the robbers as they plan to rob ‘The Mint’. In this episode, we see Drake loyalties put to the ultimate test as he has to choose sides.

• Episode 6: “Tournament of Shadows” – The London Dock Strike of 1889 leads to protests in London so the first scenes in this episode show a rather noisy crowd of men on the streets as Drake tries to control them and to calm the situation down. A Jewish anarchist (Joshua Bloom), gets murdered in a bomb explosion, and Reid and his team have to try and work who and why the bomb was planted where it was, wrecking the International Men’s Club. We see Edmund and Emily Reid continue to struggle with their marriage as Emily can’t stop thinking about their daughter. In this episode, we learn how Reid received the burns on it his body, shortly after his daughter disappeared and it’s very clear that Matilda’s disappearance is effecting Edmund as much as it is Emily. It’s quite emotional when we hear Edmund telling a friend about what happened to his daughter.

• Episode 7: “A Man of My Company” – An international shipping magnate, Theodore P Swift, arrives in London with his Pinkerton retinue to complete the acquisition of an ailing London shipping line. The leader of the visiting Pinkerton clan, Frank Goodnight, badly wants to find Captain Homer Jackson. Jackson, however, doesn’t wish to be found and we soon find out why. A body of an engineer is pulled from the river in the first 5mins of the film and Jackson determines what happened to the man before he died. This episode is particularly sad as one of the characters that has been in this series right from the start gets murdered in the same way the engineer was murdered earlier on in the episode. This episode has the kind of ending where you will want to watch the next one straight away.

• Episode 8: “What Use Our Work?” – This episode starts off a little sad as it’s the funeral of someone whom was murdered in the previous episode. Jackson has been arrested for the apparent murder of a prostitute and with Abberline convinced that he is ‘The Ripper’, Jackson faces the death penalty. Reid is desperate to prove that Jackson is innocent. Rose goes off to meet someone as she seeks out a wealthy husband through a lonely-hearts page; how-ever things don’t go as planned when she collapses. Mrs. Reid reports her as missing when she doesn’t return to the shelter where she is currently staying. Reid and Drake suspect that a white slavery ring is operating in their midst, with previous Ripper suspect Victor Silver, at its head. This last episode in this series wasn’t disappointing.

= = = = =
Characters
= = = = =
Edmund Reid is a strong character in the film and it’s clear that he wants to do his best in terms of the law. He is clearly struggling with the disappearance of his daughter, more so that what his wife (Emily) thinks. In some episodes, you can’t help but feel sorry for him as he reveals how he is really feeling and that he partly blames himself for what happened. Sargant Drake is a very likeable character and one that you can’t help feel sorry for, especially when he makes an offer to Rose and she refuses. Drake comes across as a slightly quiet and also very sensitive person; although if he has to use violence, then he will do so. Drake is probably one of my favorite characters in the film and one that I hope continues to stay in the Ripper Series. Jackson is a very likeable character. He’s smart, witty and funny at times, so there’s not much to dislike about him really. Emily Reid is another strong character and it’s obvious she wants to do her best for people, and we can see that when she opens a shelter to help other women. Although a nice character, I am personally not too keen on her.

= = = = = = = =
Overall Opinion
= = = = = = = =
I wish I had started watching this series sooner than I had. Right from the very first episode I was hooked on the series. I don’t think you necessary have to watch every single episode as each episode is kind of like a new story; although there are some things that do follow on such as finding out more about Reid’s daughter going missing and how Drake feels about Rose. Some episodes are a little more exciting than others, but at the same time, I don’t think there are any weak episodes in this series. Each episode got my full attention and I was glued to the TV screen when watching each episode. I think all the actors and actresses play their parts very well with Matthew McFadyen and Jerome Flynn being the main and strongest characters in the series. There are definitely some gory parts probably in nearly every episode, so if you don’t like gore or seeing dead bodies, then this series will not be for you. The make up in the film in terms of the blood and the injuries on the people and the bodies look very good and realistic. There are a total of 5 season of Ripper Street and to be honest I can’t wait to see the next series. This is the kind of series that once you start watching, you don’t want to stop!

= = = = =
Reception
= = = = =
• On Metacritic, this season holds a score of 72 out of 100, indicating ‘generally favorable reviews’.
• On Rotten Tomatoes, this season features a score of 100% based on 17 reviews.
• Critical reception of the initial two episodes was divided with some praising the show's gritty script and good acting performances, and others feeling the show was a mix of ITV's Whitechapel and Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes.

= = = = = = = = =
Other Information
= = = = = = = = =
Certificate: 15
Running Time: 59mins (each episode)
Genre: Crime, Mystery, Drama

Community evaluation

This review was read 62 times and was rated at
92% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • mousy86 published 16/07/2017
    great review x
  • jb0077 published 16/07/2017
    E work.
  • jo-1976 published 07/07/2017
    Great review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Ripper Street Season 1 (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Ripper Street Season 1 (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Genre: Drama

DVD Region: DVD

EAN: 5051561036941

Production Year: 2012

Classification: 15 years and over

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/06/2017