Surfing With The Alien [Remastered] - Joe Satriani

Community images

Surfing With The Alien [Remastered] - Joe Satriani

1 CD(s) - Guitar Rock Instruml - Label: Relativity - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 07/04/2003 - 5099750505823

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Surfing With The Alien [Remastered] - Joe Satriani"

published 06/05/2005 | Smoga
Member since : 02/05/2005
Reviews : 5
Members who trust : 3
About me :
Excellent
Pro Amazing Guitarist
Cons Very Short
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Surfing with the Great Aliens"

This is the second instrumental album by the guitar legend Joe Satriani. It is very short at 37 mins and 42 secs, but is a master class in guitar playing. Satriani gives his guitars a voice and allows them to sing out on each track.

1. Surfing with the Alien.

As the opening and title track of the album one expects it to be one of the best, this track certainly lives up to this expectation, it heralds in the rest of the album as is a perfect opening to this album.

2. Ice 9.

This one of the funkier sounding songs on the album and beyond doubt the most emotional.

3. Crushing Day.

As the second longest track on this disc one expects it to contain some of the newer more experimental techniques, not quite, as this is a very cheesy track that sounds as if it should be the theme tune a to film.

4. Always with me, Always with you.

Another emotional track that mixes older styles with a newer sound, this is probably the best instrumental love song ever.

5. Satch Boogie.

This is very much a boogie and starts with an Aerosmith-ish intro but then slowly morphs into a new sound.

6. Hill of the Skull.

This is the second shortest track on the album and is by far the darkest and gloomiest. This song sounds like a funeral march and gives a depressing feel to the listener.

7. Circles.

Again another slower song that slowly builds up to a blistering solo that impresses any listener.

8. Lords of Karma.

Among the mid-length songs this is not the best though, it is an average song that doesn't blow me away but tells its own story through the slow guitar over the faster backing.

9. Midnight.

As the title suggests this song is quite dark but is also an incredible piece of guitar work as it combines classical techniques with the speed and emotion that Satriani has come to be known for.

10. Echo.

The final track on this album is also the longest and provides the perfect warm-down to this album as it incorporates techniques used in all of the other tracks but is not to overwhelming.

I bought this album from my local music shop for a measly £4.99, but it was reduced from £9.99, this is a very good price for many albums but for one of such high standards it is amazing.

Overall from me this track gets 10/10, and commendations as the best instrumental album I have every heard

Community evaluation

This review was read 1359 times and was rated at
55% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • adam56 published 18/02/2006
    excellent review! very imressed, might go and buy it!
  • metalmann published 13/06/2005
    Satriani is a legend. Good review!
  • Ryan74 published 24/05/2005
    Not my kind of thing, but I like the cover.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Surfing With The Alien [Remastered] - Joe Satriani

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Guitar Rock Instruml - Label: Relativity - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 07/04/2003 - 5099750505823

Product Details

EAN: 5099750505823

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 06/05/2005