Take That - The Circus Live (DVD)

Community images

Take That - The Circus Live (DVD)

Cult boy band Take That take their acclaimed comeback album THE CIRCUS on a triumphant international tour. This release captures all the mesmerising e...

> Show product information

95% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Take That - The Circus Live (DVD)"

published 01/02/2010 | Spottydog11
Member since : 07/09/2007
Reviews : 1977
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Great spectacular
Cons None
helpful
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"The Circus comes to town"

The Circus has come to town.

For those of us who were not lucky enough to be able to go to see the boys live during their Circus Tour then the DVD is the next best thing. Take That The Circus Live at Wembley Stadium is a wonderful spectacular and if you are a Take That fan then this is one I definitely recommend.

Take That are now the most successful boyband to have reunited in history and are the best selling UK live pop act in history. Who are they - Take That are a band, made up of four guys from Manchester, Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Jason Orange and Mark Owen. They first came out in the early 90's and I have to say that I was a fan then and am still a fan now.

The album The Circus was released on the 1st December 2008 and went straight to number 1 where it stayed for two weeks. This album, in my opinion is another Take That classic, lots of great sing along pop tunes with a few anthems in there as well. There are some songs on there that also sound a bit Beatle-esque to me too, especially the song Hello, which is number three on the album. Their first single release from the album was Greatest Day. They released this on the 24th November and this also debuted at number one.

The live tour was then embarked upon to promote the wonderful album. According to an article I read the tour began on 5 June 2009 in Sunderland and finished on 5 July 2009 at London's Wembley Stadium. The Circus Live is Take That's biggest tour to date and was seen by over 1,000,000 people. The tour became the fastest selling in UK history, with the 600,000 for all original eight dates selling out in just five hours.

The DVD is an absolutely wonderful spectacular and at times you think to yourself wow, I can't believe my eyes! It's colourful, exciting with things happening all the time. The boys will be singing and in the background someone will be turning cartwheels or juggling, etc, just like what would happen in the Big Top at the circus. At one point in the show the boys are atop a massive animatronic elephant that walks it;s way to the stage, this is a really impressive spectacle and quite amazing in the way it works in my opinion. There is also a massive hot air balloon which is just as impressive too.

What I really like are the costumes that the boys wear. I always think they look great but they really dress up in the circus theme and definitely look the part. When the sing their songs they just look like they are having great fun, really interacting with the crowd and putting on a unforgetable show.

The DVD consists of two discs and the following is the song list:

"The Adventures of a Lonely Balloon"/"Greatest Day"
"Hello"
"Could It Be Magic"
"Pray"
"A Million Love Songs"
"Back for Good"
"The Garden"
"Shine"
"Up all Night"
"Wooden Boat"
"How Did It Come to This"
"The Circus" (preceded by Gary at piano singing snippets of "Love Ain't Here Anymore", "Babe" and "Nobody Else")
"What Is Love"
Clowns Medley : "Do What U Like"/"Promises"/"It Only Takes a Minute"/"Take That and Party"
"Said It All"
"Never Forget"
"Patience"
"Relight My Fire"
"Hold Up a Light"
"Rule the World"

Community evaluation

This review was read 499 times and was rated at
50% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • arnoldhenryrufus published 02/02/2010
    I must get around to buying this - lyn x
  • ScotShelle published 02/02/2010
    Great review! Can't stand Take That!! Shelle x
  • roktimdutta published 02/02/2010
    Fab review:)xx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Take That - The Circus Live (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Cult boy band Take That take their acclaimed comeback album THE CIRCUS on a triumphant international tour. This release captures all the mesmerising energy the Manchester outfit’s live performances are famous for. Full tracklisting includes: 'The Adventures Of A Lonely Balloon', 'Greatest Day', 'Hello', 'Could It Be Magic', 'Pray', 'A Million Love Songs', 'Back For Good', 'The Garden', 'Shine', 'Up All Night', Wooden Boat', 'How Did It Come To This', 'The Circus', 'What Is Love', 'Clown Medley', 'Said It All', 'Never Forget', 'Patience', 'Relight My Fire', 'Hold Up A Light', 'Rule The World', 'Julie'.

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/12/2009