Seesaw (+DVD) - Beth Hart

Community images

Seesaw (+DVD) - Beth Hart

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Blues - Label: Provogue - Distributor: ADA/Arvato Services - Released: 20/05/2013 - 819873010104

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Seesaw (+DVD) - Beth Hart"

published 19/10/2013 | jcneil
Member since : 16/07/2004
Reviews : 563
Members who trust : 51
About me :
Hi everyone, I am 30 and I mostly write music reviews on here, I also do the odd fragrance review. I used to write on dooyoo but have switched to writing on just ciao now. I will be trying to write a couple of reviews every two days.
Excellent
Pro Great reworkings, Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart, Prodcution
Cons Only covers?
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"A must have seesaw"

**Introduction**

Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart have both carved out critically acclaimed careers in the Music business, They also have a mutual respect for each others music and that as well as their mutual producer Kevin Shirley resulted in the fabulous collaboration on their album of covers together "Don't Explain" which was released in 2011. They have both had solo tours since and also released solo albums with Bonamassa also releasing with his now defunct band "Black Country Communion. I loved "Don't Explain" and really hoped they would record a follow up to the album and roll on two years and they come out with "Seesaw" which is now the subject of this review.

**Seesaw**

Seesaw is the second installment from Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart and like "Don't Explain" it's another cover album. The album features covers of a mixture of old and newer tracks from some very well known artists. The album features the excellent Anton Fig, Carmine Rojas, Arlan Schierbaum & Blondie Chaplin as the backing band, They've long recorded with Joe Bonamassa and toured as well. Kevin Shirley is the Producer again for the collaboration which I was very pleased to hear as he's a fantastic producer and knows both artists so well.

1.) Them There Eyes

This is a cover of the Louis Armstrong track. It's a vibrant Jazzy track with a certain swing about it. The horn's are excellent and the excellent Jazzy guitar from Joe Bonamassa really compliments Beth Hart's lead vocal, He soon lets loose on an excellent Jazz solo which showcases his range and it compliments the overall sound of the song. Beth Hart is on fine form vocally and whilst the song sounds a little dated in parts it is still a very good reworking of the song.

2.) Close to My Fire

This is a sexy, soulful cover of the Slackwax original, It's not one of the most well known tracks on the album but it has a lovely relaxed feel, Beth's vocals are simple yet so effective. Joe's guitar is gentle to begin with and then builds wonderfully. The whole sound is backed wonderfully by the horn section which is delightful. This is one of the best reworkings on the album and showcases the best of Beth Hart's laid back vocals. Excellent stuff.

3.) Nutbush City Limits

Here they cover Ike & Tina Turner's memorable hit which Tina later reworked on her own. That memorable drum part is repeated well and the flowing melodies are there with aplomb as Beth showcases the top range of her voice with a very powerful vocal. This is a real toe tapper of a song that is superbly performed. The horn section is used brilliantly again and Joe's guitar work is again terrific as he produces a solo which is again different to the previous tracks. Great stuff with a real pep.

4.) I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know

Originally recorded by Blood, Sweat & Tears, This track is given the Bonamassa and Hart treatment to great results. Donny Hathaway's brilliant version is the most well known of this song but the vocal performance from Beth Hart is terrific as her voice drips with emotion. Joe's guitar work is back to the Blues style and results in a fine guitar solo which really compliments the emotion dripping from Beth's vocals. This is a fabulous reworking which has beauty, grace and bite in equal measure. Terrific. There are some great versions of this song and this one is right up there with the best of them. The final solo from Joe Bonamassa is just awesome.

5.) Can't Let Go

This is a cover of the Lucinda Williams original, It's a catchy Rock & Roll style track which has a fast paced pep to it. Beth's vocals are expressive and well performed and Joe's guitar licks build perfectly and as the overall musical style becomes more clear it becomes a real toe tapper with a fine flow. Joe's guitar work is again impressive and expansive as he showcases another different style of guitar solo. This is one of the best up tempo tracks on the album.

6.) Miss Lady

This is another vibrant up tempo track, This time it's a cover of the Buddy Miles track. It builds really well and there's some great horn work on show as well as some fine screaming vocals from Beth Hart as well as some fine guitar work on show from Joe Bonamassa of course. This track really showcases the power of Beth Hart's voice to great effect. I love the breakdown which comes half way through before she lets loose again as Joe does the same on a fine solo. Great stuff.

7.) If I Tell You I Love You

We slow things down a bit for a lovely cover of a Melody Gardot track, I really love Gardot as an artist and this is a fine cover of her song. Beth's vocals are in a similar style which showcases her range and the backing has a French Jazz sound which is no surprise when you hear that Gardot lives in Paris. This is a lovely seductive reworking which is subtle yet makes an impact. Joe's guitar work is subtle but very effective. This is a very good song indeed.

8.) Rhymes

This is an Al Green cover which unsurprisingly has an Al Green feel to it thanks to the horns and the funky guitars. Beth's vocals are fluid and well performed and the song develops slowly but once in full flow it really shines. The fine backing vocals add a nice touch to her lead vocals. A great feature of the track is the horn section which is vibrant and catchy and adds to the overall quality of the song. This is a really good song which is topped off by a fine guitar solo from Joe Bonamassa.

9.) A Sunday Kind of Love

This is a fantastic cover of the Etta James original. The punch of the drum is quite stark and the lovely piano and soft gentle guitar plucks are joined by a wonderful string section which is just beautiful. Beth shows her subtle side here with some fine and highly emotive vocals. This track builds wonderfully and develops into a fine track. Beautiful music, lovely vocals and a fine reworking all round. Joe Bonamassa just tops things off with a really fine solo. Terrific stuff.

10.) Seesaw

Here we have the title track from the album, It's a vibrant cover of Aretha Franklin, Beth's vocals are fluid and well performed and the backing music moves along at a fast pace with some excellent horns and guitar licks. The backing vocals are well performed too and this is a very impressive reworking. The vocals from Beth Hart are amongst the best on the album and Joe Bonamassa tops things off with a fine guitar solo which is excellent.

11.) Strange Fruit

Here we have the final track from the album, Billie Holiday's original version was a slower more raw track but Beth's vocals are very well performed and the lovely guitar work from Joe Bonamassa really tops things off. I love the way the song develops with a punchy drum which is simple yet so effective and some gentle piano and guitar. This is a really terrific version which showcases the superb talent and range of Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart.

**Overall**

Whilst I was slightly disappointed when I heard this was another all covers album I was very, very impressed when I heard the album for the first time and it is right up there with "Don't Explain" as a terrific collaboration between Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart. The stand out tracks on the album are truly superb and further enhance my view of them as truly talented musicians. I hope they do another collaboration soon and although I'd like some original material, the way they've reworked these tracks is almost like they are new songs entirely. It's a terrific album.

Also posted on dooyoo as Lakerfanster

Community evaluation

This review was read 293 times and was rated at
89% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • frofrog published 20/10/2013
    Great review !
  • mozzie76 published 19/10/2013
    Good review
  • MsTricia published 19/10/2013
    fab review x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Seesaw (+DVD) - Beth Hart

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Blues - Label: Provogue - Distributor: ADA/Arvato Services - Released: 20/05/2013 - 819873010104

Product Details

EAN: 819873010104

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 22/04/2013