Saving Private Ryan (DVD)

Community images

Saving Private Ryan (DVD)

Director Steven Spielberg's World War II tour de force chronicles the journey of a GI squad on a dangerous mission behind enemy lines. Led by Captain ...

> Show product information

94% positive

122 reviews from the community

Review of "Saving Private Ryan (DVD)"

published 30/04/2012 | funkyshoes3
Member since : 17/06/2009
Reviews : 101
Members who trust : 4
About me :
Now Red!! Thank you For any E's on my Reviews.
Excellent
Pro Everything
Cons Nothing
very helpful
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Saving Private Ryan Film Review."

Intro and Info:

Saving Private Ryan is an Action-Drama film that was made and released in 1998. Saving Private Ryan was directed by Steven Spielberg who has directed many films like the Indiana Jones series of films. Saving Private Ryan was produced by four people Ian Bryce, Mark Gordon and Gary Levinsohn also Steven Spielberg did produce the film too. Saving Private Ryan was also written by one person Robert Rodat. Saving Private Ryan was made on a budget of $70 million dollars and the film grossed well over $481 million and so it was a huge box office success. The IMDB website rates Saving Private Ryan 8.5 out of 10 and that is based on just under 390,000 votes.

Plot:


On the 6th of June 1944 the day of the Normandy Invasion many American are killed by the built in German Defences, Captain John H. Miller (played by Tom Hanks) is the leader of the 2nd Ranger Battalion and he manages to survive the initial lading in Omaha beach and so he assembles some troops to break through the German defences, they manage to do this and so the troops breakthrough the German defences. In the War department of the United States government General George Marshall is informed that 3 out of 4 brothers have died within days of each other and so he orders that the 4th brother is to be found and brought home and so Captain Miller is sent to find Private Ryan (played by Matt Damon). Captain Miller gathers some troops to go and find Private Ryan and beat through the German Defences.


Cast:

Tom Hanks as Captain John H. Miller

Tom Sizemore as Technical Sergeant Mike Horvath

Edward Burns as Private First Class Richard Reiben

Barry Pepper as Private Daniel Jackson

Adam Goldberg as Private Stanley "Fish" Mellish

Vin Diesel as Private First Class Adrian Caparzo

Good points and Bad Points:


Now I don’t know much about direction but I thought it was also very good with the use of different camera angles, also all the scenes ran well together, and the lighting was really good as well. I think it adds a good effect to the scenes and film and so great directing. With this film being quite a few years old CGI wasn’t really used, it was more special effects and the Special effects in the film were very detailed and very realistic when it was used which also makes the film look better and in my opinion. The Special effects were very good with the guns, explosions and other things all went really well and so they were of a very high standard.

The picture quality was very good which surprised me because this film is 14 years old but there isn’t much of a difference between films nowadays and this film released back then. The sound quality was also very good which again surprised me because of the age of the film but the sounds of the explosions and shooting and everything really was pretty amazing and surprised me because of how good it was. Because the film is 169 minutes long, it is a very long film and in my opinion the film but the film is epic and so the time doesn’t really matter in my opinion as the film really draws you in and keeps you really entertained for the whole 169 minutes and so I could see why it would put people off but it think that the story doesn’t feel stretched or anything and so it is very good.


The acting was superb, some of the well-known actors like Tom Hanks were amazing in this film along with all the other actors and so the acting was nothing short of amazing. All of the Actors also managed very well to show their characters emotions and feelings and so I was very impressed with the acting. Every one of the actors were also very easy to understand and all of the actors spoke clearly.


The story is also well written and the film although is extremely entertaining and kick starts very quickly with action and so the film is action packed and will keep you on the edge of your seat and so the films story is very good and so this film has a lot to offer to a large audience. The story did have a few sub plots not many, but in my opinion the few sub plots along with the main story were more than enough to make a good film and be entertaining. The screenplay is as good as the story it’s dramatic in places and it also has good dialogue. The story is also easily understood and isn’t confusing.

There was a soundtrack in this film and it was amazing, the soundtrack made the film a lot better as the music was very grabbing if that makes sense and it adds to the effect of the scenes especially in the scenes with the fighting and the sadder scenes were the music really is superb. The Music also created some suspense in the film when it was needed and also made the film more dramatic in places. The Music in this film was very good and it also fit the tone of the mood which also added to the overall effect of the movie. Overall a very good and entertaining soundtrack that fit the film perfectly.


I didn’t really find any bad points with his film as I really enjoyed it the only thing that I could see that would put people off would be the length but as I have previously mentioned I thought it was easily watchable, the film keeps you entertained and the film is action packed all the way through and will keep you on the edge of your seat.


Sequels:


Saving Private Ryan was made 14 years ago and there isn’t a sequel and I don’t think there will be as the film is supposed to be a one of and the story can’t really be continued, I suppose they could make a sequel but it think that it is much better off without a sequel as it is an amazing film and I think the story is much better as a single film.


Conclusion:


Overall I really enjoyed watching Saving Private Ryan and think that it was an amazing film. The CGI and Special effects were amazing and were to a very high standard. The story and screenplay provided a very good story and the story is easily followed, the story is also action packed and hugely entertaining. The sound track as I have previously mentioned I thought was superb and the actors all did an amazing job portraying their characters. Overall I really enjoyed watching Saving Private Ryan and I could easily watch this film again and I highly recommend it. Saving Private Ryan is one of my favourite films and although it is a long film it is an amazing film and so I would recommend it to anyone, the film is rated 15 because of violence and language.


5 Out of 5


Highly Recommended


Links:


http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120815/


Thank you for reading my film review, any comments or ratings are appreciated and I will try to rate you all back but if I miss you please let me know and I will rate. This Review may also be posted on Dooyoo.


Funkyshoes3

Community evaluation

This review was read 224 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • shell72 published 30/04/2012
    great film, great review x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Saving Private Ryan (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Saving Private Ryan (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Director Steven Spielberg's World War II tour de force chronicles the journey of a GI squad on a dangerous mission behind enemy lines. Led by Captain John Miller (Tom Hanks), the unit is under orders to track down a soldier, Private Ryan (Matt Damon), so he might return home to his mother in America, where she is grieving the unimaginable loss of her three other sons to the war. The first unforgettable 20 minutes of SAVING PRIVATE RYAN realistically and horrifically depicts the Normandy invasion as Miller. his second-in-command, Sergeant Horvath (Tom Sizemore), and the others in the unit land at Omaha Beach. Before the film began shooting, Hanks and the actors in his squad went through a one-week boot camp in the woods. All the actors, except Hanks, wanted to quit, but Hanks rallied their spirits by reminding them of the incredible tribulations endured by the real veterans of World War II. Production designer Tom Sanders found a beach in Ireland that perfectly matched the landscape of Normandy's. Spielberg gave great credit to the Irish army who helped re-create the Omaha Beach scenes.

Product Details

Video Category: Feature Film

Production Year: 1998

Plot: A war epic which tells the story of four brothers from the same family who are all fighting in the Second World War. On Washington's orders Captain Miller is sent behind enemy lines to bring back the sole surviving brother, Private Ryan. Winner of five Academy Awards.

Country Of Origin: United States of America

Classification: 15 years and over

Genre: War

Colour: Colour

Director(s): Steven Spielberg, Steven Spielberg

Actor(s): Tom Hanks, Tom Sizemore, Matt Damon, Vin Diesel, Barry Pepper, Giovanni Ribisi, Edward Burns, Ted Danson, Dennis Farina, Adam Goldberg, Jeremy Davies, Tom Hanks, Paul Giamatti, Tom Sizemore, Matt Damon, Vin Diesel, Barry Pepper, Giovanni Ribisi, Edward Burns, Ted Danson, Dennis Farina, Adam Goldberg, Jeremy Davies, Paul Giamatti

Release Details

DVD Region: DVD

Studio(s): PARAMOUNT HOME ENTERTAINMENT; TECHNICOLOR DISTRIBUTION SERVICES, PARAMOUNT HOME ENTERTAINMENT; TECHNICOLOR DIST. SERVICES

Catalogue No: PHE 8600, PHE 8362, PHE 8040

Barcode: 5014437860033, 5014437836236, 5014437804037

No of Discs: 2, 1

Release date: 01/11/2004, 01/09/2003, 06/11/2000

Executive Producer: Gary Levinsohn, Steven Spielberg

Featured: Steven Spielberg

Editor: Michael Kahn, Michael Kahn

Screenwriter: Robert Rodat, Steven Spielberg, Robert Rodat

Producer: Mark Gordon, Ian Bryce, Gary Levinsohn, Steven Spielberg, Mark Gordon, Ian Bryce, Gary Levinsohn, Steven Spielberg

Production Designer: Thomas Sanders, Thomas Sanders

Director of Photography: Janusz Kaminski, Janusz Kaminski

Composer: John Williams, John Williams, John Williams

Special Effects: Neil Corbould, Stefen Fangmeier, Roger Guyett

Languages

Main Language: English

Subtitle Language: English

Hearing Impaired Language: English

Technical Information

Dubbing Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1<br>Dolby Digital Surround<br>DTS, DTS, Dolby Digital 5.1 English

Special Features: An Inside Look With The Filmmakers, Looking Into The Past The research The Screenplay And The Vision, The Making Of A Platoon, Boot Camp For The Cast, Recreating DDay Omaha Beach

Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1, Dolby Digital Surround, DTS

Aspect Ratio: 1.78 Anamorphic Wide Screen, 16:9 Anamorphic Wide Screen

Award Information

OSCAR: Best Director 1999 (Steven Spielberg, Steven Spielberg)

BAFTA: Best Achievement In Special Effects 1998 (Stefen Fangmeier, Roger Guyett, Neil Corbould)

Professional Reviews

Review: Ranked #3 in Entertainment Weekly's "10 Favorite Films of the '90s" -- "...[A] masterpiece....One soul-shattering experience..." (Entertainment Weekly, 2000-04-01)<br><br>Ranked #3 in Entertainment Weekly's "10 Favorite Films of the '90s" -- "...[A] masterpiece....One soul-shattering experience..." (Entertainment Weekly, pp.159-60, 01/04/2000)<br><br>...Unprecedented immediacy [in] the battle scenes....Uniformly superb performances... (Movieline, 1999-06-01)<br><br>"...Unprecedented immediacy [in] the battle scenes....Uniformly superb performances..." (Movieline, p.91, 01/06/1999)<br><br>...Soberly magnificent....It is the ultimate devastating letter home... (New York Times, 1998-07-24)<br><br>"...Soberly magnificent....It is the ultimate devastating letter home..." (New York Times, p.E14, 24/07/1998)<br><br>...Sheer gut-wrenching immediacy....[Spielberg] has come of age as an artist... (Sight and Sound, 1998-09-01)<br><br>"...Sheer gut-wrenching immediacy....[Spielberg] has come of age as an artist..." (Sight and Sound, p.34-52, 01/09/1998)<br><br>

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/01/2010