watkins11 4

watkins11

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: Some really lovely members here. Thanks for the messages and for all the E rates and thanks Ciao for the CI win. Loving your work people x

Member since:27.10.2005

Reviews:110

Members who trust:145

Quote-start

Scarpetta - the resurrection?

Quote-end
09.12.2008 (07.12.2008)

Advantages:
A bit better thean the last one !

Disadvantages:
Still not as good as the old ones !

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Would you read it again?

Story

Characters

Readability

How does it compare to similar books?

How does it compare to other works by the same author?

72 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
exceptional by (3%):
  1. lml888v
  2. userisdead
  3. JAVER1967
very helpful by (97%):
  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. Juliet101
  3. Annallon
and 83 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

Kay Scarpetta, Medical Examiner, finds herself drawn into another bizarre murder case. Oscar Bane is the main suspect, but has willingly admitted himself into a New York physciatric hospital- the Bellevue, which just happens to be run by Benton Wesley, Scarpettas husband. So I suppose it comes as no surprise (at least to the reader) when he has asks to be examined solely by Scarpetta. Why? The murder victim is his girlfriend, he strongly protests his innocence, in fact claims to have fought with the unknown assailant and believes Scarpetta is the only person who can help him. But is Oscar just completely nuts? With his claim that his every move has been watched and monitored for months he certainly comes accross a little strange and when his injuries appear self inflicted, it begins to look like an easily solvable case.

Of course, in true Scarpetta style, this is just one of many problems waiting to fall upon our heroine. A rather vicious and popular internet gossip column - The Gotham Gotcha - has taken a sudden dislike to her and posts some vindictive and very personal news about her, including the incident with Marino, her once trusted side kick. (Sorry to be so cryptic, I don't want to spoil anything!) It seems the owner of Gotham Gotcha seems to know a lot about her, but they have gone to extreme lengths to cover their identity. So who can it be?
My thoughts

I like the way the whole thing knitted together, but I had guessed the murderer a fair while before the end and I'm not really one of those readers who tries to work it out, I usually just like to get lost in the book. One thing I haven't mentioned so far is that the victim and the accused are both little people. I really couldn't understand the big reason behind Cornwell making an issue of this and at first I thought it was angling towards them both having anxiety issues because of their size which seemed a bit off. Although when it came to looking into how the murder had been committed and at what angle the murderer would have needed I could see why it affected the story.

The previous novel, 'Book of the Dead ' was quite a disappointment for me (and many other fans it seems). The plot line was scary and gruesome enough, but lacked something I just can't explain, I think there was far too much said from the perspective of the murderer, which ended up feeling like 'filler' for the book. Also the characters who have grown throughout the history of the novels all seemed depressed or angry and had at least one problem each! Cornwell definitely isn't scared of taking a dark turn or twist and suprising us with her characters, but for them all to take a downward turn in the same novel was too depressing.

In Scarpetta, they do seem to be making a bit more effort! Lucy is a lot less moody, Scarpetta a little less cold and Marino? Well for those of you who read the last book, I'm glad to say Marino has dropped the trashy women and seems to be making a return to his old self.

My problems with it are just that though, it's nice to see them getting back on track, but although the previous problems are refferred to, quite a lot in some cases, they are not resolved or even mentioned between the characters and these are serious issues. For a group who are quite fiery and outspoken, I was expecting (and wanted) a good argument.

Also, the 'tech talk' is still a bit too much for me. We all know each character is amazingly brilliant in their field, but please, I don't need to be bored with all the details (or made to feel stupid!) I understand it helps to have an explanation of how Lucy managed to hack into someones computer and unscramble a million deleted files, but can I have it in a condensed, simpleton version please?

Recommended

Yes, Scarpetta fans will be happy that the characters are a little more like themselves and first time readers shouldn't be too lost with the few past references. Although, since getting hooked on my first Scarpetta novel many years ago, I must say that there are quite a few authors I now prefer.

I've very kindly given it a 4 star rating, although I would prefer 3.5.

Patricia Cornwell

After covering the writing feature articles and covering the police beat for the Charlotte Observer, she worked for the Chief Medical Examiners Office in Richmond, Virginia which is where Kay Scarpetta starts out in this series of novels, although Cornwell wasn't actually Chief Medical Examiner herself. Her first Scarpetta novel Postmortem was published in 1990, Scarpetta is the sixteenth in the award winning series. As well as this collection she has also created two other fictional series, written two cookbooks, a childrens book, her own findings on who Jack the Ripper actually was, a biography of Mrs Billy Graham and has also co-written and co-produced a movie - ATF. Busy lady.
Other info

Released 2nd December 2008 by Little, Brown.

Available at Amazon for £8 (at time of posting- 9/12/08)

For info on this book and all the others by Patricia Cornwell, visit www.patriciacornwell.com.

  Write your own review

Share this review on

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Annallon 03.07.2009 18:12

I don't think Cornwell will never be able to return to her previous standards/ :)

MALU 18.01.2009 22:31

I've read some Scarpetta thrillers but have come off them now, too gory!

lml888v 13.01.2009 15:48

Great review, and another crime novel to add to the pile!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Scarpetta - Patricia Cornwell »

1 to 3 out of 10 similar offers for Scarpetta - Patricia Cornwell Show all similar offers
A Dr. Kay Scarpetta mystery Collection Patricia Cornwell 10 Books set (Cause of Death, From Potter's Field, All That Remains, The Body Farm, Postmortem, Body of Evidence,The Front, Blow Fly, The Last precinct,Trace)

A Dr. Kay Scarpetta mystery Collection Patricia Cornwell 10 Books set (Cause of Death, From Potter's Field, All That Remains, The Body Farm, Postmortem, Body of Evidence,The Front, Blow Fly, The Last precinct,Trace)

A Dr. Kay Scarpetta mystery Collection Patricia Cornwell 10 Books set (ause of Death, From ... more

Potter's Field, The Front Point of Origin, All
That Remains, The Body Farm, Predator,
Postmortem,Unnatural Exposure, Body of Evidence)

 Visit Shop  >
Amazon Marketplace
Postage & Packaging:  refer to website
Availability:  refer to website

Penguin Audiobooks Patricia Cornwell Dust (Kay Scarpetta Mysteries)

Penguin Audiobooks Patricia Cornwell Dust (Kay Scarpetta Mysteries)

From the world's number-one bestselling crime writer comes the extraordinary new Kay ... more

Scarpetta novel. Massachusetts Chief Medical
Examiner Kay Scarpetta has just returned from
working one of the worst mass murders in U.S.
history when she's awakened at an early hour by
Detective Pete Marino. A body, oddly draped in an
unusual cloth, has just been discovered inside the
sheltered gates of MIT and it's suspected the
identity is that of missing computer engineer Gail
Shipton, last seen the night before at a trendy
Cambridge bar. It appears she's been murdered,
mere weeks before the trial of her $100 million
lawsuit against her former financial managers, and
Scarpetta doubts it's a coincidence. She also
fears the case may have a connection with her
computer genius niece, Lucy. At a glance there is
no sign of what killed Gail Shipton, but she's
covered with a fine dust that under ultraviolet
light fluoresces brilliantly in three vivid
colors, what Scarpetta calls a mineral
fingerprint. Clearly the body has been posed with
chilling premeditation that is symbolic and meant
to shock, and Scarpetta has reason to worry that
the person responsible is the Capital Murderer,
whose most recent sexual homicides have terrorized
Washington, D.C. Stunningly, Scarpetta will
discover that her FBI profiler husband, Benton
Wesley, is convinced that certain people in the
government, including his boss, don't want the
killer caught. In "Dust," Scarpetta and her
colleagues are up against a force far more
sinister than a sexual predator who fits the
criminal classification of a "spectacle killer."
The murder of Gail Shipton soon leads deep into
the dark world of designer drugs, drone
technology, organized crime, and shocking
corruption at the highest levels. With
unparalleled high-tension suspense and the latest
in forensic technology, Patricia Cornwell once
again proves her exceptional ability to
surprise--and to thrill.

 Visit Shop  >
Amazon UK
Postage & Packaging:  refer to website
Availability:  refer to website

Patricia Cornwell Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel

Patricia Cornwell Flesh and Blood: A Scarpetta Novel

This is in many ways the best of the recent Scarpetta novels, boasting an involving story ... more

and some fine writing. Booklist on Flesh and
BloodDr. Kay Scarpetta is about to head to Miami
for a vacation when she notices seven pennies on a
wall behind their home. Is this a kids game? If
so, why are all of the coins dated 1981 and so
shiny they could be newly minted? Then she learns
there s been a homicide five minutes away. A high
school teacher was shot with uncanny precision as
he unloaded groceries from his car. Yet no one
heard or saw a thing.Soon more victims surface.
The shots seem impossible to achieve, yet they are
so perfect they cause death in an instant. There
is no pattern to indicate where the killer will
strike next. First it was New Jersey, then
Massachusetts, and then the murky depths off the
coast. There she comes face-to-face with shocking
news that implicates her niece, Lucy Scarpetta s
own flesh and blood. Cornwell has created a
character so real, so compelling, so driven that
this reader has to remind herself regularly that
Scarpetta is just a product of an author s
imagination. USA Today Cornwell s instincts are
dead-on. Chicago Sun Times"

 Visit Shop  >
Amazon Marketplace
Postage & Packaging:  refer to website
Availability:  refer to website

Product Information »

Product details

EAN 9780316733144
Type Fiction
Genre Crime
Title Scarpetta
Author Patricia Cornwell
Release Date 08-Oct-12
ISBN 0316733148

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Scarpetta - Patricia Cornwell has been rated:

"exceptional" by (3%):

  1. lml888v
  2. userisdead
  3. JAVER1967

"very helpful" by (97%):

  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. Juliet101
  3. Annallon

and 83 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Six Years - Harlan Coben

Six Years - Harlan Coben

(+) Fantastic writing style that brings characters to life and keeps you gripped
(-) Mushy and lacking believability at times, but done in a readable way

User reviews (2)

Buy now for only £ 3.68

Silent Creed - Alex Kava

Silent Creed - Alex Kava

(+) Memorable characters, engaging writing style, good chapter length, vivid scenes
(-) Not entirely believable

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 6.70



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Scarpetta - Patricia Cornwell? Click here