Songs from Oliver - Various Artists

Community images

Songs from Oliver - Various Artists

1 CD(s) - Show - Label: Castle Pulse - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services, Universal Music - Released: 26/08/2002 - 5016073760524

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Songs from Oliver - Various Artists"

published 04/05/2007 | jemma20
Member since : 16/08/2006
Reviews : 6
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Excellent
Pro brings home some musical magic!
Cons could be a better quality recording!
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"oliver songs from oliver"

Contains the amazingly catchy songs from the musical! A must have for any musical fanatic! It really does bring home a bit of the magic from the musicals! i would consider it a 5* sound track and i completely one hundred and ten percent recomend it! This sound track will take you on a journey as if you were watching the actual musical! The catchy songs will have you asking 'please sir can i have some more' lol! I only wish that i had purchased it sooner than i did! The only draw back is that the songs could be of a better quality recording than they actually are, but by all means they are not bad by a long shot! A worthy purchase and a must have for any person who claims to like musicals music collection! This soundtrack contains all the favourites. The track listings are as follows;
1. Who Will Buy
2. Oliver
3. Food Glorious Food
4. Where Is Love
5. You've Got To Pick A Pocket Or Two
6. Consider Yourself
7. Be Back Soon
8. I'd Do Anything
9. As Long As He Needs Me
10. Reviewing The Situation
11. It's A Fine Life
12. Where Is Love
13. Oom Pah Pah
14. Who Will Buy

Well worth the purchase!

The musical is set in victorian times and is a proper rags to riches tale of a young boy named oliver and follows his struggles as he is sold by mr brumble the workhouse master for asking if he can have some more food! After he gets sold he runs away where he bumps into the Artful Dodger a young cheeky chappie who is a pickpocket . Artful dodger takes oliver under his wing and teaches him the tricks of the trade along with other young boys who are pickpockets and their master Fagin! On olivers first day as a pickpocket he gets caught and ends up in court where a witness steps forward and rescues him from being sent down and the victim of the pickpocket takes oliver home with him to live. Once Oliver has settled into his new home, the cruel Bill Sykes, with the help of Nancy grab him and take him back to Fagin's. Nancy has a soft spot for Oliver and is worried for him when Bill Sykes becomes interested in him, so she goes to see the wealthy Mr Brownlow that had taken Oliver in she arranges to meet with him to give him back oliver but a dreadful fate awaits her and oliver, will oliver get his happy ever after?

My all time favourite song from the cd is where is love as this for me proved to be very thought provoking and emotional as you can see exactly why oliver is thinking that way after the trials he has been through. The cd runs for approximately 75mins and considering it cost me less than a fiver it is well worth it!
This soundtrack takes through the musical journey of the film and tells you the story basically through song! A five star product!

Community evaluation

This review was read 3738 times and was rated at
55% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • povall_666 published 05/05/2007
    Classic! I remember singing these ina primary school production. Nice review. Adam.x
  • MAFARRIMOND published 05/05/2007
    Re-rated with pleasure. Maureen
  • kineticspade published 05/05/2007
    Needs alot more info to get a higher rating take a look at other reviews to get an idea of whats needed if you add to this let me know i will gladly re-rate
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Songs from Oliver - Various Artists"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Songs from Oliver - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Show - Label: Castle Pulse - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services, Universal Music - Released: 26/08/2002 - 5016073760524

Product Details

EAN: 5016073760524

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011