Review of "Split (DVD)"

published 04/11/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 976
Members who trust : 120
About me :
Excellent
Pro Incredible acting and a tense storyline
Cons None for me
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"James McAvoy gives 1000% in all his roles in 'Split'"

Split (DVD)

Split (DVD)

-•- Split-•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

I have to say I have started to watch some shocking films on Sky Cinema recently- most getting switched off after around 15 minutes, and I wasn’t expecting much different from this one; however, I did watch it all – impossible not to - I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed this film.
I do have to say, that while trying not to give away any spoilers, it is very difficult to review this film without giving a little away about it; I will attempt to keep this to the very minimum.

-•- Tagline-•-

.
Kevin has 23 distinct personalities. The 24th is about to be unleashed.
-•- Genre-•-

• Horror
• Thriller
-• Film-•-

“An individual with multiple personalities can change their body chemistry with their thoughts.”


' Split 'is a 2016 psychological horror-thriller film written and directed by M. Night Shyamalan (probably best known for his film ‘The Sixth Sense’) and is a standalone sequel to the 2000 movie ' Unbreakable; from the same director/writer, although it is
not marketed as a sequel, Bruce Willis reprises his role as David Dunn from 'Unbreakable' in a short uncredited cameo role.

Film Details

Directed by M. Night Shyamalan
Produced by M. Night Shyamalan, Jason Blum and Marc Bienstock
Written by M. Night Shyamalan
Cinematography Mike Gioulakis
Release date January 20, 2017 (United States)
Running time 117 minutes
Classification 15
-• The Trailer •-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84TouqfIsiI

-• -The Story -•-

The film opens at the aftermath of a teenage girl's birthday party; Claire (played by Haley Lu Richardson) had only invited an outsider classmate Casey (played by Anya Taylor-Joy) was invited out of pity. As Claire's father (played by Neal Huff) is waiting to take Casey and her friend Marcia (played by Jessica Sula) home, Casey calls for a ride home but is told the car has broken down - to the other two girl's dismay, Claire's dad insists that she go home with them.
However, as he packs Claire's presents in the boot, Mr. Benoit is overpowered by Kevin – or Dennis - am angry-looking OCVD sufferer, who takes the car and the three girls.

Kevin keeps the girls locked up in his basement, and as his therapist, Dr. Karen Fletcher (played by Betty Buckley) probes deeper into his Kevin's disorder, the girls have to try and escape before the new and sinister 24th personality that is being prophesised, reveals itself.

Not much of a summary I know, but to tell you any more would spoil the film fo you.
-• -The Main Cast -•-

James McAvoy as Kevin Wendell Crumb
Anya Taylor-Joy as Casey Cooke
Izzie Coffey plays a 5-year-old Casey.
Betty Buckley as Dr. Karen Fletcher,
Haley Lu Richardson as Claire Benoit
Jessica Sula as Marcia,
Brad William Henke as John
Sebastian Arcelus as Mr. Cooke
Neal Huff as Mr. Benoit
Kim Director as Hannah.
Bruce Willis as David Dunn (uncredited).

-• - Acting -• -

I need to say just two words …. James McAvoy!!

James McAvoy was absolutely exceptional in this film as Kevin Wendell Crumb, a sufferer of DID (dissociative identity disorder), who has 23 different personalities. I cannot believe that he didn’t get an Oscar nomination for this role. McAvoy plays Kevin, a victim of childhood abuse who has developed a deep state of dissociative identity disorder (DID) and has created the 23 diverse personalities, some more sinister than the others, to cope with his disorder. We don’t get to see all of these personalities, instead, the director, Shyamalan, develops just a few of them – Dennis, Patricia, Hedwig and Barry. With changing accents and body language and just a few minor costuming changes, McAvoy is able to transform from an angry OCD sufferer, to a very camp fashion designer, to a polite British woman, Patricia, to a precocious young boy, Hedwig; and he manages to slip from persona to persona seemingly effortlessly.

There are only four more important characters in the film; first there are the three kidnapped girls, Claire (Haley Lu Richardson) and Marcia (Jessica Sula) are really just there to make up the numbers, they’re not really important to the story and don't have a lot of screen time. They are pretty mediocre in their roles, a bit ‘girlie’ and their dialogue feels a little forced and with a lot of nonsense.
However, Anya Taylor-Joy as Casey Cooke is incredible, her character has an intriguing story in its own right and, despite being the trouble maker and unpopular at school, she quickly assumes the leadership of the group after their capture.

Betty Buckley also gives a really good interpretation in her role of Dr. Fletcher, Kevin’s therapist, through her we learn a lot more about Kevin and his disorder. Her scenes show us how Kevin manages to survive in the real world, despite his many persona.

-• -My Opinion -•-

Considering I am probably one of the only people who hadn’t worked out about Bruce Willis in “The Sixth Sense” until the very end of the film, I am perhaps not the best person to review this one!!
I hadn’t really read the bumph about this film until. I downloaded it and just recall seeing the word ‘psychological’, so when the film started with a shot of an obviously troubled teenage girl, my initial thoughts where that this was going to be a film along the lines of “Girl Interrupted”, a few minutes later I thought that it was going to be typical kidnapping film. However, it took less than ten minutes for me to realise that this was a very different film.
Most of the action concentrates on the three young girls as they struggle to understand Kevin, and as a viewer you sense that feeling of dread as they try to understand who Kevin- and all his alto egos - are. The storyline indicates the arrival of a 24th dreaded personality – ‘The Beast- - which may or may not exist, we're never really sure. All we know is that Kevin, as the young boy Hedwig lisps to the girls - “He’s coming for you”

I think that what added to the tension in the film was the small cast and the limited locations used, these locations were either in Kevin’s basement (but the basement to what?) or in the therapists’ office
There are also some flashbacks to Casey’s life which give some insight into her problems.

The whole story is undoubtedly a rather ridiculous idea, but the film certainly builds an incredible amount of suspense at unanticipated times and is completely unsettling despite its lack of credibility. More thriller than standard horror, this film still manages to keep you completely enthralled and does make you a little petrified; however, the final scene was particularly effective and one you won’t see coming!
-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 7.3/10 from 221,955 reviews
• Metacritic :62% from 47 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes:75% from 232 reviews

-•- Critics -•-

• The Guardian: "M Night Shyamalan’s new movie, Split, stars James McAvoy as a character with 23 different personalities. And, like most screen portrayals of the disorder, it is seen as dangerous and violent. But what’s the truth behind the stigma?"

• NY Times: "M. Night Shyamalan’s ‘Split’ Has Personality. O.K., Personalities. Lots."

• Evening Standard: "This horror movie has a personality all of its own"

• The Atlantic.com: "M. Night Shyamalan's Split Is a Creepy, Guilty Pleasure"

• Lainey Group: "Split is a solid return to form for M. Night Shyamalan, but it's really James McAvoy's movie. It's worth seeing for McAvoy alone."

• Total Film: "This is a Shyamalan movie through and through. And it’s his best in some time, thanks to a magnetic McAvoy."

-• - How to View - •-

As of 3/11/17, ‘Split ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £8.99 new and £3.24 used.
It is also available to buy on amazon Video for £9.99
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017

It is also available free to subscribers on Sky Cinema.

-•- In Conclusion - •-

Do I recommend it?

I really do recommend that you watch "Split", if it is only for James McAvoy’s performance. I wouldn’t be put off by the film being classed as a ‘horror’ – it isn't really scary, it's just tense, a psychological thriller.
If you enjoyed “The Sixth Sense” and “Unbroken” I think that you’ll enjoy this film.

-•- Pictures - •-

These are my download off Sky Cinema plus, some photos from the TV – not very good quality - but heaven forbid I put any screenshots from Google on!! I suggest you look at the trailer for better images.


1. Download of film
2. Anya Taylor-Joy as Case, as she realises everything is not all right
3. James McAvoy as Hedwig
4. James McAvoy as Patricia

Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl November 2017

Community evaluation

This review was read 181 times and was rated at
83% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • Secre published 10/11/2017
    Apologies, I can only give one E per person per day right now regardless of how many I manage to rate...
  • euphie published 07/11/2017
    e :o)
  • mummytobe78 published 05/11/2017
    Excellent
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Split (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): James McAvoy, Sterling K. Brown, Anya Taylor-Joy

Director(s): M. Night Shyamalan

DVD Region: DVD

Video Category: Feature Film

Classification: 15 years and over

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 5053083109516

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 02/11/2017