Songs of Freedom - Bob Marley

Community images

Songs of Freedom - Bob Marley

4 CD(s) - Roots Reggae - Label: Island, Tuff Gong - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 29/11/1999 - 731451443220

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Songs of Freedom - Bob Marley"

published 25/06/2007 | moogleman
Member since : 03/06/2007
Reviews : 9
Members who trust : 8
About me :
Excellent
Pro all of his best songs in one brilliant box set
Cons there are none!
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Songs Of Freedom best Marley album ever"

Well what can i say?

This cd box set is everything you will ever need when it comes to Bob Marley his life and his music. This has got to be the biggest review written but due to the shear size of this album I cant possibly talk about individual songs.

BOB MARLEY- SONGS OF FREEDOM

This album has been released a couple of times, firstly on the 6th of october 1992 then again in 99.

Label: Tuff Gong
Genre: Reggae
Length: Aprox. 4 hours

This is a four disc box set with Bobs first song Judge Not recorded in 1962, to a live version of Redemption Song, recorded in 1980 at his last ever concert.

Front Cover: Is a dull black merging into an amber glow with a picture of a relatively youthful Bob playing his guitar with a spliff burning in his hands (the latter edition removed the spliff)

Inside the case: The case opens like a book with two cds one side, two on the other and a booklet in the middle spanning the life of Marley. These cds are set in chronilogical order, when you remove each cd there is a picture of Bob taken around the time that the music contained in each cd was recorded.

As this compilation is all about Bob Marley I feel it is relevant to talk about his Bob and his life.

Robert Nesta Marley was born in Nine Mile, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica on the 6th of February 1945.

His dad was called Norval Sinclair Marley, he was born in 1895, he was a white Jamaican with English family from Sussex. Norval was a Marine officer and captain, as well as a plantation officer, He married Cedella Booker,an eighteen-year-old black Jamaican.

Bob's parents split up soon after Bob was born and died ten years later leaving Bobs mam unable to cope without maintanance from her estranged partner. They moved to Kingston Jamaica where Marley was bullied for being half caste. He soon was known as Tuff Gong because he learned self defence.

Bob like many other young Jamaicans dreamed of becoming famous through music and met up with Peter Tosh and Bunny Livingstone who shared Bobs passion for music and desire to become famous.

Bob later formed the Wailers with Bunny and Peter and had massive hits with Simmer Down and Soul Rebel.

Catch A Fire, the Wailers first album was released worldwide in 1973, and sold well. Burnin followed a year on.Up,

In December 1976,Bob conducted a free concert called Smile Jamaica organized by the Jamaican Prime Minister Michael Manley Before the concert gunmen tried to kill Bob at his house. Marley was treated with minor injuries in the chest and arm. The shooting was politically provocted as many felt the concert was really a support rally for Manley. however the concert went ahead and an injured Bob sang as promised

Marley moved to England in 1976 where he recorded his Exodus and Kaya. Exodus was in the British charts for 56 weeks.

In July 77 Bob was diagnosed with cancer, he fought against the cancer and would have maybe recovered if it wasnt for his religion stopping him getting his foot amputated. Bob died on May 11, 1981.

So songs of freedom and the book that comes with it is a fascinating journey through the life of Bob with live performances and old rehersal recordings this is the biggest boldest album ever released. I would like to go through the tracks on the album now.

CD 1:

Judge Not"
One Cup of Coffee
Simmer Down
I'm Still Waiting
One Love / People Get Ready"(original)
Put It On
Bus Dem Shut (Pyaka)
Mellow Mood (original)
Bend Down Low
Hypocrites
Stir It Up (original)
Nice Time
Thank You Lord (original)
Hammer
Caution
Back Out
Soul Shake Down Party
Do It Twice
Soul Rebel
Sun Is Shining
Don't Rock the Boat
Small Axe
Duppy Conqueror
Mr. Brown

CD 2:
Screw Face
Lick Samba
Trenchtown Rock (alternative mix)
Craven Choke Puppy
Guava Jelly
Acoustic medley
I'm Hurting Inside (alternative mix)
High Tide or Low Tide
Slave Driver
No More Trouble
Concrete Jungle
Get Up, Stand Up
Rastaman Chant
Burnin' and Lootin'
Iron Lion Zion
Lively Up Yourself
Natty Dread
I Shot the Sheriff (live)

CD 3:

No Woman, No Cry (live at The Roxy)
Who the Cap Fit
Jah Live
Crazy Baldhead
War
Johhny Was"
"Rat Race
Jamming (12" mix)
Waiting In Vain (advert mix)
Exodus (12" mix)
Natural Mystic
Three Little Birds (alternative mix)
Running Away
Keep on Moving (London version)
Easy Skanking
Is This Love (horns mix)
Smile Jamaica
Time Will Tell

CD 4:
Africa Unite
Survival
One Drop
One Dub
Zimbabwe
So Much Trouble in the World
Ride Natty Ride (12" mix)
Babylon System
Coming In From the Cold (12" mix)
Real Situation
Bad Card
Could You Be Loved (12" mix)
Forever Loving Jah
Rastaman Live Up
Give Thanks and Praises
One Love / People Get Ready"(12" mix)
Why Should I
Redemption Song (live in Pittsburgh)

I would now like to tell you my top ten songs on this big album.

1. Acoustic Medley,
2. Bad Card
3.Rastaman Live Up
4.Forever Loving Jah
5.Jah Live
6.Concrete Jungle
7. Judge Not
8.Rastaman Chant
9.No Woman No Cry
10. Redemption Song

Even though every song from Legend is on this album the best tracks are the ones that you wont have heard, they are little gems that will grow on you. You literally will not get sick of this fantastic album. I have all the Tuff Gong cds and am still finding tracks I havent listened to that are really class.

Now be careful when buying this because you can get ripped off (55 quid in Virgin Megastore. I paid 25 from CD WOW which was a bargain but even better check out Amazon and Ebay I have seen some real bargains on there.

Loook after this cd too as the carboard case can start to get battered round the edges.

for more information on this great artist visit www.bobmarley.com

Thanks for reading
Phil

Community evaluation

This review was read 2168 times and was rated at
64% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • ZoltanLouis published 28/03/2008
    Excellent review
  • Soho_Black published 23/07/2007
    This looks to be a track listing and a biography, with very little that is specifically about the album in question.
  • BNibbles published 23/07/2007
    Sounds like my kind of 'catch-up' album. I like Marley but I've only got a trickle of his stuff on compilations. Bloody hell, £55 's steep for the kind of album that it is. Lucky you spotted some other deals.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Songs of Freedom - Bob Marley

Manufacturer's product description

4 CD(s) - Roots Reggae - Label: Island, Tuff Gong - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 29/11/1999 - 731451443220

Product Details

EAN: 731451443220

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011