ferd 3

ferd

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:11.07.2000

Reviews:11

Quote-start

Nice, but no cigar

Quote-end
12.07.2000

Advantages:
looks, reliability, depreciation

Disadvantages:
handling, fuel consumption

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Fuel consumption

Looks

ComfortExcellent

FeaturesGood

1 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (50%):
  1. jimstrong
somewhat helpful by (50%):
  1. kingbing

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Although I don't own one, I do get the chance to drive one on a reasonably regular basis. The model I've driven is the 2.0 S, basically the lowest model.
Looking remarkably similar to the 900 model (apart from the headrests and grille), the 9-3 claims to have over 1000 other minor improvements over its older version. Looks wise, there is little question of its aesthetics, especially with the roof down (takes about 20secs to complete).
Its main competitor is the BMW 3-series, and to tell you the truth I'd probably pick the Beemer of the Saab. In Saabs favour are -perhaps- the most comfortable seats you will find, and a glass rear window. The BMW has a plastic window that can be zipped out to replace.
The ride in the Saab, is smooth, but often feels wallowy, especially round a tight corner. This would be attributable to the extra weight to reinforce the convertible and also the Cavalier based chassis!
All of the Cabrio range come with good quality leather seats, and very solid workmanship - feels like you're piloting a vessel at times.
Performance for the 2 litre is approx 11.6 secs 0-60mph, with a 124mph top speed.
The engine is gas-greedy but good at cruising speed.
There are however, nice Swedish touches, such as the dark panel button (knocks out all non-vital dials and lights to reduce glare), and ignition placed beside the handbrake. I believe this is for safety (stops your knees getting mashed up in the event of an accident).
On the whole though, a nice car but there are better ones around for the money.


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Add the first comment!

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Similar offers for Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i »

1 to 3 out of 3 similar offers for Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i
ATEC Starter motor 1,1KW VAUXHALL ASTRA F 1.8 i,2.0 i 1992-98+ CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL CALIBRA A 2.0 i 1990-97; VAUXHALL FRONTERA A SPORT 2.0 i 1992-95; VAUXHALL KADETT E 1.8 S,1.8 i,2.0 i,2.0 i KAT 1987-91 + CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL OMEGA A 1.8,2.0 1986-94 + CARAVAN; VAUXHALL OMEGA B 2.0 1994-98 + CARAVAN; VECTRA A 1.8 S,2.0,2.0 i,1.8 i KAT,2000/GT 16V 1988-95 + CC; SAAB 9-3 CONVERTIBLE YS3D 2.0 TURBO 2002-03; SAAB 9-5 YS3E 2.3 TURBO 2001-10 + ESTATE YS3E

ATEC Starter motor 1,1KW VAUXHALL ASTRA F 1.8 i,2.0 i 1992-98+ CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL CALIBRA A 2.0 i 1990-97; VAUXHALL FRONTERA A SPORT 2.0 i 1992-95; VAUXHALL KADETT E 1.8 S,1.8 i,2.0 i,2.0 i KAT 1987-91 + CONVERTIBLE + CARAVAN + CC; VAUXHALL OMEGA A 1.8,2.0 1986-94 + CARAVAN; VAUXHALL OMEGA B 2.0 1994-98 + CARAVAN; VECTRA A 1.8 S,2.0,2.0 i,1.8 i KAT,2000/GT 16V 1988-95 + CC; SAAB 9-3 CONVERTIBLE YS3D 2.0 TURBO 2002-03; SAAB 9-5 YS3E 2.3 TURBO 2001-10 + ESTATE YS3E

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!BRAND NEW, no replacement costs, NO NEED to
return your old part.Remember: You will only be
charged shipping costs once per order. Buy two or
more items - save on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC 2x Brake hose REAR VAUXHALL ASTRA F 56 57 1.4 i +16V 1.4 Si 1.6 i 1.7 D +TD +TDS 1.8 i +16V 2.0 i +16V +CARAVAN +CONVERTIBLE +CC, CALIBLRA A 85 2.0 i +16V +4x4 2.0 i Turbo 4x4 2.5 i V6, VECTRA A 86 87 1.6 +i +CAT 1.7 D +TD 1.8 i CAT +S 2.0 +i +16V +4x4 +Turbo 2000 16V 4x4 2000/GT 16V +KAT +CC, SAAB 900 2 II 2.0-16 Turbo 2.0 i 2.3-16 2.5-24V +CONVERTIBLE +COUPE, 9-3 YS3D 2.0 i 2.0 SE Turbo 2.0 Turbo 2.2 TiD 2.3 i 2.3 Turbo +CONVERTIBLE

ATEC 2x Brake hose REAR VAUXHALL ASTRA F 56 57 1.4 i +16V 1.4 Si 1.6 i 1.7 D +TD +TDS 1.8 i +16V 2.0 i +16V +CARAVAN +CONVERTIBLE +CC, CALIBLRA A 85 2.0 i +16V +4x4 2.0 i Turbo 4x4 2.5 i V6, VECTRA A 86 87 1.6 +i +CAT 1.7 D +TD 1.8 i CAT +S 2.0 +i +16V +4x4 +Turbo 2000 16V 4x4 2000/GT 16V +KAT +CC, SAAB 900 2 II 2.0-16 Turbo 2.0 i 2.3-16 2.5-24V +CONVERTIBLE +COUPE, 9-3 YS3D 2.0 i 2.0 SE Turbo 2.0 Turbo 2.2 TiD 2.3 i 2.3 Turbo +CONVERTIBLE

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order.Buy two or more items - SAVE
on shipping costs!

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC 1x Brake hose REAR OPEL ASTRA F 1.4 i +16V 1.4 Si 1.6 i +16V 1.6 Si 1.7 D 1.7 TD 1.7 TDS 1.8 i +16V 2.0 i + CONVERTIBLE +CARAVAN +CC, CALIBRA A MK 1 2.0 i +16V +4x4 2.0 i Turbo 4x4 2.5 i V6, VECTRA A 1.6 +i +CAT 1.7 D +TD 1.8 i CAT +S 2.0 +i +16V +4x4 2000 16V 4x4 2000/GT 16V +CAT +CC, SAAB 900 II 2 2.0-16 Turbo 2.0 i 2-3-16 2.5-24 V6 +CONVERTIBLE +COUPE, 9-3 2.0 i +SE Turbo 2.2 TiD 2.3 i 2.3 Turbo +CONVERTIBLE

ATEC 1x Brake hose REAR OPEL ASTRA F 1.4 i +16V 1.4 Si 1.6 i +16V 1.6 Si 1.7 D 1.7 TD 1.7 TDS 1.8 i +16V 2.0 i + CONVERTIBLE +CARAVAN +CC, CALIBRA A MK 1 2.0 i +16V +4x4 2.0 i Turbo 4x4 2.5 i V6, VECTRA A 1.6 +i +CAT 1.7 D +TD 1.8 i CAT +S 2.0 +i +16V +4x4 2000 16V 4x4 2000/GT 16V +CAT +CC, SAAB 900 II 2 2.0-16 Turbo 2.0 i 2-3-16 2.5-24 V6 +CONVERTIBLE +COUPE, 9-3 2.0 i +SE Turbo 2.2 TiD 2.3 i 2.3 Turbo +CONVERTIBLE

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including VAT!

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Body Type Convertible
Fuel Type Petrol
Transmission type 6 Speed Manual; 5 Speed Automatic
Range Saab 9-3
Driven Wheels Front (FWD)
Range + Engine Type 9-3 2.0i
Manufacturer Saab

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i - review by polydeuces

Quote-start A Poser For You Quote-start

very helpful

Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i - review by hahailoveme

Quote-start Saab pleaser Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Review Ratings »

This review of Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i has been rated:

"very helpful" by (50%):

  1. jimstrong

"somewhat helpful" by (50%):

  1. kingbing

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Saab 9-3 1.9 TiD

Saab 9-3 1.9 TiD

(+) Pretty
(-) unreliable`

User reviews (5)

Buy Now

Saab 9-3 2.0T

Saab 9-3 2.0T

(+) Very nippy and good on petrol
(-) none i can recall

User reviews (10)

Buy Now

Saab 9-3 2.2 TiD

Saab 9-3 2.2 TiD

Hatchback, Estate, Saloon, Convertible - Front (FWD) - 6 Speed Manual, 5 Speed Automatic - 123 bhp - Diesel

User reviews (11)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Saab 9-3 Convertible 2.0i? Click here