Samsung ML 2580N

Community images

Samsung ML 2580N

Print Speed: 24ppm mono. Up to 1200x1200dpi Print Resolution. System requirements: Windows 2000/XP/Server 2003/Server 2008/Vista, Mac OS X 10.3-10.6.

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Samsung ML 2580N"

published 16/03/2010 | JeffFromPoole
Member since : 21/12/2005
Reviews : 193
Members who trust : 50
About me :
Excellent
Pro Simple to set up on either a PC or a network port
Cons None really
helpful
Picture quality
Printing speed
Colour sensitivity
Reliability
Ease of use

"Good basic laser printer at a sensible price"

My old laser printer died of old age and printing out drafts of my novel and I decided that a new one was in order.

I won't have another ink jet as they are far too expensive to run. For text you can't beat a laser printer and this one is almost a direct replacement for my ML1620. Ten years ago laser printers were simply too expensive for a home user but now they can be had for less than £100 and a toner cartridge, whilst expensive to replace, will outlast any number of ink cartridge.

I bought this one on line for £75 and as usual did not come with a USB cable. I don't know why people still complain about this, ever since desk top printers have been available they haven't come with cables, this might be a problem if you don't have a spare cable already or if you decide to go to PC World where they will charge a ludicrous price for one. I needed one for work recently and went in there, they wanted £15 for it, I drove on a little further and got one in the 99p shop instead.

As with any printer the set-up is very simple, unwrap the toner cartridge, get it the right way up and place it into the printer, plug it in, put the set-up CD into the computer and follow the instructions, plugging the USB cable in when prompted. It prints quickly, the warm up time isn't too long and the print quality is excellent.
It makes less noise than my old printer and the paper tray holds about 100 sheets comfortably, 150 if you pack it tight. It is simple to operate and can be shared on my network so you can site it any where you can get a cable.
I have also set it up as a standalone network printer, this was very simple, just needing a patch lead and a spare port on the router. Doing it this way means that I don't have to switch on the printer it is installed to if I am in another room.

If you want colour then this isn't the one for you. For printing out homework and drafts of novels it is excellent. The cost per page is very small.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1650 times and was rated at
62% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • brereton66 published 18/03/2010
    These are so cheap now.
  • jesi published 17/03/2010
    So how far have you got on your novel? . . . &#9829 jesi &#9829
  • greenierexyboy published 17/03/2010
    Hopefully it was the old age rather than your novel that did for the old one...
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Samsung ML 2580N

Manufacturer's product description

Print Speed: 24ppm mono. Up to 1200x1200dpi Print Resolution. System requirements: Windows 2000/XP/Server 2003/Server 2008/Vista, Mac OS X 10.3-10.6.

Product Details

Product Description: Samsung ML-2580N - printer - monochrome - laser

Printer Type: Workgroup printer - laser - monochrome

Weight: 7.3 kg

Media Size Class: A4/Legal

Max Media Size: Legal (216 x 356 mm), A4 (210 x 297 mm)

Max Media Size (Custom): 216 mm x 356 mm

Print Speed: Up to 24 ppm - A4 (210 x 297 mm)

Max Resolution ( B&W ): 1200 dpi

Interface: USB, LAN

Processor: Samsung

RAM Installed ( Max ): 64 MB

Language Simulation: PCL 5E, PCL 6, SPL (Samsung Printer Language)

Media Type: Envelopes, transparencies, labels, plain paper, cards

Total Media Capacity: 250 sheets

Monthly Duty Cycle (max): 12000 pages

Networking: Print server - Ethernet, Fast Ethernet

System Requirements: Linux, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows XP, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Microsoft Windows Vista, Apple MacOS X 10.3 - 10.6, Microsoft Windows Server 2008

Microsoft Certification: Compatible with Windows 7

Dimensions (WxDxH): 36 cm x 38.9 cm x 19.7 cm

General

MPN: ML-2580N/SEE

Printer Type: Workgroup printer - laser - monochrome

Printer

Print Speed: Up to 24 ppm - A4 (210 x 297 mm)

Connectivity Technology: Wired

Interface: USB, LAN

Max Resolution ( B&W ): 1200 dpi

First Print Out Time B/W: 9 sec

Language Simulation: PCL 5E, PCL 6, SPL (Samsung Printer Language)

Processor

Processor: Samsung

RAM

RAM Installed ( Max ): 64 MB

Media Handling

Media Type: Envelopes, transparencies, labels, plain paper, cards

Media Size Class: A4/Legal

Max Media Size: Legal (216 x 356 mm), A4 (210 x 297 mm)

Max Media Size (Custom): 216 mm x 356 mm

Media Sizes: ANSI A (Letter) (216 x 279 mm), Executive (184 x 267 mm), A4 (210 x 297 mm), A5 (148 x 210 mm), B5 (176 x 250 mm), A6 (105 x 148 mm), JIS B5 (182 x 257 mm)

Total Media Capacity: 250 sheets

Media Feeder(s): 1 x autoload - 250 sheets

Output Trays Capacity: 80 sheets

Duty Cycle

Monthly Duty Cycle (max): 12000 pages

Networking

Networking: Print server

Data Link Protocol: Ethernet, Fast Ethernet

Expansion / Connectivity

Connections: 1 x USB 2.0 - 4 PIN USB Type B ¦ 1 x LAN - RJ-45

Miscellaneous

Consumables Included: 1 x toner cartridge ( black ) - up to 1500 pages

Compatible with Windows 7: "Compatible with Windows 7" software and devices carry Microsoft’s assurance that these products have passed tests for compatibility and reliability with 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 7.

Power

Power Device: Power supply - internal

Software / System Requirements

OS Required: Linux, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows XP, Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Microsoft Windows Vista, Apple MacOS X 10.3 - 10.6, Microsoft Windows Server 2008

Environmental Standards

ENERGY STAR: Yes

Environmental Parameters

Sound Emission (Operating): 50 dB

Dimensions & Weight

Width: 36 cm

Depth: 38.9 cm

Height: 19.7 cm

Weight: 7.3 kg

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 06/11/2009

Samsung ML 2580N - Review - Good basic laser printer at a sensible price
Home > Computers > Printers > Samsung ML 2580N > Reviews

JeffFromP... 5

JeffFromPoole

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:21.12.2005

Reviews:193

Members who trust:50

Quote-start

Good basic laser printer at a sensible price

Quote-end
16.03.2010

Advantages:
Simple to set up on either a PC or a network port

Disadvantages:
None really

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Picture quality

Printing speed

Colour sensitivity

Ease of use

Value For Money

ReliabilityGood

DesignGood

Range of extra features / functionsSatisfactory

Instruction manualSatisfactory

Manufacturer SupportSatisfactory

19 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (38%):
  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. MAFARRIMOND
  3. brereton66
and 5 other members
helpful by (62%):
  1. BristolBud
  2. ilusvm
  3. wildtinsey
and 10 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

My old laser printer died of old age and printing out drafts of my novel and I decided that a new one was in order.

I won't have another ink jet as they are far too expensive to run. For text you can't beat a laser printer and this one is almost a direct replacement for my ML1620. Ten years ago laser printers were simply too expensive for a home user but now they can be had for less than 100 and a toner cartridge, whilst expensive to replace, will outlast any number of ink cartridge.

I bought this one on line for 75 and as usual did not come with a USB cable. I don't know why people still complain about this, ever since desk top printers have been available they haven't come with cables, this might be a problem if you don't have a spare cable already or if you decide to go to PC World where they will charge a ludicrous price for one. I needed one for work recently and went in there, they wanted 15 for it, I drove on a little further and got one in the 99p shop instead.

As with any printer the set-up is very simple, unwrap the toner cartridge, get it the right way up and place it into the printer, plug it in, put the set-up CD into the computer and follow the instructions, plugging the USB cable in when prompted. It prints quickly, the warm up time isn't too long and the print quality is excellent.
It makes less noise than my old printer and the paper tray holds about 100 sheets comfortably, 150 if you pack it tight. It is simple to operate and can be shared on my network so you can site it any where you can get a cable.
I have also set it up as a standalone network printer, this was very simple, just needing a patch lead and a spare port on the router. Doing it this way means that I don't have to switch on the printer it is installed to if I am in another room.

If you want colour then this isn't the one for you. For printing out homework and drafts of novels it is excellent. The cost per page is very small.

  Write your own review

Share this review on

 

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

brereton66 18.03.2010 00:04

These are so cheap now.

jesi 17.03.2010 15:30

So how far have you got on your novel? . . . &#9829 jesi &#9829

greenierexyboy 17.03.2010 08:42

Hopefully it was the old age rather than your novel that did for the old one...

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Print Speed: 24ppm mono. Up to 1200x1200dpi Print Resolution. System requirements: Windows 2000/XP/Server 2003/Serv...

General

MPN ML-2580N/SEE
Printer Type Workgroup printer - laser - monochrome

Printer

Print Speed Up to 24 ppm - A4 (210 x 297 mm)
Connectivity Technology Wired
Interface USB, LAN

Show all Product Information

Review Ratings

This review of Samsung ML 2580N has been rated:

"helpful" by (62%):

  1. BristolBud
  2. ilusvm
  3. wildtinsey

and 10 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Canon PIXMA Pro-10s

Canon PIXMA Pro-10s

Photo printer - Inkjet - Colour: 4800 x 2400

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 529.98

Hewlett-Packard OfficeJet 200

Hewlett-Packard OfficeJet 200

Personal printer - Inkjet - Black: 1200 x 1200 - Colour: 4800 x 1200

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 185.26



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Samsung ML 2580N? Click here