jacksonan... 4

jacksonandy

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:08.08.2000

Reviews:68

Members who trust:4

Quote-start

PS/2 Slimline a real tonic from Sony

Quote-end
08.05.2006

Advantages:
small and sexy

Disadvantages:
is it a fragile kitten

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Graphics capability

Range of Extra Features (I.e. email)

Sound capability

Value For Money

Ease of useExcellent - very easy to use

Manufacturer SupportSatisfactory

Instruction manualSatisfactory

10 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. lisa2062
  2. HotBabes
  3. Soho_Black
and 15 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I should start by saying that I am not part of the PlayStation generation, I'm 44 and my first introduction to gaming outside of arcades was awarded to me as the result of an on line competition when I won a good old PSOne (yes, people do win those draws), that was about 7 or 8 years ago I guess.

About 5 years ago I upgraded to the original PS/2 and have enjoyed many late nights / early mornings gaming on that till about 8 months ago when it gave up the ghost. With the launch of PS/3 'imminent' I thought I could wait for that - but Oh No it gets delayed and delayed again and my patience runs out. So a couple of weeks ago I find myself on Amazon making an impulse buy of the new slimline PS/2.

What a FANTASTIC little piece of kit, Sony have done wonders in reducing size and weight, primarily it must be said by making the power supply external and resorting to a top loading disc instead of the drawer arrangement on the original PS/2.

The effect is a totally sexy little console.

Here are the specifics:

> Internal volume has been reduced by 75 percent over the current model
> Overall weight has been halved
> Thickness trimmed down to 2.8 cm (thickness of current model is 7.8 cm)
> Size reduction over the original has to be seen to be believed.
> Equipped with an integrated Ethernet port and modem port for online play
> 2 controller ports (one supplied)
> 2 memory card ports (none supplied)

So as you can see it retains all the functionality of the old PS/2 but with the benefit of making it highly portable.

Apart from the very impressive size / weight saving the biggest benefit for me is no more drone of the old infernal internal fan to keep the inboard power supply cool - that was the worst feature of the PS/2 over the PSOne in my book anyway.

On the down side, the disc lid and the eject and power buttons all feel very flimsy and to properly switch the machine off you have to remove the AC lead from the back of the machine - I'm not a fan of leaving appliances on stand-by - anal I know, but remember I'm an old git of 44!!.

I hope I'm wrong but I get the feeling this size and weight challenged PS/2 isn't going to be nearly as robust as the earlier model and I'd be concerned about letting small children near it.

OK, so if you're not familiar with any PS/2 what can you expect?

Games are backward compatible to the PSOne.

Graphics obviously are dependant on the game you are playing, but on the whole they are adequate rather than good or brilliant in my experience, there isn't a vast improvement over PSOne.

Speed of loading games is also dependant on what you are playing, but it gives you time to settle back in your favourite chair and make sure the phone is unplugged before you begin play.


The controller functions are easy to use for hands of all sizes, although the handset itself isn't exactly an ergonomic victory - looking rather dated these days. Roll on PS/3.

You get the ability to watch your favourite DVD's although I haven't checked for region compatibility, if you're going to use this function I would strongly recommend the purchase of the DVD Remote, as functionality via the controller leaves a lot to be desired.

There are reports of some games freezing on this machine but this seems to be overcome by simply unplugging from the mains if it isn't going to be used for any period of time - not exactly a hardship.

Finally and most importantly - how much? Well, I paid around £97 from Amazon, that's a saving of around £10 over the High St. I could have got it cheaper (just) elsewhere from an on-line shop I'd never heard of, but Amazon have never let me down and I like to stick with suppliers I can rely on.

Am I glad I bought it, a resounding YES, specially with our British summer doing it's usual tricks outside.


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

masterblaster1982 09.05.2006 12:35

Great review, sony make the best consoles dont they??? The PS3 is now going to be out world wide in Nov 2006, it may cost £450 tho. Eddie

belfin 09.05.2006 11:50

My mum and dad are addicted to the PS2 games and they are 68 and 63. They did used to like the old Spectrum though so I should have guessed they would get into this too. Belinda

Kab182 08.05.2006 22:12

great review dude :) i still cant beleive how tiny thyve managed to make it

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Compare prices »

1 to 6 out of 6 offers for Sony PlayStation 2 - Slimline Model (PS2)   Sorted by: Price 
Sony PlayStation 2 Slimline Console (Black) - PlayStation2

Sony PlayStation 2 Slimline Console (Black) - PlayStation2

Internal volume has been reduced by 75 percent Overall weight has been halved Thickness ... more

trimmed down to 2.8 cm (thickness of current model
is 7.8 cm) Size is almost as small as a hardcover
book, making it easier to carry around and enjoy
games and DV E...

4 more offers (£126.75 to £463.00) from this merchant

amazon marketplace videogames

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace v...
Postage & Packaging£3.49
AvailabilityUsually dispatched within 1-2 business days...
amazon marketplace videogames

Product Information »

Product details

Type Home Console
Console Type PlayStation 2
Long Name PlayStation 2 - Slimline Model (PS2)
Production Year 2000
Media Format DVD
Max Number of Players 2
Manufacturer Sony
EAN 0711719770602

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Sony PlayStation 2 - Slimline Model (PS2) has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. lisa2062
  2. HotBabes
  3. Soho_Black

and 15 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Sony PlayStation 3  (PS3)

Sony PlayStation 3 (PS3)

Home Console, Playstation 3 - Media Format: Blu-Ray - Controller Slots: 7 - Release Year: 2007

User reviews (383)

Buy now for only £ 161.55

Sony PlayStation 4 (PS4)

Sony PlayStation 4 (PS4)

Home - Media Format: Blu-Ray - Controller Slots: 7 - Release Year: 2013

User reviews (8)

Buy now for only £ 189.99

Sony PlayStation Vita (Wi-Fi)

Sony PlayStation Vita (Wi-Fi)

Portable Console - Media Format: Internal Memory - Controller Slots: 1 - Release Year: 2012

User reviews (13)

Buy now for only £ 126.62



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Sony PlayStation 2 - Slimline Model (PS2)? Click here