Suit - Nelly

Community images

Suit - Nelly

1 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Island, Universal - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 13/09/2004 - 602498639368

> Show product information

71% positive

7 reviews from the community

Review of "Suit - Nelly"

published 24/09/2008 | XICripZ
Member since : 25/06/2007
Reviews : 1338
Members who trust : 113
About me :
In it for the money.
Good
Pro Great production
Cons Poor rhymes
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"The Other Side Of Nelly: Suit"

"Suit" is the second half of a double album by Nelly released in 2004. It has him work in his smoother form, with music which is more R&B-like, than suited to rap. This means that you have a choice with Nelly's music, whether you enjoy his grittier side, or his singing side, to then pick a CD to match your preference.

1. "Play It Off"

To set the scene for this album, we get a massive collaboratiion by Nelly as he gets a chance to rp as Pharrell does the production and singing for him. Although their work rarely comes together, when it does, such as in "Flap Ya Wings" (off "Sweat"), it is always top-quality. The pair work together amazingly, and with the futuristic Neptunes beats, and Pharrell's great falsetto singing, it all came together nicely.

**Four Stars**

2. "Pretty Toes"

I was extremely impressed by this tune on the album, and it showed a different side to Nelly which I didn't expect to come out. Here Nelly comes with a club-suited track which sounds as if it should be on the other album, "Sweat", as he directs this one to the girls aroudn the world, as he describes his ideal females from the countryside to the cities.

**Four Stars**

3. "My Place"

Here was the first hit from the album and has Nelly rapping, and has him performing music along with Jaheim, who does all the singing for this piece. As Jaheim's Soul recordings of the past have been of such high quality, I knew that he would coem with something special here, and he certainly did. However at tiems during this one can tell that Nelly's lyrical talent is far below the standard which should be acccepted with him just letting the music play, and filling it up with little words to hide it.

**Four Stars**

4. "Paradise"

Thsi one is simply terrible, it has Nelly reverting to his old ways of attempting to escape lyrics by calling out exclamation and mumbling his words so you aren't able to really understand what he's about.

**One Star**

5. "She Don't Know My Name"

Here you have a big tune which has Jazzy Phizzle return, however, unlike with earlier collabs, he actually sings in this one, and on numerous occassions I've said how much this annoys me. However, if you ignore the painful vocals from Jazzy pha, you still receive a nice tun from Nelly as he raps along with the West Coast's best rap talent, in the form of Snoop Dogg.

**Four Stars**

6. "N Dey Say"

It should be quite clear by this poitn that this labum marks a significant change in the approach of Nelly here, and it has him doing raps to things that he would never have done before. here you can tell that he's changed as he uses the beat from Spandeau Ballet's "True" for his backing, but I didnt think that it worked at all, especially since Lloyd showed that urban music can make it work with his single "You", which used it just as Nelly does here.

**Two Stars**

7. "Woodgrain & Leather Wit a Hole"

Thsi one has a long skit to get it started, but I haven't got a clue how it relates to the track in any way. However, getting into it, this is a laid-back tune which has him rappign out all the typical thigns you would be expected to here from a southern rap artists, particularly those who come from Houston, Texas.

**Two Stars**

8. "In My Life"

Here you have what has to be some of the best production on the album coming from Kuya Productions, and I expect that this is what won me over here. I found that the additional raps by New York's Mase were another thing which made it appear as if Nelly's material was improving over the course of the album, and in this track.

**Four stars**

9. "Over and Over"

There's just so much wrong with this one that I can't find anothing good to say about it. This one has Nelly crossover his genre boundaries by performing alongside the country singer Tim McGraw to perform a song which favour the latter musician. However I didn't think that either did this one any justice as it was sang terribly (espcially in Nelly's sections) and it just didn;t make sense in general.

**One Star**

10. "Nobody Knows"

This is a nice one from nelly as he works alongside the quality R&B artist, Anthony Hamilton, whose soulful vocals add a new dimention to the album, and one which you would't really expect to find from such a release (since it is from Nelly). I foudn it to be an unexpected piece of quality within the album, however it didn't have that much to it to make it stand out amongst the rest.

**Three Stars**

11. "Die For You"

I respect the fact that hhe expressed this through music, rather than enjoying it for its content, as the msuic itslef isn't really that good,. however I felt as though I was focred to stay engaged with the tune as Nelly talks about the frantic situation in which his child was born, and faced various complications. The skit to start it off reinforces the feelings which he faces when performing it.

**Two Stars**

"Suit" is quite varied, as with "Sweat", and it is certainly a step in the correct direction for Nelly, as it is as if he's gradually getting towards the standard of those rappers who he's already outdoing with hype, despite consistently poor quality rhymes. I wouldn't be able to compare this in terms of quality against "Sweat", so if you are a fan of him music, then you have to get both, but if you just wish to see if he's really on the way to being a top rapper in the game, then get the mashup of the two albums, "Sweatsuit", which uses the best tacks off both releases.

Community evaluation

This review was read 948 times and was rated at
96% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • headcase44 published 24/09/2008
    You do wite very good music reviews... always interesting and well laid out.. Thanks. J.x
  • Luvlylana published 24/09/2008
    Good review xxx
  • Phelthew published 24/09/2008
    Great review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Suit - Nelly

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Rap - Label: Island, Universal - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 13/09/2004 - 602498639368

Product Details

EAN: 602498639368

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011