Songs of Sanctuary - Karl Jenkins

Community images

Songs of Sanctuary - Karl Jenkins

1 CD(s) - New Age - Label: Venture - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 28/07/2003 - 724381126929

> Show product information

90% positive

2 reviews from the community

Review of "Songs of Sanctuary - Karl Jenkins"

published 13/09/2006 | SScott764
Member since : 08/08/2005
Reviews : 31
Members who trust : 9
About me :
Excellent
Pro Good music
Cons One very long track
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Adiemus"

Released in 1995, Adiemus: Songs of Sanctuary is the first album by Welsh composer Karl Jenkins as part of the Adiemus project. This album quickly garnered critical acclaim as the title track "Adiemus" had been previously well received during its use in a Delta Air Lines television commercial and release on the album Pure Moods. This CD is a good introduction to the Adiemus music collection contains the following tracks:

1. Adiemus - This track has been used as the opening theme to the Children's series 'Testament' and this is where I know it from. However, I believe that it may have been used elsewhere as well. This track really is a great opening to the CD and a wonderful track to listen to. One of my favourite tracks from the CD.
2. Tintinnabulum - This track is the worst on the CD, in my opinion. It is 11 minutes long which is a very long time to listen to one track and although the music is good, and of as a good a standard as the other tracks, the length ruins it and makes it, for me, one of the worst on the CD.
3. Cantus Inaequalis - This track starts with what sounds like an ancient chant which then turns into a faster, sung version of the same sort of thing which is deveolped into a great piece of music. Another great track on the CD.
4. Cantus Insolitus - This is a very quite piece which doesnt build very much throughout, although it does increase in tension and climaxes in a few places, before going back to the quietness again. It is an interesting piece, not quite spooky, but the Adiemus equivilant of that i.e. loads of tension is built up throughout. Generally this isnt too bad - not one of my favourites, but still a good track.
5. In Caelum Fero - This has a strange, short introduction and then leads into the main tune which is amazing. It has the same rhytmic ostinato (a repeating rhythm) accompaniment throughout most of the piece, and a brilliant melodic line, with great harmonisation below it in the other voices, which create such a wonderful piece of music. It is totally different to the first track, which was an introdcution to Adiemus. This, on the other hand, is a great track once of a similar standing to the other ones i.e. it isnt a famous piece of music, but it is an amazing one none the less.
6. Cantus Iteratus - This also has a strange introduction, one sung A Capella, and then the same vocal line continues over a sparse percussion accompaniment. It doesnt really build up to anything spectacular, in fact during the first half it doesnt really build at all and only in the second half of the piece does it begin to get good. The ending is another piece of amazing music, but the first theme, which comes at the very end, ruins this great tune. Overall it is an average track, with a really good bit in the middle.
7. Amate Adea - This track has a sad, 'romantic' feel to it. It is one of the more relaxing, pensive tracks on the CD and is a good piece of music, especially for those times where you feel too 'depressed' to do anything except listen to 'sad' music. A great piece of music, though, and well worth listening to.
8. Kayama - This is another great piece of music. In this track there are some interesting rhythms used, but other than the interest created by these rhythms there isnt very much else that is wonderful about the track. Another average track.
9. Hymn - This definitely is not what the title suggest it could be, and is definitely not in any way similar to the Chorales of Bach, or the typical church hymn tunes you might find. It is more like the 'Hymn to the Fallen' from Saving Private Ryan, and more that type of hymn than an actual song tune. Nonetheless it is a good track, and a good way to finish the CD.

This CD has some absolutely marvellous tracks on it and then, like every CD, there are other ones that arent as great - but they are still of a good standard. This CD is well worth buying and is definitely one of the best Adiemus CDs that I have heard. This can be bought from amazon.co.uk at £9.99 or for £6.25 Used & New or from 101cd.com at £6.99. It definitely is well worth listening to as it has many great pieces of music on it.

Community evaluation

This review was read 685 times and was rated at
95% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • shirley49 published 14/09/2006
    I had never heard of this but it sounds quite amazing
  • HungryHungarian published 14/09/2006
    Great review, I love Adiemus! It was such an original sound when it was first released. Michael
  • wonder1607 published 13/09/2006
    good review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Songs of Sanctuary - Karl Jenkins

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - New Age - Label: Venture - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 28/07/2003 - 724381126929

Product Details

EAN: 724381126929

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011